109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a yummy treat! I "stuffed" some of mine with pieces of string cheese, mmmm. Thanks, my kids are going to love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JiliBean October 29, 2009

Easily the best roll I've ever eaten, homemade, store-bought, or from a restaurant... this roll trumps them all by miles. Airy, chewy, crispy, salty, sweet... Absolutely delicious. The second time around, the only thing I did differently was bread flour instead of all-purpose. I think it gave it a little more "chew."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jefftravilla October 14, 2009

Wow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksempsrott September 30, 2009

These turned out fantastic! I have never worked with kneading bread or yeast but the rolls turned out just fine and were delicious! Next time i am going to make them in pretzel shape!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EBCurry August 31, 2009

Made these this week to go with hot dogs, and they were WONDERFUL!!!!!! Thanks so much for the great recipe, my hubby even liked to eat them without the dog. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houdini's Mom August 29, 2009

Wow! These are excellent. I thought mine had failed because the dough was so soft and it spread on the pan when I let them rest. But, I just re-rolled them with some more flour and after dunking them in the boiling water and baking them, they puffed right up and were perfect. A very forgiving recipe! The kids loved them so much I am making another batch tonight. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 24, 2009

THE BEST PRETZEL BUNS!!! We wanted to make these buns specifically to use in place of hamburger buns. They worked out fantastically! They were very easy to make and didn't take a whole ton of time mostly because I used my bread machine to do the kneading.They are so fluffy, moist and chewy. My husband just pulled one apart and dipped in in butter, HEAVEN! These are great on their own or with with something like your own masterpiece hamburger! SO GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allisonworf August 14, 2009

I don't think I did this right. As soon as I tried to move the buns into the stockpot, they immediately deflated. The ones I did manage to successfully move deflated when I moved them back to the pan. I don't get it. Boiling them for less than 30 seconds makes them deflate, but boiling them for more actually makes them disintegrate in the water. What am I doing wrong? This is a hard recipe. (But the dough still tastes good.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ July 11, 2009

5 stars for flavor, 1 star for execution. I'm not sure what I did wrong here, but my rolls were a blessed mess! Moving them after the second rise was impossible without the dough collapsing completely, which led to flat, messy buns. They tasted fabulous, and since I LOOOOOOVE soft pretzels, they'll get eaten up in no time. I'm going to keep trying these until I figure out the trick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoeB May 28, 2009

OMG. these rolls are definitely fabulous and then some. thank you for your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcnjessica May 22, 2009
Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)