Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Breakfast Bagel Sandwiches (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Breakfast Bagel Sandwiches (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2008

      These are a life-saver! I am really enjoying making meals ahead of time and freezing them. The whole family enjoyed these. Sometimes I use bagels, sometimes english muffins, and sometimes I use canned biscuit dough. HOWEVER... I found a way to make the egg preparation easier. I have a 17" x 11" jelly roll pan. I take the eggs, beat them well and add salt & pepper (and some baking powder -- thanks to Kittencal -- this make the eggs puff up like crazy) and I add a splash of milk. I then pour this egg mixture into my "well-greased" jelly roll pan. I bake the eggs at 350 degrees until almost set. Then I sprinkle them with shredded cheese (cheddar) and cooked ham that I have shredded finely in my food processor. I bake this all until set. Then I remove it from the oven and let it cool a bit. I measure (depending on the number of muffins or bagels I've used) and cut the egg mixture into equal squares. Then I put a square of egg mixture onto the bagle or muffin and it's done. The meat and cheese are already incorporated into the eggs. Couldn't be easier!! You can also sprinkle cooked bacon on the eggs at the end or even the bacon bits that come in the bag. These squares of eggs are wonderful. It eliminates cooking eggs individually or using scrambled eggs (because they fall off the sandwich). Just wanted to pass this along to all you wonderful OAM Cooks. Thanks for all the inspiration and I hope you like my little egg trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I've made these a few different ways now and this is my fav variation: Whole wheat english muffins, untoasted. I have found that the texture after freezing and microwaving is the same either way so I save myself the time of toasting. I also skip the butter because anywhere I can trim calories without feeling like I'm missing something is a good thing. I use single slices of fat free cheese because its easier than shredded and less mess. No matter how much I grease up my muffin tins, I'm always left with a mess! I don't typically microwave cook but this recipe is my one exception. I spray a little Pyrex bowl with Pam and crack a whole egg in it, dust with black pepper and salt and break my yolk. 30-35 seconds in the microwave does the trick and they slide right out. I do them one at a time while I'm splitting muffins, unwrapping cheese, and cooking meat. I like to cook both sausage and bacon because I like variety. A pound of sausage pressed into 8 patties as thin as you can go plus 4 slices of bacon from my butcher counter gives me enough for a dozen. I line a jelly roll pan with foil and bake on 400 degrees F for about 17 minutes then drain on paper towels. A quick assembly line, toss 'em in the freezer and I've got breakfast on the go! I love these for days when my honey has early meetings and I'm not ready to get out of bed. He can make himself breakfast in under 2 minutes! These have been a lifesaver and are way cheaper, healthier and faster than hitting McBurger! I have also used a batch of these as bribery for my bachelor mechanic friend. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      My family really liked these fresh (before I froze them), but they didn't like the results from the microwave after being frozen. The bagel ended up soggy and sometimes hard. I've got to figure out the correct power to reheat them. I've made this using English muffins and everyone loved them even after freezing and reheating. So I will stick with the muffins and not the bagels. I used the idea of cooking the eggs in a muffin pan. Perfect! Just the right size! Thanks for this fast breakfast idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      These were great! i pre fried the bacon and cut it up and put it with the eggs and then into muffin tins and into the oven as suggested by Tammi, and they turned out great! i made a double batch, wrapped them in pastic wrap threw them in the freezer and 5 days later there are 3 left! Thanks!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Made six of these this morning, 15yo son ate 3 before I could sneak the other 3 away to the freezer. I used a silicone 6 cup muffin tin with spray - eggs popped out perfect. Used some Canadian bacon slices I had and whole wheat english muffins. I put the other 3 in Reynold's wrappers (foil) and in a Reynolds vacuum bag and into the freezer. Son doesn't like things from microwave (soggy or hard) so we put in fridge overnight and then pop breakfast into the toaster oven already in foil packet while he showers and gets ready for school.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      These are great little sandwiches. I made them for DD so I left out the bacon. I've been taking them for lunch all week myself. It's so convenient to have lunches ready to go. I did find that they're a bit wet if you don't reheat them properly so make sure you flip them when reheating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Great recipe! You MUST flip the bagel when reheating or the top will be hard and the bottom soggy. By flipping, they come out WONDERFULLY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      Great idea! My husband thought all the extra sandwiches would go to waste, but he was so wrong. We go through these so fast. When he has early morning (0300) work schedules he pops the frozen bagels into the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. If we run out and he shows up at work without him his co-workers get upset.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made these using toasted and buttered English muffins, and hand sliced cheese. I omitted the bacon since my husband doesn't eat it. I then froze them. When it was time to eat them, I heated them up in the microwave for 30 seconds on one side, then turned them over and heated them for 30 seconds on the other side. Although I didn't try them myself (I am low-carbing), my husband said they were great and he is a picky eater! I made the scrambled eggs, six at a time, in ramekins in the microwave as directed. I had to cook them a little longer cuz there were six of 'em but they came out perfectly. I had never cooked eggs in the microwave before so I was pleasantly surprised at how well they came out. (Note: do not try to cook eggs in the microwave unscrambled, even if you break the yolk first.....I tried it got a huge explosion and a nasty cleanup job for my efforts!) Great recipe. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Updated to add: I still make these every month with different cheeses and toppings. I no longer make the eggs in the muffin tin. I just use Baked Ham and Cheese Omelet Roll and cut those to fit on the bagel. That way I use less eggs and the taste is soooo good. It's a lot less work for me too. Try it, you'll like it. Old review: These were very easy to make. The shredded cheese was a bit messy during prep. I think this time I will use sliced cheese instead. I also baked these in a muffin tin while also cooking the bacon in the oven and had time to do other prep work. I microwaved these (frozen straight from the freezer) for about one minute until slightly thawed. I finished them up in the toaster oven until it was hot and bubbly. Gives me that toasted taste that you can't get from foods in the microwave.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Dh is a college student (and I am a teacher), so we have to leave pretty early in the mornings. He loves the bagel sandwiches at McDonalds, so I thought I would make him a batch of these. He asked for me to make them on bigger bagels though. They were easy to put together (only thing I did was to cook the eggs alone in a cupcake pan, and then cut the eggs in half to put on the bagel so there was egg on the whole thing.) Dh says that he likes them, but only if I heat them in the microwave, and then crisp them in the oven. Yes, picky I know. He does really like them, he is just strange about texture, and says just microwaving makes the sandwich soggy. Sorry for the two page review :) and thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Just made these this evening and they looked so good I had to eat one! I used mini raisin bagels as that's all they had. I did the method cooking eggs in muffin ton and that was lovely as well, will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Wow . So easy and convenient having these little gems in the freezer for those rushed mornings. I found a microwave egg poacher in the cheapie store for $1 , works great as I can do 2 eggs at a time and they are the perfect size. Baked all the bacon (bought on sale ) in the oven. I omitted the butter , used low fat cheese slices and multigrain muffins (also bought on sale ). These were a big hit at my house and I will keep a stash of them in my freezer at all times from now on. I wrapped each muffin in paper towel, bagged them in a sandwich bag ( labeled), I found 6 fit nicely into a big ziploc bag which I labeled with the contents and microwave instructions. This makes sure they all stay neat and together in my freezer for easy accessibility and freezer stocktake. Thankyou so much for posting this idea .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Delicious! Made these with sharp cheddar, eggs baked in the oven and sliced into squares, mini bagels and bacon. I will never buy breakfast sandwiches again, knowing that I can make them better and cheaper at home! Thanks!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Yum! I have an excess of fresh eggs (my mom has hens) so this is a great way to use up a bunch of eggs really quickly! I have a 6 oz. ramekin that fits my english muffins perfectly. I don't bother toasting or buttering the english muffin, and I add a heaping tablespoon of pre-cooked (left over!) breakfast sausage to the egg before I cook it, and sliced cheese instead of shredded. These are so good, and so much cheaper and faster than the fast food ones I had been thinking about getting (but lets face it, I have no time to stop most mornings what with 2 kids and all). While I'm not usually a fan of microwaving eggs (my DH does it for egg sandwiches), they really work in this recipe! Thanks for posting Pamela! My growling stomach thanks you!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I made this fresh for breakfast as I am not a big fan of reheated bacon and thoroughly enjoyed. I cooked my bacon in the oven and the egg in the frypan and used a slice of vintage cheese and served it on a toasted wholemeal English muffin and enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Thank you *Pamela* for the recipe and LifeIsGood for the recommendation, made for I Recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I made these on whole wheat english muffins with a slice of turkey bacon and a slice of cheddar.

      They are really excellent, but I would not recommend using the muffin pan. I used a nonstick muffin pan and sprayed it besides and while the eggs came out easily, the muffin pan was extremely messy and it probably took me about 45 mins to clean it!

      A little I wonder if it might be okay with a silicone muffin pan but I might be too scared to try it! I definitely want to make them again though, they are wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      My family loves these & very easy! I cut 12 eng muffins put a dab of butter on each half & toast them in my toaster oven. I use 12 egg whites but only 6 yolks. add a dab of water, pepper & 1 cup cheddar cheese. Divide it evenly in the sprayed w/pam muffin tin, add a pinch or 2 of bacon crumble to each & bake about 13 min @ 400. I make each sandwich and wrap each in a papertowel, we do like them after frozen. 35 seconds on each side & good to go. These cost me less than 50 cents each to make and it takes me about an hour to do a batch of 24. Most of that time is cuz I can only toast 6 halves at a time :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I love this idea. It's perfect for storing in my son's apartment freezer - so he can pull a few out for a quick breakfast. Next time I'll try it using english muffins instead of the bagels - just for variety. My son did say that sometimes the bagel gets a bit soggy after microwaving - that is the only reason I'm not rating this 5 stars. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      I also used this recipe with English muffins, couldnt find mini bagels. The muffins worked well. I cooked the eggs in the muffin pans but I didn't really like them cooked this way, I may have overcooked them slightly. My mother liked them and took them to work for breakfast, but I prefer them made fresh without mixing the eggs. Good idea though for a quick breakfast, and if you can get the eggs right I'm sure they would be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Breakfast Bagel Sandwiches (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 470.9
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    39%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 221.6 mg
    73%
    Sodium 780.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites