20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so SO SO SO Tasty! I was a little "chicken" about roasting pheasant for the first time, but it was oh-so-good. I added more garlic cloves to mine and placed my birds on a roasting rack then put chicken broth in the bottom of the pan. I tented the tin foil for the first hour and basted every 15 minutes. Just awesome. Absolutely no gamey taste whatsoever. Thank you so much for posting such a fabulous brine!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super Sara August 03, 2009

We enjoyed this recipe very much and it is now our favorite way to prepare pheasant. I split the breast in half and spread bacon over it. It cut down on cooking time. I had no idea they were this tasty and moist.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcs July 07, 2009

WOW! This was wonderful!! We had a pheasant feast last night and this was a huge hit. We smoked it instead of roasting it in the oven and we think this is the BEST brine we've ever tried and we've tried a few on turkey's. Of course we'll be brining our turkey in this for Thanksgiving on Thursday! Thanks so much. UPDATE - We used this brine on our turkey for Thanksgiving and then smoked it...it was the best smoked turkey we ever made and the flavor was so wonderful...thanks again for this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue November 26, 2007

I never liked pheasant until I found this recipe! This was a GREAT recipe, I loved the flavor of the pheasant and it was so moist. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Cook February 28, 2007

This recipe was the crowning glory of our Thanksgiving meal. I used two 3 lb. pheasants and cooked them side by side for 2 hours. The last 5 minutes, I removed the bacon strips and put the pheasant back under the broiler for a nice golden skin. "Best pheasant I've ever eaten" was the most common comment around the table. I have to agree! The flavor was delectable and it was just incredibly moist! I also scooped the "solids" out of the brine and stuffed them in the birds before I roasted them. Mmmmmm, Mmmmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perri_Yinger November 26, 2006

This was seriously the best pheasant I have ever had. Pheasant had lost its appeal about 22 years ago when we ate it exclusively while living in Idaho. We were on a tight budget (starting teacher's salary) and I had severe morning sickness with my second child. I swore I would never eat pheasant again! The flavor from this marinade is delicious and the bird is very moist. The only way that I had previously been able to retain the moisture was to use the crockpot with that magical cream-o-mushroom soup added. I think this would also be good on chicken or maybe a turkey breast. This was the second recipe of yours for wild things that I made this past weekend! I have goose breast defrosting to make your jerky recipe tonight! Thanks Angie for your help with cleaning out that freezer before the next hunt!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJan April 18, 2005

We made this last night and it was wonderful. My brother gave us several pheasants and this was the first recipe we have tried. The reviews are accurate. It was moist and tasted delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra P. September 01, 2013

I was so worried It would be dry (I was told pheasant tends to be dry) but this way it was perfect! My first foray into cooking a pheasant turned out perfectly, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl February 17, 2013

Hubby wanted to smoke pheasants and we decided on this recipe and IT ROCKS!!!! He had 2 birds and used all ingredients with changes only to the amount - 1 tsp lemon juice. Water smoked with apple wood chunks for 8 hours adding 2 tbsp whiskey and 1/2 tsp tabasco to the water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay November 05, 2011

I never remember liking the pheasants my mom prepared when I was a kid, but when they gave us 4 birds, I had to try this. I liked it a lot, although I thought it was a little salty. The recipe didn't mention what to baste it with so I just roasted it with a bit of the brine and basted it with that. Still had great flavor (other than the saltiness which was probably my fault) and no gamey taste at all. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara M. April 07, 2011
Brined Roast Pheasant " Outdoor Wisconsin" Style