14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great one to get ready when you have a busy morning, just pop it in the oven & get on with your chores. Both DH & I enjoyed this, I only used a little butter on top & it was still fine. I only used one type of cheese, a bitey vintage and I think that's the key to this, you must use a cheese with some bite otherwise it wouldn't taste as good. Made for ZWT 4.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** June 08, 2008

Karen, I made a double batch of this recipe for girls weekend and it was devoured! I did add a little crumbled sausage on one layer and a few chopped onions, but other wise made as written. This was TERRIFIC! Don't skip the corn flakes, as they really lend a great crunch, though I only had to use about 1/2 the amount of cornflakes as the casserole was full. :) This will be made and enjoyed many more times. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ July 31, 2007

This was delicious, easy to make too! Most of the work gets done the night before so in the morning you just throw the topping on and bake. It was a really good blend of saltiness from the ham, cheesy and creamy and the cornflakes gave it a nice crunch. I did have to make some substitutions due to my family's health concerns. I used wheat bread, canadian bacon, low fat cheeses, 1/2cup of Eggbeaters and skim milk. I decreased the cornflakes to 1 cup and used light margarine. Sounds like a lot,but really only minor changes from the original ingredients. If anyone else wants to make this but are concerned about the nutritional fact...the substitutions I used cut the calories down to 300, the saturated fat down to 3g and the total fat down to 8g. Cholesterol was lowered to 34mg(!)and sodium to 985. Carbs was also lowered to 28g. Who says you have to sacrifice the good stuff to eat healthier? Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing March 17, 2007

This was a very nice breakfast! I may toast the bread next time so it's not quite as soggy- but overall the taste is wonderful- LOVED the cheese combo!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 07, 2011

Wasn't the biggest fan of the bread tasting mushy, and my kids didn't seem to enjoy it so much either. However, I didn't have enough bread to use, so for one side of the dish, I used those Orowheat sandwich thins, thinking this would also help with calorie count. I liked this much better as it stayed a little firmer. Also didn't use the melted butter on the cornflakes, didn't miss it as the seasonings were spot on. Thanks for a great base recipe, but as written, didn't enjoy it too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessiethebestie October 09, 2013

Made half a recipe for the two of us and was very good. I made it this morning and let it sit for 2 hours then baked. I did toast the bread first. Loved the little onion flavor with the cheeses. Just realized I forgot the corn flakes-- next time I'll remember.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 04, 2011

The combination of American and Swiss cheese was excellent with this dish. DH raved and is looking forward to leftovers tomorrow morning. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k July 11, 2008

Here's an ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL breakfast! I used a very dense winter-wheat bread for this dish, then followed the ingredients & directions given! Another time I want to follow little wing's suggestions for lowering the calories, etc, but, just the way it is, you've got a winner of a recipe! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed in the Family Picks part of Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 05, 2008

ZWT4: Made this for our 4th of July brunch!! Delicious change of pace!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose July 05, 2008

I made this for a brunch I was giving. I prepared it the night before, which made it nice and easy. It had a nice flavor and was very filling. The only thing I didn't like was that the bread got soggy. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 30, 2008
Breakfast Lasagna