Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Burritos for the Freezer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Burritos for the Freezer

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2008

      This should be renamed "Perfect Hang-over Breakfast"! Which is the whole reason I tried it to begin with;) I used 1lb. Bob Evans sausage, 1lb. shredded hashbrowns (cooked well done & crispy), can of chilies, 2 dozen eggs, and about 2 cups of cheese. This amount made 10 8" burritos (whole wheat for DH) and 14 6" smaller ones for me. I decide to skip the bacon and they are still yummy. Even scaled down, it makes quite a bit & it's a reward to our friends in the morning for not drinking and driving the previous nite! thanks for this great one! PS: we microwaved for about 1 min & that was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      New favorite breakfast grab-it-n-run treat! I'm not a breakfast person at all (unless cafe' au lait counts as food:):) but Husband needs his morning meal. I usually keep a quiche handy so he can microwave a slice---but after a while quiche got boring for him. The nice thing about these burritos is, you can make/freeze several varieties all at once, so it's not same-old-same-old every day. A favorite filling for him is what I call the "English breakfast" version, with sauteed mushrooms, chopped tomato, onions, and ham).Thumbs up, Lightly Toasted! (re: reviewers who found them to dry out in microwave---wrap in paper towel and sprinkle a bit of water on it. That should keep them nice and soft).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Well, I have mixed reviews on this one! I made a batch of these for our office & froze them overnight. I don't think they were too frozen by the time I nuked them at work the next morning. Everyone loved them. However, when we had the remainders over the weekend, they were difficult to unwrap after nuking, plus the tortillas were hard. I would suggest making the night before and refrigerating ONLY. They are good, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This is a great idea and they are delicious. Easy for DD to eat in the car on the way to school and saves me from cooking in the morning-or feeling guilty because I didnt! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Easy and Excellent! I used the jimmy dean sausage skillet pre-packaged and added eggs and cheese and omitted the bacon. My husband can take it frozen to work and pop it in the micro. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Exactly what I was looking for. Yummy with a few slices of Kraft Singles cheese in it. I used one can of Mild Rotell, drained, and plenty of salt and pepper. I also add salsa and hot sauce directly to the mixture, instead of each individual burrito. LOVE this with ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I made these for breakfast on vacation in our camper. I wanted something hearty and filling to get us through the day at the parks. These were very good and can be varied in so many ways. I love breakfast burritos so these were perfect. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      These were really good. I altered mine a bit, as my son has an allergy to eggs. I did half just the meat/cheese/potato mixture, and the other half adding the eggs (though just 8, I think) and chilis with the salsa. I ended up with about 10 burritos. I needed to microwave mine for about 2 1/2-3 minutes to reheat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      These were a bit of work but worth it in the long run. We have enjoyed this for a few weekends now. It has been so easy to just pull a couple out of the freezer and enjoy in a few minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Made a batch to take on a weekend camping trip. I froze them beforehand and they freeze well. What a hit, everyone was asking for the recipe. Make sure you have a deep, large pan to cook it in, it makes a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Was worried how these would turn out after freezing and then re-heating, however, that is a non-issue. These are great and easy to grab on the way out the door. Be sure to follow the directions given on cooking the hash browns and try mixing up with your favorite breakfast ingrediants as I did. Trying to keep up with ahealthy lifestyle I used turkey sausage; fat free shredded cheddar; egg beaters; Healthychoice deli ham chopped; fat free tortillas and Pam (as well as onions, etc). Came out great. Made about 15 burritos 2 weeks ago. With two in our house we are down to 3 left. I'll be making another batch soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I skipped the sausage because I didn't have any on hand. Now I realize the sausage provides the flavor and moisture-I will add it in next time! If you decide not to use sausage I suggest you add salt, pepper or other seasonings. I reduced the ingredients to make 18 burritos and found this recipe is very easy to work with. Next time I may skip the potatoes (seemed too dry). My family liked the 1 Tsp. salsa per burrito I added (next time I'll add a little more). When reheating in microwave I found 3 min. WAY too long but 1 to 1 1/2 min seems better.I will make this again because my husband is able to grab one and heat up for breakfast on his way out the door. My family gives this recipe 2 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      It was okay. The idea is good but the potatoes seemed to make it dry and the tortillas were hard even after trying to rotate it halfway thru the cooking time. I'll probably make again but without the potatoes and add some green chilies & peppers to add some moisture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I omitted the bacon since we're not big meat eaters. I agree that the texture is not as great as fresh, but it's worth the convenience. In these days, who couldn't use breakfast on the run?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      It's great to have a high protein breakfast at the ready. The texture isn't as great as a fresh burrito, but the convenience makes it worthwhile. I made 1/3 of the recipe and it filled my 10 inch skillet. I also think if I make these again I'll use more salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      These were really good, mine needed more salsa, I cut the recipe in half and used 3/4 a cup, but next time i'll use more. GREAT RECIPE!! I'll make these alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      First, my husband said these were great tasting, but a little dry. Next tim,e I will add more cheese and omit the green chilles as he said he could not taste those at all. I made them in a 3 quart pot and it all fit perfectly. I did not buy enough 12 inch burritos, so I ended up using 8 - 8 inch and 13 - 12 inch for a total of 21 burritos. I didn't fill them overly, so I'm not sure how I was supposed to get 24 - 12 inch burritos. I'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      These are the perfect answer for those mornings when you want to have something special to offer and time is short. Great to have on hand for weekend company. That they taste terrific and everyone loves them is a bonus. I make half a recipe at a time and do vary the fillings ... sometimes bacon, sometimes ham and always a good low fat sausage. As you can guess this review is long overdue! Thank you for sharing a recipe that my family enjoys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      So good. I just finished a bash and split one with DH. He said excellent. I left out the potatoes and added some tabasco sauce and salt and pepper. Planned on putting in some green onions but I forgot. These will be so great to heat up and eat in the RV when we are on the road.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Ok here’s my take on this great recipe. I modified it a bit too suite my tastes. Here are my modifications, 1# bacon, 1# hot sausage, 1# frozen hash browns, 1 onion chopped, 3 jalapenos chopped, course ground pepper, 1 can extra hot rotell tomatoes drained, 2 cups pepper jack cheese 2 cups sharp cheddar mixed, sour cream. I add the onion to the hash brows. I add the chopped jalapenos and pepper to the eggs and cook. I add the tomatoes after eggs are cooked. I add the cheese after the egg mixture is on the tortilla. I relies this sounds hot but let me assure you it isn’t. We have made these for the Boy Scouts on overnights and there has not been 1 say it’s hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Burritos for the Freezer

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.8
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    36%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 291.6 mg
    97%
    Sodium 989.6 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 20.9 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites