10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is delicious, even if you don't have alot of time to marinade it. I marinaded it for about 1 hour and it really had alot of flavor. I minced the garlic and the ginger together (we love them both) and I probably used more garlic and ginger than called for but the rest of the ingedients I kept the same. Really good, highly recommend it. The heated marinade was delicious over my steamed broccoli(al dente of course) and also the marinade ran around the plate into my sauteed fresh spinach and it was great on that too!!! A keeper for sure!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover August 17, 2008

My girlfriend and I just moved to the west coast, and we happened to find tri-tip on sale at the store. After bringing it home, we searched the 'Zaar (and the internet at large!) for delicious ways to use it. After much deliberation, we decided upon this recipe, and we both agree that it was likely the most delicious thing that we've had since moving here a month ago! Thanks for this delicious, simple recipe, and thanks for the tips about how to set the heat on the grill (holding your hand over it for 4-5 seconds tops). Our grill never did get quite hot enough, but we did end up with a medium-rare, fantastically crusted cut of meat anyway! I don't know that we'll try this again right away (there are, apparently, so many delicious ways to prepare tri-tip), but this recipe is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adam Wick August 15, 2008

We have tried many different Tri-Tip recipes. This is one of, if not the best. We doubled the sauce and served it in small sauce bowls ala French Dip. It was all consumed with the steak. Also cut the ginger by 2/3rds (not big ginger fans). The meal was a BIG hit. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids March 02, 2007

I marinaded 4 3 lb roasts for DH's BD party and everyone loved them! I put each roast in a zip lock bag and followed the recipe for each. I ran out of soy sauce after the 3 roast, so I cut the 4th into thirds and put a piece into each bag. The only slight change I made was to add about a tsp of steak seasoning to each bag. I did think that the reduced sauce was way too sweet, so I didn't use it. I'm sure I'll use this recipe again, but I'll cut back on the sugar in the marinade to about 1/4 cup. Thanks for a great recipe that made me look like a great cook!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM June 29, 2008

This was really good and the sauce was divine! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used about 1/8 tsp of ground ginger. I took the review from another poster and froze mine then when I was ready, thawed it out. I browned my tri tip first then put in the oven for about 30 minutes @ 350 since I didn't feel like grilling in the bad weather we were having.Thanks for a sharing and I can't wait to make it with maybe filet mignon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 May 26, 2008

This recipe was wonderful! I cooked it on my George Foreman and it was perfect. Will make this often. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol1334 May 10, 2008

WOW! This marinade had the best flavor, my family loved it! It felt like we were at a restaurant, I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal chef December 23, 2007

Delicious!!! Really nice flavor after marinating it for two days! Yummmmmmm! I did mince the garlic and ginger and probably added a bit more of both than called for- but that's just my family's preference. Very nice recipe~ a definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly September 24, 2007

We loved this. I did it as a OAMC prep- put the beef and marinade in the freezer in a bag, thawed it out a couple of weeks later and grilled it- wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdid June 06, 2007

Great flavor. I used a london broil buffalo steak. Although the meat was kind of tough, the taste was outstanding. Unfortunately, as I was boiling the marinade, it boiled over and I lost most of it, so I didn't get to do any "dipping". Still good and would be good on chicken and pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel March 27, 2007
Brenda's Cabernet-Soy Tri-Tip,