22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I served this to 4 hungry men this morning and they just DEVOURED it! I made the recipe exactly as posted. It was very easy to make. I served it with biscuits and blackberry jam. It was a big hit, and I will definitly make this again. Thanks Jeff!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz October 11, 2002

Take that "mess", put it on a warmed tortilla, add a little salsa, and you've got a breakfast burrito! They go over really well with kids, and can be prepared in advance (except for the eggs) the night before for slumber party breakfasts or when you have company.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess October 07, 2002

This is a wonderful dish and so easy to make. Actually, I prepared everything except the eggs and cheese the night before. The next morning I re-heated it in the micro to loosen it up a bit and then added the eggs and cooked in a pan on the stove until the eggs were set. Then added the cheese and broiled it until melted. What a quick way to make a full-flavored breakfast with hardly any effort. This is a "keeper" recipe, Jeff. Thanks for sharing. :-)

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 11, 2002

This is the kind of mess we have for suppers. We're usually too rushed in the mornings. We like it really well, except I leave out the peppers (they don't like me much). Good one, Jeff.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KyJo October 11, 2002

Hi,I reviewed this recipe a few weeks ago,but it got lost in cyber space:0) My husband and I liked this recipe very much.When I make it again I will bake extra potatoes the night before.That way it will be even easier to make. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 October 28, 2002

Thanks for the Mess, Jeff! I was caught last Saturday morning with two hungry 10 yr old boys and nothing planned. I frantically searched and found your recipe. I had to substitute frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes, but it seemed to work out just fine. The boys loved it with ketchup, i ate it with salsa. Very good! Oh, and by the way, the boys got a big kick out of the name! LOL

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** November 15, 2002

I love this 'mess'. I make do it as a make ahead too, for busy mornings. The only changes I make are that I use Jimmy Dean's reduced fat sausage, 2 whole eggs and 8 egg whites, and 2% shredded cheddar to protect my 'girlish figure'. Excellent meal!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina November 01, 2002

I made this for breakfast on New Year's Day. A total hit with me and my family. I chopped the bell pepper and onion so my kids wouldn't notice they were eating them. That is the only alteration I made. I served this "mess" with Bergy's biscuits. Very, very delicious. Thanks Jeff (aka Puddles) ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 05, 2004

We had this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. I cut it back so make just a couple servings and we thoroughly enjoyed every bite. Instead of sausage, I used some diced up ham. I made this for Jeffie's Cook-a-thon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie August 03, 2009

This is a dandy little dish! We loved it! I diced the taters, and boiled them for a bit, browned up homemade breakfast sausage, and threw it all together in a skillet...Couldn't be easier...or...tastier!! Big 5* Winner, Jeff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee July 05, 2003
Breakfast Mess