Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2011

      I had always wanted to try to make these rolls for burger buns.. but now they're a bread staple at my restaurant and I make them daily. Instead of portioning them right away, I make a triple batch and let the dough rise (after the initial 10 minute rest) refrigerated. Then I portion and gently roll them right before the baking soda bath. I let them rise after boiling them for as long as I can (sometimes I have to put them in the oven right away, they turn out quite nicely) and then bake them. (NOTE: There's no need to score these-- if you roll them gently before you boil them, they'll take on that lovely marbled look.) I bake them at 400 because they had a tendency to burn on the bottom, but that might just be my commercial oven. These are definitely worth the work (though I highly recommend the use of a kitchenaid mixer), and once you take a deep breath and just try it they get easier each time. I could make these from start to finish with my eyes closed.. and even after baking hundreds of 'em my mouth waters every time a take a batch from the oven. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! But, I do tell my customers it's my Dutch grandmother's family recipe... shhhh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Yummy and wonderful... BUT BE CAREFUL TO USE AT LEAST A 6 QUART POT TO BOIL THE WATER! When you add the baking soda, the water will bubble up SIGNIFICANTLY and if the pot is too small, it will boil over all over your stove and anybody standing close to it. The rolls are excellent, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Used dough recipe in bread machine. Roll out flat, stick some cold cuts and cheddar cheese inside. Fold over, pinch like a calzone. Dip in the baking soda water and sprinkle with coarse salt. Bake about 15 min. Makes about 8 warm chewy pretzel sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Absolutely incredible! I've wanted to make these since dh and I had them in a german restaurant. I made 19 small rolls and mine didn't brown all that well but the taste is heavenly. Totally worth the effort. Thanks for sharing this recipe! EDIT: Use an egg wash on the dough before adding salt to help with browning and it also helps the salt stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Not that another review is needed, but I just made these for the 2nd time and they are what I've been looking for all these years since I first had this kind of thing in Germany. I have been making them in "stubby breadstick" (Laugenstange) shape, and putting two diagonal cuts across their tops before baking. I also cut the dough into 18, rather than 12, pieces (you can eat more that way and they are also a bit easier to manage for the boiling step). Speaking of which, I think the only way you could end up with "mall pretzels" is by omiting that key step, with the baking soda. I also have only been using a heaping tbsp brown sugar, rather than the amount in the recipe. These were a huge hit served with some Weisswurst and a tomato salad. Although simple is good: in Germany I would just buy the ones with a thick slab of fresh butter inside; or the pretzel ones that are baked with shredded cheese on top til the edges of the cheese are brown and crisp. The recipe really is perfect because the dough part needs that tiny bit of saltiness supplied by what's sprinkled on top. I went for the coarse salt, and part of it soaks into the top, while the rest stays crystalline on the outside. I also don't go crazy trying to drain my blobs of dough before putting them on the baking sheet (I just line with parchment)...I think that extra liquid in the oven during baking gives them a good solid (but not too thick) outer crust. As an added bonus, if you happen to let your water boil over (which I did today), it makes for a fine time to really clean your stove top (thanks to the baking soda)! Thanks so much for developing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I have been looking for a recipe for this ever since my husband and I took a trip to Chicago and ate at a brauhaus owned by a couple from Germany. I absolutely fell in love with the rolls! I found this recipe quite by accident while looking for something different to make and I immediately planned a meal around these rolls, LOL. I did not feel like using my kitchen aid for this recipe, so I did it all by hand. I kneaded the dough about 5 minutes. As I worked it, I did need to add about an additional cup of flour and it was still easy to work with the dough. It was much easier for me to make two 12 inch rolls instead of one 2 foot roll, and because I wanted dinner rolls I cut the dough into 16 rolls and they were still very generous. Make sure to start checking these after 8 minutes of baking, mine had to come out at 9 minutes and were a deep brown color, exactly as they should be. The taste? Exactly what I have been looking for all these years! If you are not an experienced breadmaker, this is the recipe to start with. It really is simple, straight-forward and the results are fantastic. If, like me, you can bake a loaf of bread in your sleep, you will marvel at the speed and ease of this recipe. 5 stars really are not enough. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I thought I had ruined these! When making, I was 1/2 c of flour short, so I supplemented with whole wheat flour. Then, after the 30 minute rest, they looked exactly the same and I thought I would have hockey pucks. Surprise surprise. They rise during the baking and turned out wonderful - even with some whole wheat flour thrown in. I'll definitely be making these again. They were super simple and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Recipe works great at altitude! I live at 5500 feet and made this exactly as described (no adjustment to wet or dry ingredient ratios). The only thing I will change the next time I make this is to slightly shorten the second rising time to around 25 minutes and have the water already boiling. This time I let them rise 28 minutes and then started the water. By the time the water boiled I was at around 38-40 minutes and due to over-rising (bread rises much faster at altitude b/c air pressure is lower) the buns collapsed a little bit as I lifted them off the board. Even with this slight collapse, the texture and crumb was perfect in the final product. Thanks for making a recipe that is oh-so-close to the delicious bread I had in Germany.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      These are great!!! Tastes like yummy soft pretzels, everyone in our family loved them! Thanks! (Substituted half the white flour for wheat to make them healtier and they were soft and tasty)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      NcMysteryShopper - thanks you for this recipe. I had a "Pretzel Roll" in Milwaukee at a hamburger place, and I have been intrigued ever since. These were a little more dense than the ones there, but to me that is good. If I am going to do these for hamburgers, I will only make maybe 8 - 10 rolls out of the batch just to have them a little bigger for burgers. Again, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      These were awesome! My breadmachine is kaput right now, but I have a standing mixer. I ended up putting all the flour in the bowl with the yeast (as I have a rapidrise/breadmachine yeast) and then added all of the warmed water/milk/butter/brown sugar to it. They turned out perfect. Reminded me of the ones I had in Germany. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      These are beautiful yeast rolls but a little too sweet and too soft and fluffy to be considered "Bavarian'. Next time I will cut way back on the sugar, add some salt to the dough and use a little less yeast to make them denser. They freeze very nicely, though. I cut them in half and put them in the freezer. When I need one, I just put the two halves in the toaster then fill them with cheese slices, etc. Made and reviewed for the "More than Sauerkraut and Dumplings" event at the German Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Ohhh so tasty! This recipe will make you feel like a pro. Try it...you won't be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      After reading the comments on how the rolls "deflate" when transfering into boiling water, I decided to let the rolls rise the 30 min. on an oiled & floured cookie sheet. I also oiled a spatula so they would slide on, without sticking. The only other thing I did was let the water get to a good rolling boil and right before transfering the rolls in, I added the baking soda. I didn't know if baking soda was like yeast and did not want to "kill" the baking soda's purpose in the water. I used a slotted spoon (I didn't want to crush the rolls with a tongs). Also, I turned the rolls three times in the oven (every 5 minutes), which means they cooked for a total of 15 mins. The rolls turned out FABULOUS! This was the first time making them and I am extremely pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Great recipe. Love these for burgers, sandwiches or just for a dinner roll.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Excellent! My only recommend is cutting into 3" or 4" sections as opposed to the 2" recipe instruction. This is especially good if you are using these for sandwich rolls; which I highly recommend that you try. I did some brisket on the smoker for 15 hours and used these to make sandwiches. They were amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      My family loved these. I baked them on a flat stone backing dish I bought from pampered cheif and cooked them on conventional baking in my oven and they turned out beautiful.... could not ask for anything better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      These turned out great for me. I made eighteen 1.5 ounce slider rolls. I definitely had to turn the pan midway through the baking time in order for the rolls to brown evenly. My only suggestion is that perhaps the recipe could use a teaspoon or so of salt in the actual dough. I agree with another chef who said it is really helpful to have 2 people working together at the step where you are boiling the rolls and then placing them on the pan, slicing the top and sprinkling with salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      The BEST!!! I make these often, by request for my husband. The recipe doubles easily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      OK, I really need to try this again.
      All was good until...the boiling water with baking soda kept boiling up and over. The rolls were very misshapen from taking them off the pan and dropping them into the boiling water.
      Some of the rolls tasted bitter from the baking soda/water boil.
      I'm going to make the recipe again with one or both of my boys to help. I needed more hands.
      My oldest son loves them and I doubt there will be any left for my younger son to try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.1
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    11%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 26.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites