10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I substituted shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheese for the Swiss (didn't have any on hand). This was a very tasty bread -- leaves a great "aftertaste" in your mouth. I'll make this one again. :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chadley25 April 18, 2003

Wow, what a delicious bread! I've never made brioche before. I was so pleased with the beautiful brown crust and the soft, tender, creamy yellow, melt in your mouth interior. Great flavor. Perfect.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan January 21, 2003

Lovely recipe ! I ommitted the cheese as I wanted it plain and it was just as nice , great to find brioche recipe I can do in breadmaker that tastes as good as handmade. Ill be doing this for when we have guests staying they will think Im so clever having homemade brioche! !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jools100 June 12, 2011

This was good bread, but I had hoped to be able to taste the cheese. I really liked the golden color of the crumb, and the crispness of the crust. I used an aged gruyre cheese, and the dough cycle of the bread machine, baking the loaf in the oven at 400F for 25 minutes. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 06, 2009

This recipe made VERY nice bread, really soft and flavorful. I plan to make french toast with some of it, but its also great just hot with butter. This one is a keeper. Thank you very much for sharing it with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit March 11, 2007

Didn't rise quite as much as it should have because I used wheat flour for 2 cups of the flour, but still turned out rich and delicious. I couldn't taste the cheese at all, but I think it added to the richness. I did use mozarella instead of Swiss though, and maybe that made a difference in taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle September 26, 2005

I usually stick to sourdoughs - but DH wanted a soft white bread to go with his 'fried balogna sandwich?'. At first, I thought this was a breakfast bread (in the description) - but beware: This is a great soft white loaf for just about anything! I subbed with a 50/50 mix of monterry jack and cheddar. I was out of milk, so I used buttermilk which worked fantastically. I shaped it and baked in a loaf pan at 350 for 40 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 September 17, 2005

Delicious bread. I substituted Edan Cheese for the Swiss. I also had to use normal yeast as I didn't have bread machine one, and discovered that the result is the same. The photo I am posting with this review let you see for yourself.Thanks for posting this excelent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malu April 13, 2005

The only reason I tried this recipe is because I saw the Barefoot COntessa use brioche in a recipe. When I saw how simple this recipe was, I HAD to try it. DELICIOUS!! I used 1/3 cup mozzarella + 1/3 cup Marble cheddar and replaced the butter with GOLDEN CRISCO (as we use margarine in our house for everyday use). Again, this was an airy bread, that has a crisp crust. Love the simplicity of this bread!! THANK YOU!!! *****

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph_40135 September 17, 2004

This bread is wonderful! Very easy to put together. Nice texture, and a nice, slightly cheesey flavor. I was afraid the boys who don't really like swiss cheese wouldn't eat this, but I sure was wrong!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi January 26, 2003
brioche au fromage