Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast in a Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast in a Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      I knew this would be great and it was! What a clever idea, I never thought to make a breakfast overnight, my parents were just here visiting and i made this, we woke up to the most delicious smelling house and I didn't have to do a thing but dish it up! I will make this alot I am sure, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      The reviews were right in saying the smell in the house is wonderful and how easy and convenient this recipe is. However, it was not as creamy or smooth as I anticipated. Maybe this was due to the skim milk used instead of cream. Will try again and will add either a can of cream of mushroom soup, or whipping cream instead of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2002

      This sounded so good and easy I had to try it for Thanksgiving morning. I made half the recipe using some wonderful glazed ham we had just had for dinner. I had pre-chopped the onions and peppers and thawed the hashbrowns so it took no time at all to assemble. Unfortunately it was not done the next morning (11 hours) so I had to pop it into a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes until the eggs were set. I think the low setting is just too low on my ancient crockpot. Next time I'll set it to medium and see how it goes. It was delicious and enjoyed by all! I may add green chiles instead of the bell peppers next time and serve with tortillas. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      I made this for Thanksgiving morning. It was awesome. Who has time to make breakfast with all of the other things you are busy with. I didn't start this untill about 1:00am and we were ready to go at about 9:30. The smell was wonderful!! Thanks for a great way to start the day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      I have made this 3 times now and the only adjustment I made was to cut back on the hash browns a little. This is a wonderful breakfast for the busy mornings!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      I served this for breakfast on Christmas Day & it was a BIG hit!! Personally, I thought it had a really odd texture. But the flavour (and the aroma) were incredible!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      Sorry I'm so late with the review. We had this Christmas morning and the family really enjoyed it. I used the shredded hash browns - think I would prefer the little cube ones next time. I think this will be our Christmas breakfast again next year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      i tried this again, only cooked it in the oven-350 degs for 50-55 min. i also added some oregano, basil, and parsley, it turned out terrific-smelled, tasted, and looked wonderful. would still like to get the crock pot time figured out for future use. i think this is our new christmas breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2004

      A very convenient way to prepare a company breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      The wonderful part about this recipe is the simple preparation and the fact that I can get up in the morning and have a hot breakfast to serve immediately. This was quite dry and I plan to add something like a cream soup to it next time. It's appearance is unattractive and unappetizing, but the taste is great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      I cooked this for 12 hours on low and it was wonderful. Great for breakfast through out the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Maybe I just didn't do it right somehow but this did NOT turn out well at all. It burned slightly, even on low for ten hours, didn't make the house smell that spiffy and the taste was really bland. It's a great idea, but this just didn't work out at all for me or my hubby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Made this for a family brunch. Overall flavor was good, but something was lacking. It did make the house smell wonderful and was a great smell to wake up to. Loved the fact that all the prep was done the morning before. Thanks for the recipe. (Also, don't peek at it as it dries it out a bit.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I found this recipe online when looking for a weight watcher friendly recipe for some ladies coming to a weekend retreat. I figured I would post it to help others and found that it already existed on this site. The only difference I saw on the other site was to make sure you spray the crockpot well with cooking oil before assembling ingredients. I thought some might also want to know that it is only 6 points per serving...with the lean ham, that is. I am a little afraid to make it for the retreat with the mixed reviews, but definately think using the diced frozen potatoes would help eliminate the hashbrown's disappearing act. You could even buy the ones that already have onions and peppers mixed in to save time. If you don't care about the Weight Watcher point value, try using whole milk or half and half, Owen's sausage in the Hot variety (does not seem hot when mixed in a breakfast casserole) and use shredded sharp cheddar...also try a seasoned salt mixed with the potatoes and also in the egg mixture. Keep in mind that when you take the lid off a crockpot during cooking, it takes 20 minutes to regain the heat and increases the cooking time. Resist the urge to peek unless it smells like it's burning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      This wasn't horrible, but lacking. The taste is very bland. May make again but with some changes. Next time may use sour cream, more cheese. Good in theory, but definitely needs adjustment. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      I put this in my crockpot on low at 8:30 pm in the evening. At 2:30 am checked on it and it had already started to burn about 1 inch into the mixture all the way around and scorched the bottom. So it takes far less than the 10 -12 hours. Omitted the green pepper as I don't care for them, but added extra onion. I found it to be very bland. Would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      i thought it was bad!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      Yuck! I really tried to like it, after reading the reviews I added diced potatoes, some sausage, and 1 tsp of seasoned pepper. It wasn't the flavor it was the consistency, almost like tapioca(which I like), this gave me the creepy crawlies chewing and swallowing, and our boys wouldn't touch it due to the appearance. Sorry Audrey M!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This recipe was ok, but I didn't get as excited about it as some of the other reviewers because I felt it was a bit over cooked. Not burnt just over cooked. Eggs have a certain consistency when they have been over cooked that I am not too fond of. Also the potatoes were complete mush as a result of the long cooking time. I guess the point I am trying to make is that I think 10 hours is too long to cook this dish in the crock pot. It should either be cooked less or cooked like a casserole in the oven. The taste was good, but the consistency of the ingredients left something to be desired. But that is just my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      This recipe was good, but not really what i had expected it to be. The flavor was a lot more bland than i thought and i didn't expect the hashbrowns to "disappear" into the mixture when fully cooked. But i do think this recipe is filled with promise! For personal preference i would add a more flavorful meat...maybe sausage or bacon(chorizo would be delicious in it)and maybe more cheese. My husband and i also thought that adding a layer of thinly sliced potatoes instead of the hasbrowns would give the casserole more texture. And i did replace the milk with cream of mushroom soup as some reviews had suggested which did seem to make it creamier. The smell was absolutely wonderful and i do plan on making this again...thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast in a Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (217 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 351.2
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    48%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 232.2 mg
    77%
    Sodium 867.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 20.4 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes