36 Reviews

This should be renamed "Perfect Hang-over Breakfast"! Which is the whole reason I tried it to begin with;) I used 1lb. Bob Evans sausage, 1lb. shredded hashbrowns (cooked well done & crispy), can of chilies, 2 dozen eggs, and about 2 cups of cheese. This amount made 10 8" burritos (whole wheat for DH) and 14 6" smaller ones for me. I decide to skip the bacon and they are still yummy. Even scaled down, it makes quite a bit & it's a reward to our friends in the morning for not drinking and driving the previous nite! thanks for this great one! PS: we microwaved for about 1 min & that was plenty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment June 13, 2008

Well, I have mixed reviews on this one! I made a batch of these for our office & froze them overnight. I don't think they were too frozen by the time I nuked them at work the next morning. Everyone loved them. However, when we had the remainders over the weekend, they were difficult to unwrap after nuking, plus the tortillas were hard. I would suggest making the night before and refrigerating ONLY. They are good, though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Dover April 28, 2010

The amount of egg overwhelms all the other ingredients. To make it more proportionate you'd either need to increase the other amounts or decrease the egg. I like my breakfast burritos more hearty, so this recipe only yielded about have the given amount of servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 23, 2015

New favorite breakfast grab-it-n-run treat! I'm not a breakfast person at all (unless cafe' au lait counts as food:):) but Husband needs his morning meal. I usually keep a quiche handy so he can microwave a slice---but after a while quiche got boring for him. The nice thing about these burritos is, you can make/freeze several varieties all at once, so it's not same-old-same-old every day. A favorite filling for him is what I call the "English breakfast" version, with sauteed mushrooms, chopped tomato, onions, and ham).Thumbs up, Lightly Toasted! (re: reviewers who found them to dry out in microwave---wrap in paper towel and sprinkle a bit of water on it. That should keep them nice and soft).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante March 14, 2014

This is a great idea and they are delicious. Easy for DD to eat in the car on the way to school and saves me from cooking in the morning-or feeling guilty because I didnt! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrivera February 23, 2010

Easy and Excellent! I used the jimmy dean sausage skillet pre-packaged and added eggs and cheese and omitted the bacon. My husband can take it frozen to work and pop it in the micro. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sproutie69 September 25, 2009

Exactly what I was looking for. Yummy with a few slices of Kraft Singles cheese in it. I used one can of Mild Rotell, drained, and plenty of salt and pepper. I also add salsa and hot sauce directly to the mixture, instead of each individual burrito. LOVE this with ham!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! March 08, 2009

I made these for breakfast on vacation in our camper. I wanted something hearty and filling to get us through the day at the parks. These were very good and can be varied in so many ways. I love breakfast burritos so these were perfect. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 02, 2009

These were really good. I altered mine a bit, as my son has an allergy to eggs. I did half just the meat/cheese/potato mixture, and the other half adding the eggs (though just 8, I think) and chilis with the salsa. I ended up with about 10 burritos. I needed to microwave mine for about 2 1/2-3 minutes to reheat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama August 07, 2008

These were a bit of work but worth it in the long run. We have enjoyed this for a few weekends now. It has been so easy to just pull a couple out of the freezer and enjoy in a few minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen1978 November 11, 2007
Breakfast Burritos for the Freezer