18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was surprised at how tasty these were, because it is such a non-traditional recipe. I had about 1/2 cup prune baby food, so I added about 1/2 cup applesauce to make up for that. I also halved the sugar, and it was still plenty sweet. I gave one to my toddler son as soon as it cooled and he snarfed it down! It yielded a little over 3 dozen for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucky ladybug February 19, 2011

These are very dense, more like a bar than a cookie. I added flax seed, dates, almonds, ginger, and subbed coconut oil for the canola. I used 2 whole eggs, and 2 egg whites. I also added 1/4 cup milk to make the dough more moist. This recipe makes a LOT, so I froze some. As a previous reviewer said, you have to use damp hands to flatten, as this is a very sticky dough ( must be the prunes). Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali March 24, 2009

I love these! I have made them a few times already, and they are just wonderful. The "flatten with wet hands" is an important step! I have made them as directed, and with changes, I usually sub flax seed for 1/2c flour, and I use 1/2c chopped, dried mixed fruit. I also use prune baby food in place of the prune puree (usually one container = 1/4 cup). These are really great in the morning, I'll pop one in the toaster oven while I'm getting ready, and they are warm and delicious to take with me. Thank you for a wonderful, and healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
@ home in SF Bay March 14, 2009

How do you get a sleepy kid out of bed? Tell them you made cookies for breakfast. I made these a few weeks ago to put in the freezer for DD's breakfasts. I did make a few changes. I'm trying to put pounds on my girl with high protein and fiber. I can't use nuts and I'm hoping to find sunflower seeds that I can use in place of the walnuts. I used 3 whole eggs and didn't use a fruit. I used chocolate chips. (I know...but I knew she's eat them.) I also left out the cinnamon. I used the baby prunes but when I measured it out it was 1 1/2 boxes. Next time I will add more to see if I can get more fruit in with out it being noticed. I baked these for 8 minutes and put them into the freezer in 3 batches. About a week later I pulled out the first batch and they froze very well. DH loves them and we are into our third batch. DD's favorite way to eat these is to put them into a bowl with a tiny bit of milk. DH and DD are eating them every day. I know I will be making a lot of these. Thanks for a recipe that gave me something to feed my family for breakfast. I will try other dried fruits in place of the chocolate chips if I can get away with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster January 20, 2009

I really love these Susan. They are so good and filling and the best part is how healthy they are for you so you don't have to feel the least bit guilty. I used splenda brown sugar and that was about it as far as deviating from your recipe. I used raisins and opted for no walnuts. These would be a great addition though. Any type of dried fruit would work well I"m sure. I also added 1 t. of flax meal just to up the health portion. Oh and I cut the recipe in 1/2, but now I"m sorry I did. No worries, next time I"ll know better. Made for Sept. 08's Breakfast Photochallenge~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB September 07, 2008

Tasty and filling. I followed some other reviewers' advice and did reduce the flour, add flax seed, use half white/wheat, and used applesauce, and 3 whole eggs. I chopped apricots AND used raisins - yummy.I also added about a tsp of nutmeg. (personal preference) I found that i had to form the cookie balls with my hands as the dough was a tiny bit crumbly -but still moist! I made some big and some small and got about 36 cookies. Also, i used the bottom of a glass dipped in water to flatten since i had my toddler 'helping' and couldn't have my hands all gummy. Great cookie for on the go, and anytime - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P April 04, 2008

I just made these for my three children. Yuck! I followed the recipe exactly (not like the other reviewers who made changes). They're like eating cardboard. I am throwing this recipe away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen.wolfe November 25, 2007

I used applesauce instead of prune puree and used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. My kids love them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
remily September 19, 2007

These were more like all day long cookies than breakfast cookies at my house, although I don't think they lasted a whole day. I did go ahead and use whole eggs and I used applesauce instead of prune puree. I think I left the nuts out -- can't remember. I do remember these were good, easy and they disappeared. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy July 05, 2007

These were delicious. I did double the amount of prune puree then the mixture was moist enough to stay together. Everyone that tried these loved them! Agreat breakfast alternative for kids who don't like breakfast food. I served it to my 11 year old along with a yogurt/fruit smoothie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef#jack439 January 26, 2007
Breakfast Cookies