109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had always wanted to try to make these rolls for burger buns.. but now they're a bread staple at my restaurant and I make them daily. Instead of portioning them right away, I make a triple batch and let the dough rise (after the initial 10 minute rest) refrigerated. Then I portion and gently roll them right before the baking soda bath. I let them rise after boiling them for as long as I can (sometimes I have to put them in the oven right away, they turn out quite nicely) and then bake them. (NOTE: There's no need to score these-- if you roll them gently before you boil them, they'll take on that lovely marbled look.) I bake them at 400 because they had a tendency to burn on the bottom, but that might just be my commercial oven. These are definitely worth the work (though I highly recommend the use of a kitchenaid mixer), and once you take a deep breath and just try it they get easier each time. I could make these from start to finish with my eyes closed.. and even after baking hundreds of 'em my mouth waters every time a take a batch from the oven. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! But, I do tell my customers it's my Dutch grandmother's family recipe... shhhh!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nobunka February 08, 2011

Yummy and wonderful... BUT BE CAREFUL TO USE AT LEAST A 6 QUART POT TO BOIL THE WATER! When you add the baking soda, the water will bubble up SIGNIFICANTLY and if the pot is too small, it will boil over all over your stove and anybody standing close to it. The rolls are excellent, though.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scimanyd March 10, 2009

Used dough recipe in bread machine. Roll out flat, stick some cold cuts and cheddar cheese inside. Fold over, pinch like a calzone. Dip in the baking soda water and sprinkle with coarse salt. Bake about 15 min. Makes about 8 warm chewy pretzel sandwiches.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scientistturnedcook March 28, 2010

Absolutely incredible! I've wanted to make these since dh and I had them in a german restaurant. I made 19 small rolls and mine didn't brown all that well but the taste is heavenly. Totally worth the effort. Thanks for sharing this recipe! EDIT: Use an egg wash on the dough before adding salt to help with browning and it also helps the salt stick.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee November 22, 2009

Not that another review is needed, but I just made these for the 2nd time and they are what I've been looking for all these years since I first had this kind of thing in Germany. I have been making them in "stubby breadstick" (Laugenstange) shape, and putting two diagonal cuts across their tops before baking. I also cut the dough into 18, rather than 12, pieces (you can eat more that way and they are also a bit easier to manage for the boiling step). Speaking of which, I think the only way you could end up with "mall pretzels" is by omiting that key step, with the baking soda. I also have only been using a heaping tbsp brown sugar, rather than the amount in the recipe. These were a huge hit served with some Weisswurst and a tomato salad. Although simple is good: in Germany I would just buy the ones with a thick slab of fresh butter inside; or the pretzel ones that are baked with shredded cheese on top til the edges of the cheese are brown and crisp. The recipe really is perfect because the dough part needs that tiny bit of saltiness supplied by what's sprinkled on top. I went for the coarse salt, and part of it soaks into the top, while the rest stays crystalline on the outside. I also don't go crazy trying to drain my blobs of dough before putting them on the baking sheet (I just line with parchment)...I think that extra liquid in the oven during baking gives them a good solid (but not too thick) outer crust. As an added bonus, if you happen to let your water boil over (which I did today), it makes for a fine time to really clean your stove top (thanks to the baking soda)! Thanks so much for developing this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville September 04, 2008

I have been looking for a recipe for this ever since my husband and I took a trip to Chicago and ate at a brauhaus owned by a couple from Germany. I absolutely fell in love with the rolls! I found this recipe quite by accident while looking for something different to make and I immediately planned a meal around these rolls, LOL. I did not feel like using my kitchen aid for this recipe, so I did it all by hand. I kneaded the dough about 5 minutes. As I worked it, I did need to add about an additional cup of flour and it was still easy to work with the dough. It was much easier for me to make two 12 inch rolls instead of one 2 foot roll, and because I wanted dinner rolls I cut the dough into 16 rolls and they were still very generous. Make sure to start checking these after 8 minutes of baking, mine had to come out at 9 minutes and were a deep brown color, exactly as they should be. The taste? Exactly what I have been looking for all these years! If you are not an experienced breadmaker, this is the recipe to start with. It really is simple, straight-forward and the results are fantastic. If, like me, you can bake a loaf of bread in your sleep, you will marvel at the speed and ease of this recipe. 5 stars really are not enough. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina September 03, 2006

I thought I had ruined these! When making, I was 1/2 c of flour short, so I supplemented with whole wheat flour. Then, after the 30 minute rest, they looked exactly the same and I thought I would have hockey pucks. Surprise surprise. They rise during the baking and turned out wonderful - even with some whole wheat flour thrown in. I'll definitely be making these again. They were super simple and very tasty.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tim964 December 20, 2010

Recipe works great at altitude! I live at 5500 feet and made this exactly as described (no adjustment to wet or dry ingredient ratios). The only thing I will change the next time I make this is to slightly shorten the second rising time to around 25 minutes and have the water already boiling. This time I let them rise 28 minutes and then started the water. By the time the water boiled I was at around 38-40 minutes and due to over-rising (bread rises much faster at altitude b/c air pressure is lower) the buns collapsed a little bit as I lifted them off the board. Even with this slight collapse, the texture and crumb was perfect in the final product. Thanks for making a recipe that is oh-so-close to the delicious bread I had in Germany.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessica80304 July 04, 2010

These are great!!! Tastes like yummy soft pretzels, everyone in our family loved them! Thanks! (Substituted half the white flour for wheat to make them healtier and they were soft and tasty)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano April 27, 2010

These were awesome! My breadmachine is kaput right now, but I have a standing mixer. I ended up putting all the flour in the bowl with the yeast (as I have a rapidrise/breadmachine yeast) and then added all of the warmed water/milk/butter/brown sugar to it. They turned out perfect. Reminded me of the ones I had in Germany. Thanks for the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanRose August 23, 2008
Bretzel Rolls (Bavarian Pretzel Sandwich Rolls)