Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Barley Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Barley

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2010

      Absolutely loved this recipe! I am always looking for new ways to cook barley, because it is so good for you. I agree with others, only 1/2 cup of raisins are needed...that's plenty. I didn't have a cinnamon stick, so I used ground cinnamon instead. Also, you really need to cook this uncovered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Awesome! This is so good. I made mine with 1/2c dates (1c sounded like a lot). I had no apple juice, so I used mostly water then added some unsweetened applesauce. Still turned out delicious. I'll be making this again soon. I love oatmeal and barley too, so this was the perfect marriage of both. Yum. Next time I'll try it in my slow cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      I wanted a change from oatmeal. I used 1/2 tbsp cinnamon rather than a stick. I used a mix of raisins and dried cranberries. My barley seemed to taker closer to 2 hours to cook. My barley never got very soft and though the flavor deserves 5 stars the texture really bothered me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Tried this with half the raisins, liked it way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Very impressive. Used regular apple juice and 1/2 t of cinnamon. Add 1 Splenda pkt to individual serving and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      too sweet for my taste. I will keep trying to eat barley though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Unlike the other reviewers, I found that it had to be cooked covered for the barley to even remotely begin to absorb the water, and juice. It took closer to 2 hours to be done. I also found the cider flavor to be a little too dominant (and I reduced the amount used to 1.5 cups).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Very delicious, and a great way to include more healthy grains in your diet!! I followed the recipe exactly, but with just 1/2 cup of raisins, in order to lower the calories a bit. I made a double recipe, and it was gone in no time! This recipe is a real keeper - thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This ROCKS!!! The first time I did it, I followed the directions to a T!! But, of course, being lazy and having a lot of gadgets (and being a brown rice freak) I decided to use my rice cooker. Came out GOOD!!! Used 1/4 cup barley, 2 cups water, 1 cup apple juice, 1/2 cup organic brown rice, 1-1/4 cup water, cinnamon, and raisins and put on the brown rice cycle. At the end of that, there was still alot of liquid left, so I put it on the speed/white cycle - Came out great!! I like my brown rice a little bit chewier - so next time, I'll probably just swap the cycles around - all the liquids and barley for a quick cycle, and then add the rice and go for the brown rice cycle - But, for a non-breakfast person - and an oatmeal HATER (unless it's in cookies) I LOOK FORWARD to this for breakfast! Thank you for posting this! I have already sent this to alot of friends! Dgpat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I gave this reipe an "ok", but I must admit I am biased. I am allergic to apples, natures sweetener, so I always look for ways to use something else to make something sweet. Any ideas anyone??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      Love it - what a great breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      I wish I could give this a five... I really tried to love it, but unfortunately I feel it had too much of an apple juice flavor. I did recipe as stated, except I used dried cranberries for the raisins. I will try it again, this time using milk for the juice.. or at least half juice and half milk. That said, I will keep this recipe and I'm sure it will become a regular... just a bit changed for my tastes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Yum. Ok, because I don't like apple juice, I didn't quite make it to recipe as I used skim milk instead of the juices but it was excellent. I used the same liquid quantities and it was perfect. Next time I'm planning on using some juice - just haven't work out which one yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      Excellent. I used cranberry peach juice and ground cinnamon as that is what I had on hand, added a pinch of salt and also baked it covered in the oven. I did cut the amound of juice in half as it is quite sweet. It's so easy to just warm a bowl up in the microwave in the morning. I topped it with some milk and frozen cherry berry blend from Trader Joe's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      This was very good!I used quick-cooking barley, which cooks in about 12 minutes. I topped it with sliced banana and a small sprinkle of sugar.The tang of the lemon juice points up the flavor of the apple juice. I think I will like the leftovers cold, for when I need a snack. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      A very wonderful breakfast meal. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Had this for breakfast this morning. I BAKED it in the oven instead of cooking over the stove (in a casserole, covered). It was very tasty and most filling. Another recipe for my files! Many thanks for this! It's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      This is AWESOME. What a great way to get more whole grains in your diet. It's soooo good; smooth, creamy, chewey and colorful. I had 1/2 cup of this for lunch and it kept me satisfied and going strong until dinner 5 1/2 hours later. I used apple juice and dried cranberries and I suggest adding a pinch of salt. The timing was absolutely perfect when cooked uncovered, just don't forget to stir once in awhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Barley

    Serving Size: 1 (563 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    95%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes