24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I knew this would be great and it was! What a clever idea, I never thought to make a breakfast overnight, my parents were just here visiting and i made this, we woke up to the most delicious smelling house and I didn't have to do a thing but dish it up! I will make this alot I am sure, thanks so much!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna November 17, 2002

The reviews were right in saying the smell in the house is wonderful and how easy and convenient this recipe is. However, it was not as creamy or smooth as I anticipated. Maybe this was due to the skim milk used instead of cream. Will try again and will add either a can of cream of mushroom soup, or whipping cream instead of milk.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl Woodall December 08, 2002

This sounded so good and easy I had to try it for Thanksgiving morning. I made half the recipe using some wonderful glazed ham we had just had for dinner. I had pre-chopped the onions and peppers and thawed the hashbrowns so it took no time at all to assemble. Unfortunately it was not done the next morning (11 hours) so I had to pop it into a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes until the eggs were set. I think the low setting is just too low on my ancient crockpot. Next time I'll set it to medium and see how it goes. It was delicious and enjoyed by all! I may add green chiles instead of the bell peppers next time and serve with tortillas. YUM!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C November 30, 2002

I made this for Thanksgiving morning. It was awesome. Who has time to make breakfast with all of the other things you are busy with. I didn't start this untill about 1:00am and we were ready to go at about 9:30. The smell was wonderful!! Thanks for a great way to start the day!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom of 4 December 02, 2002

I have made this 3 times now and the only adjustment I made was to cut back on the hash browns a little. This is a wonderful breakfast for the busy mornings!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson December 26, 2002

I served this for breakfast on Christmas Day & it was a BIG hit!! Personally, I thought it had a really odd texture. But the flavour (and the aroma) were incredible!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb February 04, 2003

Sorry I'm so late with the review. We had this Christmas morning and the family really enjoyed it. I used the shredded hash browns - think I would prefer the little cube ones next time. I think this will be our Christmas breakfast again next year.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley2 April 29, 2003

i tried this again, only cooked it in the oven-350 degs for 50-55 min. i also added some oregano, basil, and parsley, it turned out terrific-smelled, tasted, and looked wonderful. would still like to get the crock pot time figured out for future use. i think this is our new christmas breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan R January 30, 2004

A very convenient way to prepare a company breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 January 22, 2004

The wonderful part about this recipe is the simple preparation and the fact that I can get up in the morning and have a hot breakfast to serve immediately. This was quite dry and I plan to add something like a cream soup to it next time. It's appearance is unattractive and unappetizing, but the taste is great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne48 December 30, 2002
Breakfast in a Crock Pot