Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brings Back Memories TUNA CASSEROLE Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brings Back Memories TUNA CASSEROLE

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2012

      I use the same ingredients but not the same ratio, I use 12 oz. bag of egg noodles, cooked of course. 3 cans albacore tuna 2, cans of peas, 2 cans mushroom soup, 1 can milk, I don't measure so I crumble 2 handfuls of plain potato chips into casserole, I use unsalted but that is up to you. A handful grated cheese and then bake about 45 minutes,until bubbly hot, then cover top with with chips and then cheese, bake until cheese melt and serve. Everyone loves it! It's not dry and better ratio of noodles to tuna and peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      Delicious! It really did bring back memories. I subbed with cream of chicken soup. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      If you are a tuna lover this will delight your taste buds! i had to use macroni, cause when i got ready to make it I found my pantry empty of noodles. Makes a very quick lunch, took very littel time to make. I will for sure add this to my recipe book. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Watch the MSG in Cream of Musroom Soup, and all canned soups for that matter. the MSG makes my body ache!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Whoa- this is a blast from the past! I doubled the cream of mushroom soup and milk since previous reviewers found it a bit dry, but it didn't have enough of a tuna taste because of that! So I recommend doubling the tuna as well if you do double the above ingredients. I also used a combo of plain corn flakes, bread crumbs, and butter since I didn't have chips. Added olives, too! Really tasty- thank you for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      Putting the chips on top reminded me of the classic tuna casserole I use to make when fat did not matter! This was great. Family loved it. I used a whole can of peas and added some cheddar cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      I made the recipe exact to the directions, only I added two small cans of tuna. It was a HUGE hit! My husband loved it! My suggestion; it still wasn't really enough tuna. I'll be sure to add 3 cans next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      Blast from the past, learned to make this as an 11yr. old with a single dad to take to a pot luck dinner by PTA. Still as good as it was then but did use a whole soup can of milk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      I followed this recipe to a tee then rechecked it 3 more times. There was not enough liquids in this so I added another can of soup and about a 1/2 cup more milk. It was still too dry. I ended up throwing it all away and went out for dinner. It sure didn't bring back any memories for me! I will try a different recipe next time. If I could I'd give this recipe a zero.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      I followed this recipe to the tee and rechecked it 3 times.. There was not enough liquid in it. I added another can of soup and another 1/2 cup of milk and it was still dry. It barely had any taste of the tuna. I ended up throwing the entire thing away. I sure wasn't bringing back any memories of mom for me. will try different recipe next time! would give this a zero if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      So funny that I just made Tune Casserole last night! This is very similar to my recipe, but I add chopped onion,shredded cheddar cheese 1 can soup to 1 can milk ratio, and 2 7 ounce cans of tuna. I don't mix it in a spate bowl, I use a round pirex casserole dish (the kind with a lid). I mix everything together, while the noodles are cooking. I slightly under cook the noodles (super al dente) then throw the hot noodles into the bowl. The potato chips are top are great the first night, but not so good left over. So if I use them, I only put it the half we are going to eat the first night.<br/><br/>And my recommendation, if you are going to add peas to it (which I don't) use frozen peas rather than canned. Lower sodium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Tuna Casserole is a big favorite! I usually make it with milk - ran out of milk and used water instead. It was really quite good. We couldn't get over the difference - it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Great recipe! This got my boy to eat peas and mushroom soup without complaint! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Love how easy this recipe is (and easy to alter to suit)!!! a family fav!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      This was tasteless, and my entire family highly disliked it. There are no herbs, nothing to really give it any kick. Never again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      This was wonderful and just like when I was growing up. I left out the peas and added canned mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      perfect. just they way mom used to make! thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      This is the recipe I've used for the last MANY years for a tuna casserole~~~I always cook a full pound of pasta up, so I usually have some in the fridge and this is a snap to put together!!! Also good with a box of the mac'n'cheese from the supermarket~~~I actually went out to buy Ritz crackers one day because I craved them on the top of this~~~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      My Mom used to make this and heat/cook it in the oven. This is a casserole is still one we enjoy. She made it with creamed corn, cooked frozen peas and of course the tuna and chips and omit the soup and noodles. I heat it in the microwave for a very quick and easy supper. A salad and bun finishes it off quite nicely. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I made this according to the directions, but as in some of the other reviews I found it too dry. More liquid is needed, some reviewers have suggested extra soup and milk. I would also suggest seasoning with salt and pepper and adding cheese for more flavor. I will probably stick with a more traditional roux base casserole, but this was worth a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brings Back Memories TUNA CASSEROLE

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 780.4
     
    Calories from Fat 271
    34%
    Total Fat 30.1 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 94.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 882.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 97.4 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes