110 Reviews

These are awesome. I have made them on a couple of occasions now and they have been a huge hit both times. To use these with burgers or other sandwiches I have made a total of 6 rolls with each batch instead of the 12 in the directions. Another addition to this recipe is some Celery Seed to give it the extra pretzel flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craigsmo June 02, 2010

Recently visited Germany and one of my favorite foods was the delicious pretzels and pretzel rolls that we would buy from the bakery. These pretzel rolls taste exactly like the ones from the German bakery! Thank you for an awesome recipe! Now all I need is a recipe for spundekaes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Franci April 18, 2010

Can anyone who has made this tell me if you are suppose to add salt to the dough? I do not see it listed to add to the dough, only on top. I salt everything when I cook and I always thought bread needed salt. If someone could tell me I would apprecicate it. This sounds so wonderful and I can't wait to try it. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlc313 April 05, 2010

WOW!!! What a hit this was. We made it to make rolls for a get together and I had 4 people already ask for the recipe and it was all guys that were over. This is a must try and it tastes just like Aunt Annie's pretzels. I can't wait to try it for burgers!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cubsfan13 March 29, 2010

Great roll! The only issue I had with them was not to eat of of them at the same time. Great roll and easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Wayne February 20, 2010

This was fairly easy and it turned out wonderful. The dough is great to work with but I was not skilled enough to make them look like #1063483's photo. They puffed up nicely and were still the right size for a roll. They looked nice. The leftovers reheated well and they were great cold too. This makes a nice idea for a casual get together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
My Sweetie's Sweetheart February 12, 2010

Made exactly as stated. Not as easy to do as I expected and very time consuming. Great result, I am eating ham on them right now, with some butter as lunch. Seriously sticky dough, needed to knead in quite a bit of extra flour and still sticky after that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha January 18, 2010

This recipe turned out perfectly. Did a trial run in anticipation of making them for a German dinner over the holidays. They will be on the menu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salsareina December 14, 2009

I'm giving this recipe three stars because it did not taste like a Bavarian Pretzel. It was really yummy, and tasted like the petzels you get at the mall. However, being german myself, it didn't have the texture or color of a bavarian pretzel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gr8cheff August 28, 2008

I love Laugenbrötchen, so when I saw this recipe I just had to try it. I did have some problems making these, but I think it might have been the hot humid weather, so I'm not gonna let that affect my rating, that's purely based on taste. I needed quite a bit more flour than listed to be able to work the dough, and eventually I ran out of plain flour so I had to add a little stoneground wholemeal as that's all I had. I think all that led to them not rising quite as high as expected, but they did grow in circumference quite a bit, so I know it wasn't the yeast. I guess the dough was just still a little bit to 'wet', but I didn't want to add anymore flour and make them hard. The flavour was good, just a little too sweet, so I will reduce the amount of sugar to probably about 1/4 cup next time. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- June 08, 2006
Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)