110 Reviews

Made these for game day brats! Followed it to a t and the results are amazing! Used the bread machine instructions. This is now in the rotation of recipes we use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina B. September 13, 2015

I do think they are a better stand alone roll than a sandwich roll (the bread is too dense to manage a sandwich... it doesn't give and smooshes out the filling when you bite down). 5 stars anyway for being super delicious. They were so good my kids wanted to make them the next day after we first tried them. We made some of the dough into rolls and some into pretzels. This recipe is way better than Costco's pretzel rolls (and I think Costco generally sells superior products).<br/><br/>The second time I made it, I added a scant 1/4 teaspoon of kosher salt to the dough. We'll definitely make this again.<br/><br/>I agree that it might be better to bake them at 400 to avoid them getting a little too dark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW June 17, 2014

These are awesome and so easy and quick one hour start to delicious finish . Great for burgers, sandwiches and to eat like a bagel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrence P. June 09, 2014

My son always asks me to make these. I normally just make them for camping trips now. I fill them with ham and cheese with mustard or pepperoni, mozzarella and a bit of pizza sauce.They are awesome to take on hikes or have a quick lunch on a float. I will be doing some with breakfast fillings this year as well like hashbrowns, eggs and cheese. This recipe is one that requires some work but as with everything, it is totally worth it! Double up and freeze some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grrmrgal April 17, 2014

I was nervous to try these for the first time, my family knew I was making them and I was so afraid I would screw them up. They turned out perfectly! As a matter of fact, DS and DD were just eating them plain without the burger in them. I made the buns, but will try making the actual pretzels next time . Thank you for making me look good!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 17, 2013

They are really nice and soft! I have another recipe but with that one the dough almost falls apart when put in the water. I just becomes more of a dumpling than a roll. These are great, though!!! <br/>I cut the recipe in half and still made 12 rolls to make them smaller since I didn't want them for sandwiches; I served them with soup. I do need to know though: Since I made the rolls smaller, do I change the concentration of the baking soda water? I used the 2 quarts with 1/2 cup and they turned out good, but was it the right thing to do?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imsavedbyhm September 04, 2013

I am not known for my bread making talents. However since this recipe used s bread machine I thought I would give it a shot, and I am so glad I did. These rolls were not just easy to make, but the taste was great. My son could not stop eating them. I plan on making some more this week and freezing them. Thank you so much for the recipe this is definitely a keeper. If you have not tried this recipe, please do. If I can make these anyone can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailfesnak_11932526 August 07, 2013

These are delicious! I haven't worked with a yeast bread recipe in some time, and these were so wonderfully easy to make. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants the personal satisfaction of baking their own bread but doesn't have a lot of time or patience for baking! : )<br/><br/>I followed the recipe exactly, except for reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup because I don't care for much sweetness in my bread. It was perfect - the dough was easy to work with and the results were incredibly tasty. <br/><br/>I will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luluette July 31, 2013

After seeing the photos and reading the reviews I couldn't wait to try these rolls. Made them for our 4th of July party and followed the recipe exactly. They are awesome and keep disappearing off the table so don't know if they'll even make it to the party. They taste just like a soft pretzel. Only trouble I had is when I tried to cut the cross on the top (loved the look of the photo) mine didn't stay; but they still taste awesome. I'll be making these often and I'm sure my technique will get better. By the way, thanks for the tip on adding the soda to cold water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 04, 2012
Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)