45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I always use the dough cycle then separate the dough into three parts and braid it. Then I let it rise for an hour and bake it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. The dough is flaky and soft and buttery, it's just as amazing as regular brioche, but with less butter and eggs. I LOVE this recipe! So easy, and absolutely amazing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miaspamm July 11, 2009

I've never been to France, and as far as I know, there isn't even supposed to be a decent French bakery where I live. So, I have NO idea what brioche is supposed to taste like and can't base my review on that. What I can say is that this recipe makes a DELICIOUS loaf of bread! Flavorful, moist and flaky with a delicate crust- really good stuff that we can't stop eating, thanks Mercy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lula may April 18, 2010

I wsa quite surpised to find that there were very few brioche recipes for breadmakers on this site. It doesn't matter though as this one works perfectly!!!I found it a bit different to the ones we buy at the bakers here(in France), as they are a bit lighter, but it's lovely! I'll definitely be making this recipe again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose October 13, 2007

This is the first time I have ever made any kind of brioche and I picked this one because of the time factor. It is a great one. Just be wary of the amount of yeast. Don't be generous otherwise you will end up cleaning the top of your breadmaker! Definitely worth trying!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat April 24, 2005

I used the dough setting and then braided the bread and let rise 1 hour. And baked it at 350F for 23 minutes. The taste is so good. And the bread is moist and airy. Thanks Mercy :) Great bread. Made for Name that ingredient tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 27, 2013

YUM! I am not a bread person, but this was awesome! Great for sandwiches or just a plain 'ol buttered slice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goyeabean February 09, 2011

I tried this recipe on sweet and then tried it on #1 normal white. I also great the inside of the pan with a table spoon of I can't believe its not butter. I also substituted 1 of the tablespoons of sugar with a table spoon of cinnamon sugar. I also topped the top of the loaf when it finished with a tablespoon of butter as it cooled on the rack.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcreeps357 January 28, 2011

I'm a novice breadmaker with a new Zojirushi. ..tried this exactly as written, as one of my first creations, and it turned out perfect!!! Such a delicate flavor and texture. . felt very French eating this!
We made it into French Toast, which of course was fabulous. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bizmarkie January 22, 2011

This one is an absolute winner! Wonderful, moist crumb with great flavor. I left my machine out on the counter because I know I'm going to be making this recipe again very soon! Based on other reviews, I was afraid that my Regal machine would be a bit crowded. I used the serving calculator and scaled it down to 11 servings (to get closest to two eggs, not three. The loaf baked within an half inch of the top of my machine, and no further. Here are the proportions I ended up with: 2 eggs 1/4 cup milk 2 tablespoons water 1/3 cup butter 1 teaspoon kosher salt 2 tablespoons sugar (still not too sweet) 2 cups flour 1 slightly heaping teaspoon yeast Merci, Mercy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qdan July 06, 2009

Great recipe! I set my ABM for dough and then baked at 350 in a muffin pan for about 10-15 minutes. They came out with a lovely taste and texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A. January 14, 2009
Brioche Loaf ( Breadmaker 1 1/2 Lb. Loaf)