Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2009

      I was planning on looking up a recipe for this tomorrow to make reubens with my leftover corned beef. Since my bakry dropped the ball and didn't make my soda bread, I decided to just make the rolls tonight to go with my dinner. I have never made bread before (I'm a pretty adventurous cook, but I've never attempted bread before) and, the description was spot on... it was a snap! I am so proud of myself, they are gorgeous and delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Mmmmmm. So good! I have made these twice and both times, I end up eating 7 or 8 by myself. I really love these. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      omg...if i could give this 10stars i would...after reading the reviews i decided to try it...i couldnt believe how easy this was.....a restaurant by me serves these & this recipe is exactly the same.....brought these into work people were going nuts over them...and couldnt believe they were homemade....followed the recipe exactly i needed alittle extra flour when kneading...unbelievable cant wait to make them again.....be careful when adding the baking soda/next time i will use a bigger deeper pot....thanks 4 the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Anther Winner DE-LICIOUS! YUM! I just made them, I may not have let them brown as much as in your photo. I plan to serve them for dinner as meatball sandwiches. I couldn't wait to taste one. That great pretzel doug taste that I love so much. 2 slight changes. I decrease the fluor by a scant 1/4 cup and replace it with ground flax seed. I seak that in were ever I can and I didn't salt them. Thanks again Kathy McF

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Yum - I always wondered how they got that shiny crust. These came out great - will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      By far the BEST bretzel recipie I've found -- 10 stars not an option :) NOW I NEED HELP -- would like to make a pumpernickel & a rye version, but don't know the proportions of flour to use . If anyone else has experimented SUCCESSSFULLY please please let me know. (Not using bread machine). thanks so much for sharing this recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Excellent Rolls for any occasion even if you're not a big fan of regular pretzels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Very good! I made two batches today. I used my bread machine for the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Oh oh oh! These are divine! Paid a FORTUNE for them at a UBAKE shop in town, and my husband gobbled them up, so knew I had to find a recipe. THANK YOU for posting this -- it is awesome (and they freeze well too)! Viclynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I have a question and I hope someone can help. I made these today but they went nearly flat on me after the 30min rise when I was trying to get them into the boiling water. How do you guys get such big round rolls? Update: I let the rolls rize a little longer and I boiled them for 30seconds per side (total 1 minute) and they plumped up nicely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      The pictures caught my eye and I knew I had to try them for myself. I needed some rolls to use for sandwiches for work for DH and I and these were so good! DH says I can make him "2 to go" for today! I hope he doesn't plan on getting fat eating 2 sandwiches, but these rolls are so good I can see why he wants another! I just might pack two for myself !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Wow! These were fabulous. My husband went crazy over these. I saved some of the dough and used it for a pizza crust and it turned out excellent!! Use nice fat salt for the top! Be sure the let them get nice and brown - like a pretzel!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      These were very good! We loved them. They didn't rise as much as they should have, but that is totally due to me and not the recipe, as I have issues making anything with yeast, but I keep trying! I will make them again for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      WOW!!!! I was in Germany earlier this year and for breakfast every morning they had Pretzel rolls. I ate one every morning with Brie. These brought back memories. I made one batch, and my kids ate them all, so I ended up making a second that same day. Everyone loved them. They are pretty simple to make, as well. I think these will be a new addition to out family dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Loved the idea of this recipe, but, for whatever reason, I totally messed them up (and had a messy kitchen to boot)! The dough seemed to rise fine, but when I put them in the boiling water they got incredibly flat. After I baked them, they were very spongy - and didn't look anything like these beautiful pictures! My family still liked them. Any suggestions??? I want to try them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      These were far too good. i can't make them very often b/c the husband and i try to eat them all in two days. So addicting. Perfect for turkey sandwiches. Definitely worth the work. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      These little suckers were a hit right out of the box. The recipe was perfect and everything turned out the way it was supposed to. The rolls were even better than I expected and will definitely be subject to variations in days to come. Thanks for the calories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      These were incredible!!!! I made these for a party I was having at work the next day and everyone raved about them and have been begging me to make them again. Instead of making rolls I made them into bread sticks. They're very similar to pretzel bread sticks I had at EPCOT in Walt Disney World.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This was such an easy recipe, I do believe that you couldn't stuff it up. The only change I made was to add 1 & 1/2T of brown sugar instead of 1/3c, purely for taste. It didn't make these any less yummy, in fact they weren't sweet so complimented the savoury fillings we used perfectly. They are nice that day or the next, but the day after that they lose their softness and aren't as nice (for some breads like Poilane they are designed to be eaten for a week or so). However, they are so moreish I would challenge you to have any left after 2 days. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! It tastes EXACTLY like pretzel, only big and soft. This made the most wonderful pastrami and swiss sandwiches! This is going in my permanent rotation cookbook, and I am definitely going to find out how they freeze. :) Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    11%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 26.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites