26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my new favorite breakfast casserole and I can't wait to make it for my family during the holidays! I already had some sausage cooked up (about 10 oz.) so I baked the tater tots according to package directions and then assembled the casserole. I used a sausage flavored country gravy mix and substituted milk for the water. I'm sure I was a little heavy-handed with the cheese but I love it. ;) This is a fantastic casserole! Thanks for sharing, Shuzbud. ***Made for PRMR***

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 November 07, 2010

Quick to assemble, easy and delish--I love it! I made it for a brunch for 12 so I tripled the recipe using one 13 x 9 pan and one 8 x 8. It was a great hearty meal served with toast and fresh fruit, and everyone from the toddlers to the adults gobbled it up. I used turkey sausage and about 1 1/2 c total 2% cheddar cheese. The only complaint I have is that the recipe took longer to bake than stated here, which I expected from the larger pan but not from the 8 x 8. They were both in the oven for about an hour. I can see adding all sorts of goodies to this, like mushrooms or onions or peppers...and I know I will make it again to give that a try! Thanks, Shuzbud, for giving us a great recipe for DD's christening brunch! Made for PRMR.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian November 29, 2010

Well I will gladly add another 5 star review!!! I used the mini tater tots and scaled it back to half the recipe and I did add some minced onion, but otherwise followed as written. I thought I would need to add salt and pepper once it was cooked, but glad to report that I didn't need to do so!! I took two small pieces, but one was all I needed, it is a great filling breakfast and so full of flavor!! Thanks for sharing a recipe I think my family will really enjoy!!! Made for PRMR Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 20, 2010

Absolutely delicious -- I agree with everyone else that this is a 5-star recipe! Other than adding a tbsp. of minced onion, I made it exactly as written. We had it for brunch and there were no leftovers for sure! The country gravy really added a creamy taste to this casserole. It was so good that my son said "Mom, you know when you ask me is there anything I want to have for dinner this week? Well, you don't have to ask me anymore, because I want this." Great recipe, Shuzbud. Thanks for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 15, 2010

This was good and easy to make. I followed the others and used milk instead of water. I also didn't measure my cheese- just dumped it in. We all enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 22, 2010

Real comfort food and very easy to prepare. Perfect for a rainy weekend morning. I took the recommendation of another review and substituted milk for the water. Thanks for posting. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms April 22, 2010

Absolutely love this breakfast casserole. Doubled the recipe, and my kids that don't normally like to eat breakfast were going back for more! They have even requested it for dinner. So glad you shared your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef March 19, 2010

Excellent!! This was sooo good! Made for our weekly breakfast for dinner and it was a hit with everyone. Made with honey maple flavored sausage so it would not be too spicy for DS's. Used milk with the gravy rather than water and used the same gravy the recipe came from (coincidence)Will definately make again. Made for PRMR March 10'.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH March 18, 2010

*Deliciously wonderful* stick to your ribs breakfast! The addition of the gravy puts a normal casserole over the top. Made as written with a couple of adjustments, added a small chopped onion to the sausage and used 2 cups of milk instead of water for the gravy. Also mixed shredded cheese with the gravy, egg mixture. My friend commented that this is now her favorite breakfast casserole. A keeper recipe saved in my breakfast cookbook. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 February 14, 2010

This recipe made it into our Book #242923! 06/14/09 - *UPDATE* We've made this scrumptious treat several times, but made a small change. We now use 2% milk in place of the water and it adds a wonderful creaminess to this recipe. :) We've also used american cheese slices on top too, and sometimes mixed the shredded cheese in with the milk/gravy! 5/9/09 *AWESOME* Recipe! We all loved it made exactly as directed. We would suggest spraying the pan with nonstick cooking spray first. A definite keeper, thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 30, 2009
Breakfast Casserole Seasoned With Country Gravy