10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was pretty good. I left out the sausage as I was using this as a side dish for our steak supper. I also used cream of mushroom soup. Even though I browned my potatoes they still were a little mushier then I preferred. Still it was pretty good and so easy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 August 13, 2010

I gave this recipe 5 stars. My future hubby and I loved this casserole! My picky 7 yr old newphew didn't but he don't like casseroles. I was so happy to find this recipe as I had a can of potato soup to use up. I made 1 minor change to the recipe I used Mexican blend cheese. I went with the sausage and used Bob Evans sage sausage. I wasn't sure what to do with the Velveeta so I cubed it very small. When it comes to cooking the potatoes I used maybe a pound of frozen hash browns. As to cooking them mine took forever to cook down. I didn't find out much onion to add to the potatoes and I was out so I used a couple tablespoons of dried onions. Overall this was so good and I'll make this again for sure. Thanks for posting a great recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut January 02, 2010

This earned rave reviews from my family! It was very tasty and so quick and easy to put together!! I used sausage and shredded, seasoned hash browns, but left out the salt and pepper. Thanks for a winning recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream November 26, 2007

This turned out very well for me. Changed a few things. Left out the potato soup. Instead of 3 eggs I used 7. To the egg mixture I added 2 or 3 tbl. of chives and a 1/4 cup of cream and 1/4 can of cream of mushroom soup. Instead of hash browns and onion I used frozen hash brown potatoes O'Brian browned in 1/4 cup olive oil. After browning potatoes stove top I put them in the casserole dish. Followed by the cooked sausage. Then added the egg mixture and on top sprinkled grated 4 cheese mix about 4 oz. and then one cup of Frenches french fried onions. Baked for 20 min. at 350 degrees. It was WONDERFUL !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ciercee November 27, 2005

I wasn't very excited about how this turned out; I'm sorry to be a "party pooper." The problem was the too-basic directions. In step 4, the directions said "add"... and I did exactly that(ie. didn't stir, just added). I am not the most skillful cook in the first place, and I really can't think early in the morning. I used the shredded potatoes, but I think the cube-style would have been easier to work with, and brown them in something (?). How much onion?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch November 25, 2005

Oh my! This was wonderful! Just add some toast and some orange juice, and what a breakfast! This is easily the best breakfast casserole I have tried. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJones November 07, 2005

We have a Breakfast Bake Sale for United Way at work. I wanted to try something different and this recipe was a big hit. Everyone said they loved it more that any they had ever eaten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish's Dishes November 04, 2005

I think this is the best breakfast casserole I've ever tasted. Browning the hashbrowns first makes all the difference. The potato soup was lovely. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie99 July 12, 2005

had to bake it little longer than said but other than that it was a big hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rev_joe1970 February 08, 2005

Yum! Really enjoyed this. I used chopped up ham for the meat and otherwise made no changes. This was basically a meat and potatoes casserole as there were only 3 eggs for 6 servings. My husband said, "The only thing missing is a cup of coffee." Which he then made and drank with a second serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trisha W December 18, 2004
Breakfast Casserole