22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was terrific! Absolutely tender/falling apart, and very tasty and flavorful. Just like I always imagined brisket could be. I had previously given up on brisket as an edible food because the flavor usually seemed to be cooked out of it, or it was stringy/dry. So, I had doubts. Especially as it was cooking. It smelled like – well – ketchup and onion soup mix. However, the flavors worked great when it was time to eat it! Everyone else loved it, too. I will also vouch for the simplicity of this recipe, as well as the ease of cleanup. I have made it 3 times now, and every time, it was “falling-apart” tender AND very flavorful. After reading all the reviews, I doubled the onions and went for the full three hours cooking time. The second time, I added cut up carrots, celery and potatoes, and the third time, I doubled the recipe. I also added a bit more water, for extra gravy/juice. Also, I read up in Cook’s Illustrated which said meat must reach 210 degrees to tenderize, and I used a meat thermometer – it all worked out great, although I ended up cooking it for 3 hrs. 20 min. Some day, I would like to play with the flavors/ingredients, and am wondering to what extent the ketchup and soup mix are “chemical” to tenderize the meat. I’ll post if I try any variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori July 16, 2006

I used tomato sauce with some sugar and spices instead of the ketchup (believe it or not, there's someone in the family who doesn't like ketchup!), and it was DELICIOUS! It was incredibly tender, as promised in the recipe, and everyone loved it. I definitely plan to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BookPub May 31, 2006

Unbelievably simple. And so tender! Thanks, Carrie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich April 17, 2006

Excellent, easy & delicious - what more could you ask? I made this for Sunday supper using a 3# chuck roast. I also liked the easy clean-up since the pan is lined with foil. The meat does literally fall apart ... it will make for yummy sandwiches for a quick supper during the work week. Thanks for posting - I will definitely make this one again! -M =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert February 06, 2006

This recipe worked perfectly! The roast was so tender and moist, yum! The one person in the family who isn't crazy about ketchup scraped the sauce off but enjoyed the meat. The rest of us loved all of it. My chuck roast was a little over 2 lbs. so it was done in 2 1/2 hours. Very good, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) January 26, 2006

Great recipe and really easy to make. My wife loved it, and appreciated the tenderness of the meat. The sauce comes out really tangy. Made a great Sunday evening supper. Put it in the oven and leave it alone for 3 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgerstein January 09, 2006

Made this for supper last night and it was absolutely delicious. I added a TBS of cider vinegar and a TBS of brown sugar. We thoroughly enjoyed this. I shredded the leftovers and froze it with the remaining sauce and we will have it for hot sandwiches sometime. Thanks for a recipe I know I will use often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr August 09, 2005

I chose this recipe for a busy day, but was a little unsure about the ketchup. However, the result was absolutely wonderful! Family friendly too, the kids all ate and enjoyed it. I used a Reynolds foil hot bag which worked beautifully with no clean up. Cooked the brisket 2 1/2 hours, next time I'll go for 3. Thanks, Carrie, for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 01, 2005

My family LOVED this recipe!! The sauce was fantastic and the brisket was so perfect. Thanks for posting, we will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cndn_eh May 24, 2005

A big hit with my family. Picky brother-in-law went back for thirds. I did add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to the sauce mix prior to cooking to give it more of a sweet and sour taste. strained the sauce after cooking and used it for gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snkl49 November 17, 2004
Brisket for a Beginner