109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These rolls are awesome! We discovered pretzel rolls while in Wisconsin this summer and wanted to bake them ourselves...these rolls take a little work but they are the reward in themselves. One variation: instead of sprinkling salt on them I sprinkled half of the rolls with maple sugar...SUBLIME. These treats didn't even cool down...they were gone in 60 seconds. Caution: the melted sugar is super hot and will burn your mouth unless you let them cool a little!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
augustflygirl61 August 05, 2011

I'll be darned, they tasted like pretzels. Made them into rolls for our hamburgers tonight. It took way more flour than stated for me to make the dough ball and then it was still so very very sticky. But other than making sure that everything they touched had enough flour to keep them from sticking, they cooked nicely. The bottoms were very dark brown so I will move them up next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage August 01, 2011

My 8-yr-old son & I just made these by hand. They're easy & taste great!!! We did need to turn them @ the 5 min. mark in the oven and then watch for desired doneness.

I agree with another reviewer - make sure you have at least a 6 qt. pot for your boiling water/baking soda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dehudd4 February 05, 2011

The rolls rose nicely and baked up beautifully. However, the roll was just a little bit sweeter than I was expecting. Also, if you're going to call these authentic Bavarian bretzeln anything, the lye bath is must. Food grade lye is easy to get online and while it is caustic if you are smart and careful, it's no where near as dangerous as people think.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jldutton January 08, 2011

These are amazing! Thanks for sharing!! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMatt December 23, 2010

Excellent. Easy to make. I had to add more flour then called for (just kept adding flour till the dough was pliant), and made all by hand (no bread machine or electric mixer help). Had no problems with the dough deflating. Rolls browned beautifully but I was hoping the outside of the rolls would crisp a bit (no such luck). Rolls remained tender and soft and were loved by all. Next time will probably add a bit of salt to the flour (1/2 t.).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 17, 2010

This recipe is Amazing! I loved it. I have my family over every so often for dinner, when I tell them I am baking pretzels, they all make sure to show up. We have pretzel sausage dogs and they are wonderful! I can't thank you enough for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robinjade September 28, 2010

I made these by hand yesterday, because my husband and I had some really good pretzel rolls while we were traveling and, based on all the good reviews, this one looked promising. The dough and I did not get along, at ALL. I had to add a LOT more flour to make it maneagable, it STILL stuck like crazy, the rolls nearly fell apart after boiling (for the 30 seconds only), and the bake time seemed off/too short (for me - though that could've been a dough or oven issue). We thought the flavor was good, once they were cooked - mine looked horrid, haha - but my husband said he thought they had a weird aftertaste (I'm assuming that was from the baking soda). I am surprised this recipe doesn't have any salt in it, as salt enhances flavor. I think I will adapt this recipe and lessen the sugar to 1/4 cup, add more flour, cut the water/baking soda mixture by half, and maybe add 2 tsp. salt. This *particular* recipe didin't work out too well for me, but I am willing to give it another shot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 August 29, 2010

perfect. and worked great with all whole wheat too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe.s.true June 25, 2010

These are awesome. I have made them on a couple of occasions now and they have been a huge hit both times. To use these with burgers or other sandwiches I have made a total of 6 rolls with each batch instead of the 12 in the directions. Another addition to this recipe is some Celery Seed to give it the extra pretzel flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Craigsmo June 02, 2010
Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)