Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Couscous

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2013

      It is pretty good, but the recipe is lacking in instructions as to what to do with the vanilla, raisins, and maple syrup. I just added them during the process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      A great, fast breakfast for kids and grown-ups! It was a tiny bit soupy, but I think I like it better that way than if it was too dry. It reminds me a bit of rice pudding-- but I like the couscous better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This was really good. I discovered that I didn't like couscous after buying a rather large bag and it had been torture using it up until I found this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      It was delicious, but I had the same problem that Mandy from Oz did, although I didn't use a microwave....the couscous didn't absorb as well as I had expected. Otherwise it would have been a five star! Thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I really enjoyed this. My changes included no raisins (didn't have and don't like them anyway). Brought this to work and when I reheated it added a half of sliced banana and about a T. of chopped walnuts. Thank you for helping me find another use for the whole wheat couscous I bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      A lovely simple brekky, a great alternative to porridge. I heated my milk etc in the microwave and my couscous didn't absorb as well as I expected, maybe I should have had the milk a bit hotter, but this tasted yummy with dried blueberries and cranberries. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Easy and tasty - I agree with Shelleyred - not enough! I made this with raw goat milk from my own goat. very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      My toddler loved this! I doubled the recipe and still did not have enough. He ate two bowls. I didn't have any syrup so I used honey instead and it turned out great. It was also very quick compared to most hot cereals. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      This was very good and provides a nice alternative to oatmeal which I'm not a huge fan of. Like others who have posted comments I initially thought the serving size was a little small, but in reality I found that the serving size posted was just enough to satisfy. I didn't have any maple syrup so I used honey instead. Looking at the recipe it appears I also forgot to sprinkle with cinnamon but it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was nice. Never thought to use couscous for breakfast, but I gave it a try. This was enough for one person but might double it next time. Thanks Mr. L.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

    • on July 06, 2007

      I thought this was delicious. For one serving I used 1/4 cup of dry couscous and halved the amount of maple syrup & vanilla to suit my tastes. This recipe is a great idea for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      This was very tasty! I used skim milk and Mrs. Butterworth's syrup with butter. Added a little fresh ground nutmeg along with the cinnamon and had a wonderful breakfast on a cold rainy day. Thank you Mr. Ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      I thought this was great. I substituted honey for syrup (although I think I will try that next time), and sliced canned peaches for the raisins (about 1/4 cup diced). It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      I was looking for an easy couscous-based snack last night and found this... it was incredibly easy and yummy too! I didn't have any raisins but I put in some slivered almonds, and they worked well. This recipe definitely only makes one serving, though. Also good with some brown sugar mixed in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Enjoyed this as I love couscous. Being unsure about the amount of couscous, I used 1/4 cup and this worked fine for me. I found though that it only served 1....LOL Maybe I am a big eater...LOL :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    97%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 10.0 g
    40%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites