18 Reviews

Absolutely loved this recipe! I am always looking for new ways to cook barley, because it is so good for you. I agree with others, only 1/2 cup of raisins are needed...that's plenty. I didn't have a cinnamon stick, so I used ground cinnamon instead. Also, you really need to cook this uncovered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smagdars January 28, 2010

Awesome! This is so good. I made mine with 1/2c dates (1c sounded like a lot). I had no apple juice, so I used mostly water then added some unsweetened applesauce. Still turned out delicious. I'll be making this again soon. I love oatmeal and barley too, so this was the perfect marriage of both. Yum. Next time I'll try it in my slow cooker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allisinium December 12, 2008

I wanted a change from oatmeal. I used 1/2 tbsp cinnamon rather than a stick. I used a mix of raisins and dried cranberries. My barley seemed to taker closer to 2 hours to cook. My barley never got very soft and though the flavor deserves 5 stars the texture really bothered me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta July 07, 2006

Tried this with half the raisins, liked it way better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LumpyPumpy June 19, 2010

Very impressive. Used regular apple juice and 1/2 t of cinnamon. Add 1 Splenda pkt to individual serving and loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrram00 March 03, 2010

too sweet for my taste. I will keep trying to eat barley though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tedwards59 February 24, 2010

Unlike the other reviewers, I found that it had to be cooked covered for the barley to even remotely begin to absorb the water, and juice. It took closer to 2 hours to be done. I also found the cider flavor to be a little too dominant (and I reduced the amount used to 1.5 cups).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen January 31, 2010

Very delicious, and a great way to include more healthy grains in your diet!! I followed the recipe exactly, but with just 1/2 cup of raisins, in order to lower the calories a bit. I made a double recipe, and it was gone in no time! This recipe is a real keeper - thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debflores September 15, 2009

This ROCKS!!! The first time I did it, I followed the directions to a T!! But, of course, being lazy and having a lot of gadgets (and being a brown rice freak) I decided to use my rice cooker. Came out GOOD!!! Used 1/4 cup barley, 2 cups water, 1 cup apple juice, 1/2 cup organic brown rice, 1-1/4 cup water, cinnamon, and raisins and put on the brown rice cycle. At the end of that, there was still alot of liquid left, so I put it on the speed/white cycle - Came out great!! I like my brown rice a little bit chewier - so next time, I'll probably just swap the cycles around - all the liquids and barley for a quick cycle, and then add the rice and go for the brown rice cycle - But, for a non-breakfast person - and an oatmeal HATER (unless it's in cookies) I LOOK FORWARD to this for breakfast! Thank you for posting this! I have already sent this to alot of friends! Dgpat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgpat March 19, 2008

I gave this reipe an "ok", but I must admit I am biased. I am allergic to apples, natures sweetener, so I always look for ways to use something else to make something sweet. Any ideas anyone??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookCrizzle January 22, 2008
Breakfast Barley