29 Reviews

This could be the start to a good recipe, however it needs more flavor. I will add several kinds peppers, fresh garlic and maybe some mushrooms next time. I ate mine with salsa since the flavor was bland on its own.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcatblum January 26, 2009

Instead of the ham, I use about a pound+ of Chorizo sausage with the bacon. Holy moly, is this stuff good! And just like any casserole, it tastes just as good a day or two later if not better. Mmmmmm!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaMasada66 April 25, 2010

Made this for Easter Brunch too. Received great reviews. Everyone loved it. Tastes great with a little maple syrup too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JrBakerinON April 15, 2009

I made this for Easter brunch to rave reviews. I used frozen diced hash browns and kept everything else the same. Delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinmom76 April 12, 2009

Loved this!!! I was a little nervous about making this as part of my Christmas morning breakfast for my family. I have never had a breakfast strata but it seemed like a great idea as you have to prepare it the night before. I only used bacon(just a preference) and other than that I pretty much followed the recipe. It was perfect and everyone loved it. This will now become part of my Christmas breakfast traditions!!! Thanks for a wonderful busy morning breakfast!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele Lee December 26, 2008

This was wonderful! I made it for Christmas breakfast and everyone loved it (some took third helpings!). I made only a couple of alterations. I added some sautéed mushrooms for extra flavor and depth and, for Christmas color, I diced some green and red bell peppers and added those. I will definitely make this dish again and look forward to experimenting with adding different vegetables or different types of meat or cheese. The possibilities are endless.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Love Figs! January 23, 2014

I took this to work for a breakfast and it went over BIG! A lot of requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe pretty close, but used prepared, refrigerated "Simply Potatoes" cubed potatoes with onion. I cooked it in some olive oil and let it cool, then followed the directions. It had a unique flavor and I know of quite a few people who will be making this dish soon! Thanks for sharing. God Bless!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemonurse93 December 22, 2013

Huge hit at my baby shower. My mom used a rustic french bread that was great in it. I would try sprinkling fresh chives on top for color and flavor next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamiekelleygarcia May 04, 2009

This was very good. I used breakfast sausage with good results. Thanks for posting this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome January 03, 2009

WOWEE! This is GRRRubbin! Will plan ahead and make and freeze a week before Christmas for next year. Thanks Laura, great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilMaryB December 26, 2008
Breakfast Strata