Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brioche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brioche

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2003

      Great brioche. This replaces the recipe that I've been using for years - Andre Soltner's - his has way more butter, almost too much. I made this before I had a new food processor, so since the whole thing was by hand, I halved the quantity so that it was managable. Getting the butter into the dough by hand is quite an experience. Step 16 is important for cooks new to brioche making. At one point it's inevitable that you think that this time it will never come together. But, it does. Thanks Petitfour. Beautiful bread and great directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Wow. I used this recipe as a tester for my new (used) kitchen-aid mixer. This also happened to be my first time making any sort of bread (with the exception of failed beignets a year or so ago and some Irish soda bread that doesn't require yeast). This was a very long process seeing as I started it in the morning with the intent on baking it tonight. I did manage to do it all in one day but it has taken quite awhile. The result however is an incredibly soft and delicious brioche that I am more than ecstatic about. Brioche is hard to find in stores around here and the few that have it charge roughly $6 for 1/2 of a loaf (and its nowhere near as good). Extremely happy with this recipe and will absolutely be making again...and again...and again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      This is a GREAT recipe!!!!I followed exactly the process, then divided into balls and froze them i thaw in refridgerator over night then put in a very small bread pan, and bake. Yummy Bread !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      I am not a baker by any standards, 'cept when it comes to bread puddin' - I can throw down! But this recipe is ah-mazingggg!!! I mimicked every step in the recipe, minus putting it in a pan and baking it. My husband and son loved to go to Mimi's Cafe on the weekends for their "Cinnamon Brioche French Toast" so I decided to finally put this recipe to use, to create a home-made version. I posted the picture up (hopefully, it gets approved): one loaf, I braided it like challah bread and the other, I mocked a cinnamon roll, then braided it. For the cinnamon roll version, I flattened the dough, poured melted butter and slabbed on a generous mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar. Then I rolled it like a cinnamon roll to make it into one large loaf. I then took scissors and made three even cuts, be sure not to cut it all the way, leave the top part to 'tuck' under. I braided it, gently placed it in a loaf pan, brushed egg wash and baked it as prescribed. My boys LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Petit Four, this bread is just heavenly! It had a lovely texture and a wonderful crumb. I was making brioche for the first time, and the detail in this recipe made me feel like aI had a friend in the kitchen. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      This was first attempt at making bread in a loaf pan. For such a detailed 38 step recipe, there are some glaring problems. In the ingredients add 1 more egg for the egg wash.Step 29 and 30 are confusing. I thought I was making a loaf of bread - not biscuits! Dividing dough into thirds making three loafs, experiment! You do not have to make the biscuits. What size loaf pan are we to use? I used 2 - pyrex 8.5x4.5 and a metal one 9x5 or so. The bread didn't fill any of the pans when done. In the metal one, the loaf came out a lot easier than the pyrex. All three were well buttered. I used very little egg wash and made sure in was only on the top, not dribbling into the pan. And what shelf did you bake in the oven at? I started in what I thought was the middle. At least it was the middle setting. I had to lower the rack, at twenty minutes because the top was golden brown already.I also had a thermometer in the oven, and yes I was baking at 375. I went down to the second rack setting to the bottom, which put the loafs in the middle of the oven. This was on me, now I know better. The bread had great texture, but the crust was too dark and crunchy. When you start out by stating to follow exactly, then give us 38 steps, please give us a recipe without leaving out anything. The bread itself deserves more than two stars but the lengthy instructions missing steps AND the missing egg deserves less than one star. I feel this was a waste of a day in the kitchen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Can't speak yet to the quality of the actual results--but the description did NOT take into account the downtime of rising times...and two of them. I'm a regular baker, but it would be #@%!ing helpful to include this information in the opening segments discussing the time to be spent on the recipe, INCLUDING inactive time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      AMAZING!! This was my first time making bread. I got a new KitchenAid mixer and was dying to make bread and liked how this can be made with ingredients you normally have in the house. I was a bit overwhelmed when I saw the number of steps but it's not too bad. The only part I had trouble with was the first rise. After almost 2 hours the dough had not risen. I was worried that all my efforts had gone to waste but I did some googling and found the answer. I warmed up the oven a little bit and let the dough sit in there for 30-45 min and the it doubled! Instead of making 3 loaves of plain brioche I made one plain, one chocolate and one cinnamon raisin and all three came out amazing. It took a lot of will power not to finish them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is the best brioche bread I have made! I am by no means a great cook and this turned out so light and perfect! Follow directions and trust in the recipe!!! I was skeptical when it was mixing but lo and behold it all came together perfectly. I didnt have Unbleached flour, only bleached bread flour and still turned out great. I made danishes and pain aux raisin with the loaves. I make them and bake them then freeze them. WHen I want one I just let it thaw out and heat in a 275 degree oven till warm. Yummy thank you Julia and P4 for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving. This was wonderful and easier to make than it seemed. Your step-by-step directions are fantastic. The KitchenAid Artisan mixer did all the work and I was more than happy to let it. Working with the refrigerated dough was a breeze. It was not sticky at all. Will make this again next year ahead of Thanksgiving and use it for the stuffing/dressing as well! Thank you again for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I know the recipe says NO substitutions but I just couldn't resist. I've been trying to eat healthier so I was trying to make brioche healthier, which I realize sounds ridiculous, however this is the greatest bread known to man!!! I swapped 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour for finely ground whole wheat flour, I used evaporated milk instead of whole, and added 4 tsp. of wheat gluten. I followed the rest of the directions explicitly. This bread was so worth being rebellious!! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was amazing! I dont have 3 loaf pans so I did one loaf in the pan I had, made 2 mini loafs and 2 medium sized braids. Egg washed them and baked them. I did need more milk for the sponge than stated but besides that I did everything exactly as listed. I didn't have to bake mine for the full 30 minuets more like 20 - 25 but it was all baked the whole through and tastes great. I will defiently be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Yes this is Julia's recipe allright. I did the Brioche a Tete with it and it turned out great. Perfect texture terrific taste! Doing it in the KitchenAid is so simple that I felt I was not doing anything. Easy, easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I know I'm "squirreling" with a three star review here, but I made this recipe twice, and still wasn't able to get even close to three loaves (using a standard size loaf pan). I found the dough to be extremely difficult to work with also. I ended up with one loaf in a 7" brioche pan (seven inches across the top) without a topknot because I couldn't manage to shape on without the dough sticking to my hands. I will say that the bread had excellent flavor and the recipe was very detailed and easy to follow, but I won't be making this brioche again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I started this yesterday, and baked 6 rolls today and froze the other 2/3 of the dough. It was very very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Wow, what a great recipe. I couldn't imagine making this without a KitchenAid mixer though. The dough is extremely wet during the kneading process. While it does come together and flops around the bowl, don't expect it to look like regular pizza or bread dough. The egg wash gave my loaf a deep mahogany brown. Next time, I may pull it out just shy of the recommended 30 minutes. Otherwise, it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I made cinnamon rolls with this dough and my usually picky husband ate them until he was ready to Explode! Said it was the best cinnamon roll that he had eaten in his 50 years! boy was I proud! Baking with Julia is an excellent book I own it also. Recipes are great and they work. Janice P Hickory NC

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Totally amazing!! I used this recipe to make three breads today (and yesterday...) A loaf of brioche, which I just had with deli turkey and american cheese for a good lunch I also rolled the dough (be sure to use flour for this!) to double the width of a loaf pan. I filled this with Ghirardelli 60% Chocolate Chips. Fold it over, rise & bake normally. Pastry #3 was the cinnimon bun everyone's talked about. I used the filling from #76864 and the icing #19239. I didn't get a chance to try these hot (went in to work, my wife baked them) but it makes 2 batches in 9" round pans. The only worry I had was that the stickiness of the dough in the mixer made it get very hot at medium speed. I also had to use a bit more flour early on because the dough wouldn't come together fully... this could be the difference between cups and cups (I didn't weigh the flour to see how much I used, though... sorry) In all, this is my absolute favorite type of bread and now my favorite bread recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      The absolute best brioche I have ever made and it was easy. Even froze a batch and it came out perfectly after being in the freezer for two weeks. Toasted and covered with fresh strawberries and a dollop of double cream made quite a hit with guests for lunch dessert after a cold salmon salad with honey truffle vinegrette.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      I also love the "Baking with Julia" cookbook, as well as this recipe. I use little individual-sized, fluted brioche molds and recommend the pans that are NOT nonstick for the best and most authentic "crusting." I also recommend substituting regular, granulated salt for the kosher salt (and using a bit less than the full teaspoon to compensate for the different shape of the salt crystals). Regular salt generally makes for more consistent results with baking, while kosher salt is better for seasoning anything else.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Yeast Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brioche

    Serving Size: 1 (1021 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1168.7
     
    Calories from Fat 508
    43%
    Total Fat 56.4 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 32.4 g
    162%
    Cholesterol 434.6 mg
    144%
    Sodium 916.0 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 136.6 g
    45%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 24.2 g
    97%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes