Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Strata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Strata

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2009

      This could be the start to a good recipe, however it needs more flavor. I will add several kinds peppers, fresh garlic and maybe some mushrooms next time. I ate mine with salsa since the flavor was bland on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Instead of the ham, I use about a pound+ of Chorizo sausage with the bacon. Holy moly, is this stuff good! And just like any casserole, it tastes just as good a day or two later if not better. Mmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I made this for Easter brunch to rave reviews. I used frozen diced hash browns and kept everything else the same. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Loved this!!! I was a little nervous about making this as part of my Christmas morning breakfast for my family. I have never had a breakfast strata but it seemed like a great idea as you have to prepare it the night before. I only used bacon(just a preference) and other than that I pretty much followed the recipe. It was perfect and everyone loved it. This will now become part of my Christmas breakfast traditions!!! Thanks for a wonderful busy morning breakfast!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Huge hit at my baby shower. My mom used a rustic french bread that was great in it. I would try sprinkling fresh chives on top for color and flavor next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Made this for Easter Brunch too. Received great reviews. Everyone loved it. Tastes great with a little maple syrup too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      This was very good. I used breakfast sausage with good results. Thanks for posting this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      WOWEE! This is GRRRubbin! Will plan ahead and make and freeze a week before Christmas for next year. Thanks Laura, great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      This was wonderful! I made it for Christmas breakfast and everyone loved it (some took third helpings!). I made only a couple of alterations. I added some sautéed mushrooms for extra flavor and depth and, for Christmas color, I diced some green and red bell peppers and added those. I will definitely make this dish again and look forward to experimenting with adding different vegetables or different types of meat or cheese. The possibilities are endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      I took this to work for a breakfast and it went over BIG! A lot of requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe pretty close, but used prepared, refrigerated "Simply Potatoes" cubed potatoes with onion. I cooked it in some olive oil and let it cool, then followed the directions. It had a unique flavor and I know of quite a few people who will be making this dish soon! Thanks for sharing. God Bless!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Really good and easy breakfast -- great leftover too! I used french bread (based on a tip in the comments) and I think it gave the strata a perfect texture. Next time I think I'll add a veggie, asparagus would probably work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I have been looking for this recipe with a little kick to it. We used to make something very similar for Christmas breakfast. It filled us up until Christmas dinner. I have tried over the years to duplicate it and I think this is finally it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

    • on February 08, 2008

    • on May 06, 2007

      I won't make this again, though I'd recommend trying it once if you need to use up some leftover ham. I took this to a church pot luck. Most dishes were finished off, but there was still some of this leftover. I used a bag of diced potatoes with onions and used the entire 16 oz. bag, so it had extra potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      It is a beautiful looking casserole and it was delicious. My brunch guests love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This was the hit of the party! My husband went nuts for it, of course, where there's bacon... I 1 1/2'ed it and instead of ham added a roll of maple sausage. It made my morning a breeze. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Divine! The whole family loved this, including the oldest son who usually refuses to eat both eggs and cheese. It was reasonably easy to throw together on a Saturday evening and serve for Sunday Brunch. Definite keeper, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Made this Christmas morning, was a big hit. Used less bread (4 slices) and a bag of thawed frozen hashbrowns. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I chose to make this dish for Christmas morning. My mom sounded ify about this recipe~ but I am so glad I chose to make this one. This was a total hit. Everybody loved this recipe. I chose to add more potatoes and less bread and I used low fat cheese also cut the cheese to 2 cups, Added a green pepper to ours. For me this was so worth the work. I plan on making this dish again. Laura thanks for posting this recipe for us to try. Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Strata

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.9
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    65%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 209.0 mg
    69%
    Sodium 681.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes