24 Reviews

I halved the flour and replaced the milk with whipping cream for my low carb diet. I froze leftovers and use them for an easy and quick low carb breakfast. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyp382 May 27, 2013

You've got yourself a winner with this recipe! I don't care for mushrooms so I left them out and added extra sausage (16 oz instead of 8). I had 4 cups of mozzarella and 2 of cheddar so that's what I used for cheese. I love the red peppers, they give the perfect flavor without overwhelming everything. Thanks for posting, I'll be using this a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two September 19, 2011

This recipe is AWESOME! I've made it several times now and each time I change it up a bit. I get rave reviews each time I make it. One thing I always do is also sauteed white or yellow onion with the mushrooms and peppers. (I also only use fresh mushrooms) I buy the pre-cooked Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles and it tastes GREAT! I made this for the teachers at my daughters school and I've had to make copies of the recipe for ALL of them. Super yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OglesbyFam June 15, 2011

This easy and versatile crustless quiche is a welcome addition to my repertoire. I substituted yellow onion for green and omitted the mushrooms for DH. I added some smoked paprika, black pepper and salt. I also halved the recipe. It took 35 minutes in a 9" square dish. I thought it was a bit oily, so next time I will omit the melted butter and just spray the top with cooking spray to get that beautifully browned look. I will also jazz it up with some fresh herbs in addition to the parsley. Great recipe, as the opportunities for variation are endless.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SassyStew August 30, 2007

Are you eating LCHF? This recipe is NOT low-carb. There is half a cup white flour in it! BIG NO-NO!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki macy October 30, 2015

This was a very tasty breakfast casserole. So yummy and cheesy. It was so flavorsome. My DH said make this again soon. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn June 08, 2011

This was fabulous! I halved the recipe and used our Christmas ham. So cheesy! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'd rather be on a road trip! December 26, 2009

I made this recipe for a brunch party & it was delicious! Instead of cooking the veggies in butter, I sauteed them in olive oil & added a little salt & pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjcarney September 23, 2009

This was a great recipe! I read so many reviews of people suggesting tomatoes as an addition for NEXT time... so I decided to take the leap of faith and add them this time! I pureed the mushrooms and ham in the blender, and then pureed a can of stewed tomatoes and cooked them with the other veggies on med/high all together until thick (about 15 mins) - a definite keeper! Though, I think next time I may cut the cheese in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene February 28, 2008

We made this for a girl's weekend at the beach. I forgot the red peppers at home, so we made it without it. Also we used fresh mushrooms and just cooked them with the onions. Everyone loved it!!! It was very easy to make - perfect for a relaxing morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karimoss February 11, 2008
Breakfast Casserole