Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2011

      These rolls are awesome! We discovered pretzel rolls while in Wisconsin this summer and wanted to bake them ourselves...these rolls take a little work but they are the reward in themselves. One variation: instead of sprinkling salt on them I sprinkled half of the rolls with maple sugar...SUBLIME. These treats didn't even cool down...they were gone in 60 seconds. Caution: the melted sugar is super hot and will burn your mouth unless you let them cool a little!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      I'll be darned, they tasted like pretzels. Made them into rolls for our hamburgers tonight. It took way more flour than stated for me to make the dough ball and then it was still so very very sticky. But other than making sure that everything they touched had enough flour to keep them from sticking, they cooked nicely. The bottoms were very dark brown so I will move them up next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      My 8-yr-old son & I just made these by hand. They're easy & taste great!!! We did need to turn them @ the 5 min. mark in the oven and then watch for desired doneness.

      I agree with another reviewer - make sure you have at least a 6 qt. pot for your boiling water/baking soda.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      The rolls rose nicely and baked up beautifully. However, the roll was just a little bit sweeter than I was expecting. Also, if you're going to call these authentic Bavarian bretzeln anything, the lye bath is must. Food grade lye is easy to get online and while it is caustic if you are smart and careful, it's no where near as dangerous as people think.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      These are amazing! Thanks for sharing!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Excellent. Easy to make. I had to add more flour then called for (just kept adding flour till the dough was pliant), and made all by hand (no bread machine or electric mixer help). Had no problems with the dough deflating. Rolls browned beautifully but I was hoping the outside of the rolls would crisp a bit (no such luck). Rolls remained tender and soft and were loved by all. Next time will probably add a bit of salt to the flour (1/2 t.).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This recipe is Amazing! I loved it. I have my family over every so often for dinner, when I tell them I am baking pretzels, they all make sure to show up. We have pretzel sausage dogs and they are wonderful! I can't thank you enough for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I made these by hand yesterday, because my husband and I had some really good pretzel rolls while we were traveling and, based on all the good reviews, this one looked promising. The dough and I did not get along, at ALL. I had to add a LOT more flour to make it maneagable, it STILL stuck like crazy, the rolls nearly fell apart after boiling (for the 30 seconds only), and the bake time seemed off/too short (for me - though that could've been a dough or oven issue). We thought the flavor was good, once they were cooked - mine looked horrid, haha - but my husband said he thought they had a weird aftertaste (I'm assuming that was from the baking soda). I am surprised this recipe doesn't have any salt in it, as salt enhances flavor. I think I will adapt this recipe and lessen the sugar to 1/4 cup, add more flour, cut the water/baking soda mixture by half, and maybe add 2 tsp. salt. This *particular* recipe didin't work out too well for me, but I am willing to give it another shot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      perfect. and worked great with all whole wheat too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      These are awesome. I have made them on a couple of occasions now and they have been a huge hit both times. To use these with burgers or other sandwiches I have made a total of 6 rolls with each batch instead of the 12 in the directions. Another addition to this recipe is some Celery Seed to give it the extra pretzel flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Recently visited Germany and one of my favorite foods was the delicious pretzels and pretzel rolls that we would buy from the bakery. These pretzel rolls taste exactly like the ones from the German bakery! Thank you for an awesome recipe! Now all I need is a recipe for spundekaes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Can anyone who has made this tell me if you are suppose to add salt to the dough? I do not see it listed to add to the dough, only on top. I salt everything when I cook and I always thought bread needed salt. If someone could tell me I would apprecicate it. This sounds so wonderful and I can't wait to try it. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      WOW!!! What a hit this was. We made it to make rolls for a get together and I had 4 people already ask for the recipe and it was all guys that were over. This is a must try and it tastes just like Aunt Annie's pretzels. I can't wait to try it for burgers!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Great roll! The only issue I had with them was not to eat of of them at the same time. Great roll and easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      This was fairly easy and it turned out wonderful. The dough is great to work with but I was not skilled enough to make them look like #1063483's photo. They puffed up nicely and were still the right size for a roll. They looked nice. The leftovers reheated well and they were great cold too. This makes a nice idea for a casual get together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Made exactly as stated. Not as easy to do as I expected and very time consuming. Great result, I am eating ham on them right now, with some butter as lunch. Seriously sticky dough, needed to knead in quite a bit of extra flour and still sticky after that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This recipe turned out perfectly. Did a trial run in anticipation of making them for a German dinner over the holidays. They will be on the menu!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I'm giving this recipe three stars because it did not taste like a Bavarian Pretzel. It was really yummy, and tasted like the petzels you get at the mall. However, being german myself, it didn't have the texture or color of a bavarian pretzel.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      I love Laugenbrötchen, so when I saw this recipe I just had to try it. I did have some problems making these, but I think it might have been the hot humid weather, so I'm not gonna let that affect my rating, that's purely based on taste. I needed quite a bit more flour than listed to be able to work the dough, and eventually I ran out of plain flour so I had to add a little stoneground wholemeal as that's all I had. I think all that led to them not rising quite as high as expected, but they did grow in circumference quite a bit, so I know it wasn't the yeast. I guess the dough was just still a little bit to 'wet', but I didn't want to add anymore flour and make them hard. The flavour was good, just a little too sweet, so I will reduce the amount of sugar to probably about 1/4 cup next time. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      I do think they are a better stand alone roll than a sandwich roll (the bread is too dense to manage a sandwich... it doesn't give and smooshes out the filling when you bite down). 5 stars anyway for being super delicious. They were so good my kids wanted to make them the next day after we first tried them. We made some of the dough into rolls and some into pretzels. This recipe is way better than Costco's pretzel rolls (and I think Costco generally sells superior products).<br/><br/>The second time I made it, I added a scant 1/4 teaspoon of kosher salt to the dough. We'll definitely make this again.<br/><br/>I agree that it might be better to bake them at 400 to avoid them getting a little too dark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    11%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 26.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites