Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2002

      My whole family loved this. That doesn't happen too often. I used sausage but will try the bacon next time. I will be doing this for Christmas morning Can't wait to have it again! Fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      This is soooo good! We've made it twice, the first time, exactly as mentioned above, although we used spicey sausage. It was even better the second time, I added 1/2 cup chunky salsa, and only 2 1/2 cups milk. I think you could even fancy it up a bit by adding swiss cheese & instead of bacon & sausage, just add sauted canadian bacon, I would also and onion. I think I will try this version next saturday. Thanks for a recipe that is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Perfect for Christmas morning! I prepared this the day before and increased the sausage to 1 pound. Only used 2 cups milk, as was suggested by others. Refrigerated overnight and then put it in a cold oven and increased the cooking time to 60 minutes. It was ready just as we finished opening presents. One lesson I learned the hard way, should you find yourself in this situation: My casserole dish was 11x7, so slightly smaller than suggested and my casserole filled it to the brim. This did not seem like a big deal until I was summoned to the kitchen by the smoke detector---the juices were overflowing the dish and burning on the bottom of my oven! Duh! Next time I will put a cookie sheet under the pan to catch the overflow. Had to clean the oven before I cooked the ham in the afternoon. Regardless, breakfast was delish! At hubby's request, I will try this with chorizo next time. Oh, and there WILL be a next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      Made on Christmas Eve night and popped in oven Christmas morning. Very quick! I will add more bacon and/or sausage next time, but excellent recipe! Thanks, S Sneed

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I honestly didn't care for this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was bland. I am going to try a different recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Wonderful! I am now the favorite Grandma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Wow!! Normally I try a new recipe and have to think about it for a while, before I get around to reviewing it. This is the first time I have ever reviewed it as I am eating it. We loved it and I will make it again real soon!! I am not sure if it was my oven or the amount of milk, but it did need to be over an hour in the oven. But once it was done this casserole was fluffy and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, using 1% milk and turkey sausage with the bacon etc.. Thank you RecipeNut, great contribution! I plan to use this one more often than just New Years or Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Good stuff! I used cubed bread that they sell for stuffing (unseasoned) in lieu of having to cube my own bread, and skim milk because its the only stuff we have on hand. Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Wonderful! I used all sausage (I didn't have any bacon), 2 cups of whole milk and baked it a little longer than an hour. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      This was easy and delicious - made it on a Friday night and cooked it the following morning for a late weekend breakfast. I used about half the recommended "dose" of dry mustard and it was just enough to hint but not overpower. I also was afraid the bacon and sausage would be too much "meat," but it was a great blend of flavors and not one thing overpowered the other. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      darlene made this for easter breakfast april 15 2001 used ham can use bell peppers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I used 4 slices of bread and 4 eggs for serving of 6, but used the rest of the recipe exactly and it came out great! Oh, I also added some hot sauce for heat and it was so good. Only took 45 minutes in my oven. Would definitely make again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I thought this was good and a perfect way to make breakfast for Christmas morning. I only used 2 cups of milk as 3 just seemed like way too much to me. I baked in a 13x9 pan and used 6 slices of bread to cover the bottom but I kept all other ingredients the same measurements. Also used chorizo sausage for an extra kick. My youngest didn't enjoy the dish but the other three of us thought it was fantastic. We will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      This was just ok, I think it was a textural problem, I usually make casseroles like this using potatoes and I like them better. I used less milk and cooked it for the maximum time and let it sit while I made english muffins and the texture was still very mushy, the taste was fine though but I think I will stick to potato based breakfast casseroles, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This was fast and easy! Next time I think I'm going to use a little less milk. Also make sure you let it sit a few minutes before you serve. Thats a duh, but a mistake I still made. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This is our second strata-type supper of the week, and both were excellent. This one is simple and easy, intended to be made in advance, and delicious coming out of the oven. We put it in a cold oven coming out of the fridge, and had to add about 7 minutes to cooking time as a result. Yummy! Made for OZ/NZ Swap #22, Nov. 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I have made this several times, however have somehow forgotten to rate it. This is by far one of my favorite things to make for Sunday breakfast. It's a fun recipe to "play" with. I've added onions, broccoli and peppers. Sometimes I have foregone the meat entirely. But evertime it turns out yummy. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This was actually very good!! Although I think next time I will use all Bacon. I made this sat. night for Sunday breakfast the next morning. I put it in the oven, got the kids and I ready 4 church and viola!! perfecto! a lil time consuming the night before but very well worth the time it saved me on Sunday as well as leftovers froze well and where served throughout the week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      This was a super easy recipe. My stepmom said that she has an almost idential recipe. But, she subs the bread for garlic croutons. I used 2 1/2 cups of skim milk and the last cup was 1/2 cup of whole milk (becasue I ran out). My stepmom said just that little bit of whole milk made the entire dish creamier. I agree. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This is REALLY good! I have made this 3 times now and it never disappoints... it fact I never have any leftovers, its gone in a snap! I followed the recipe exactly and baked it with the lid on and it came out a bit runny, so next time I will be sure to leave it off. Thank you RecipeNut for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.7
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    64%
    Total Fat 39.8 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 268.5 mg
    89%
    Sodium 1023.9 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites