39 Reviews

My whole family loved this. That doesn't happen too often. I used sausage but will try the bacon next time. I will be doing this for Christmas morning Can't wait to have it again! Fabulous!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAULAJEAN December 05, 2002

This is soooo good! We've made it twice, the first time, exactly as mentioned above, although we used spicey sausage. It was even better the second time, I added 1/2 cup chunky salsa, and only 2 1/2 cups milk. I think you could even fancy it up a bit by adding swiss cheese & instead of bacon & sausage, just add sauted canadian bacon, I would also and onion. I think I will try this version next saturday. Thanks for a recipe that is a keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorri Nichols June 15, 2003

Perfect for Christmas morning! I prepared this the day before and increased the sausage to 1 pound. Only used 2 cups milk, as was suggested by others. Refrigerated overnight and then put it in a cold oven and increased the cooking time to 60 minutes. It was ready just as we finished opening presents. One lesson I learned the hard way, should you find yourself in this situation: My casserole dish was 11x7, so slightly smaller than suggested and my casserole filled it to the brim. This did not seem like a big deal until I was summoned to the kitchen by the smoke detector---the juices were overflowing the dish and burning on the bottom of my oven! Duh! Next time I will put a cookie sheet under the pan to catch the overflow. Had to clean the oven before I cooked the ham in the afternoon. Regardless, breakfast was delish! At hubby's request, I will try this with chorizo next time. Oh, and there WILL be a next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodi7 December 26, 2009

Made on Christmas Eve night and popped in oven Christmas morning. Very quick! I will add more bacon and/or sausage next time, but excellent recipe! Thanks, S Sneed

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spring Sneed December 25, 2003

This was perfect for Christmas morning. It was tasty and light and very easy to pull together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ennoia December 29, 2014

I honestly didn't care for this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was bland. I am going to try a different recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3boys1girlmama December 25, 2012

Wonderful! I am now the favorite Grandma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestocook #6 January 28, 2011

Wow!! Normally I try a new recipe and have to think about it for a while, before I get around to reviewing it. This is the first time I have ever reviewed it as I am eating it. We loved it and I will make it again real soon!! I am not sure if it was my oven or the amount of milk, but it did need to be over an hour in the oven. But once it was done this casserole was fluffy and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, using 1% milk and turkey sausage with the bacon etc.. Thank you RecipeNut, great contribution! I plan to use this one more often than just New Years or Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammieV January 01, 2011

Good stuff! I used cubed bread that they sell for stuffing (unseasoned) in lieu of having to cube my own bread, and skim milk because its the only stuff we have on hand. Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie Dangerous January 04, 2010

Wonderful! I used all sausage (I didn't have any bacon), 2 cups of whole milk and baked it a little longer than an hour. It was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PCrocker December 28, 2009
Breakfast Casserole