Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Mess Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Mess

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2002

      I served this to 4 hungry men this morning and they just DEVOURED it! I made the recipe exactly as posted. It was very easy to make. I served it with biscuits and blackberry jam. It was a big hit, and I will definitly make this again. Thanks Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      Take that "mess", put it on a warmed tortilla, add a little salsa, and you've got a breakfast burrito! They go over really well with kids, and can be prepared in advance (except for the eggs) the night before for slumber party breakfasts or when you have company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      This is a wonderful dish and so easy to make. Actually, I prepared everything except the eggs and cheese the night before. The next morning I re-heated it in the micro to loosen it up a bit and then added the eggs and cooked in a pan on the stove until the eggs were set. Then added the cheese and broiled it until melted. What a quick way to make a full-flavored breakfast with hardly any effort. This is a "keeper" recipe, Jeff. Thanks for sharing. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      This is the kind of mess we have for suppers. We're usually too rushed in the mornings. We like it really well, except I leave out the peppers (they don't like me much). Good one, Jeff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      Hi,I reviewed this recipe a few weeks ago,but it got lost in cyber space:0) My husband and I liked this recipe very much.When I make it again I will bake extra potatoes the night before.That way it will be even easier to make. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Thanks for the Mess, Jeff! I was caught last Saturday morning with two hungry 10 yr old boys and nothing planned. I frantically searched and found your recipe. I had to substitute frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes, but it seemed to work out just fine. The boys loved it with ketchup, i ate it with salsa. Very good! Oh, and by the way, the boys got a big kick out of the name! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      I love this 'mess'. I make do it as a make ahead too, for busy mornings. The only changes I make are that I use Jimmy Dean's reduced fat sausage, 2 whole eggs and 8 egg whites, and 2% shredded cheddar to protect my 'girlish figure'. Excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      I made this for breakfast on New Year's Day. A total hit with me and my family. I chopped the bell pepper and onion so my kids wouldn't notice they were eating them. That is the only alteration I made. I served this "mess" with Bergy's biscuits. Very, very delicious. Thanks Jeff (aka Puddles) ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      We had this for dinner last night and it was wonderful. I cut it back so make just a couple servings and we thoroughly enjoyed every bite. Instead of sausage, I used some diced up ham. I made this for Jeffie's Cook-a-thon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      This is a dandy little dish! We loved it! I diced the taters, and boiled them for a bit, browned up homemade breakfast sausage, and threw it all together in a skillet...Couldn't be easier...or...tastier!! Big 5* Winner, Jeff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Baked the potatoes in the morning and made this for dinner. Yummy. Husband loved it. I got to have the leftovers rewarmed for breakfast the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Jeffie, I know you stole this recipe from Skip but I'll give you credit anyway...lol. This is such a versitile recipe..great for a breakfast or brunch. love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Made this using Canadian Bacon and of course adding all the rest of the things I love this was a hit for sure. Loved it. This would make good Breakfast, lunch or dinner for me. One of those any time meals. This is a Keeper. Thanks for printing it Jeff and thumbs up on your recouperation! You're in our thoughts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      A perfect 5 stars for this one! Most of the precooking and chopping can be done ahead of time for a quick but fabulous breakfast. I like a sprinkle of parmesan cheese over the top as well. I may try with ham next time. Thank you Jeffie for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. I make something very close to this recipe. I do not use seasoned salt or sharp cheddar. I make homefries, fry onions, green peppers, & sausage, and scramble my eggs. I freeze all of these seprate once frozen I combine them together and heat when ready to serve. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Served this dish for a birthday brunch and it was delish. We served the sausage on the side, along with bacon and ham for guests choice of meat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      Jeff, ingredients & flavor very similar to my recipe for German Farmer's Breakfast (#120363)- I never thought of using the broiler though. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      Hi Jeff, I made this for brunch today for my family, and it was a big hit, I actually prepared two recipes of this as I had lots of hungy mouths to feed. I had my cooked poatoes ready the night before, and made just as directed. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe Jeff, I will be making this again...Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      Jeff...great posting. I made a few modifications, but followed yours the rest of the way. I used broiled bacon instead of sausage, broke recipe down for two of us using 3 eggs and after cooking everything in the skillet, I placed mixture in individual crock and topped with cheese brfore broiling. Hubby and I gobbled these up. Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2004

      We have been making this exact recipe for over 8 years, only we call it "camp slop"...great name, eh? LOL...Dave always makes this over the fire for breakfast when we go camping, hence the name. We just toss whatever we have in the pan as well -- this is really good with very finely chopped fresh jalapenos and served with Frank's Hot Sauce! The only thing I do differently is to skip the broiler step -- I just put a lid on top of the pan and heat until the cheese melts. Thanks, Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Mess

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1056.8
     
    Calories from Fat 631
    59%
    Total Fat 70.1 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 29.8 g
    149%
    Cholesterol 562.9 mg
    187%
    Sodium 1423.4 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 48.5 g
    97%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    season salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites