77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are a life-saver! I am really enjoying making meals ahead of time and freezing them. The whole family enjoyed these. Sometimes I use bagels, sometimes english muffins, and sometimes I use canned biscuit dough. HOWEVER... I found a way to make the egg preparation easier. I have a 17" x 11" jelly roll pan. I take the eggs, beat them well and add salt & pepper (and some baking powder -- thanks to Kittencal -- this make the eggs puff up like crazy) and I add a splash of milk. I then pour this egg mixture into my "well-greased" jelly roll pan. I bake the eggs at 350 degrees until almost set. Then I sprinkle them with shredded cheese (cheddar) and cooked ham that I have shredded finely in my food processor. I bake this all until set. Then I remove it from the oven and let it cool a bit. I measure (depending on the number of muffins or bagels I've used) and cut the egg mixture into equal squares. Then I put a square of egg mixture onto the bagle or muffin and it's done. The meat and cheese are already incorporated into the eggs. Couldn't be easier!! You can also sprinkle cooked bacon on the eggs at the end or even the bacon bits that come in the bag. These squares of eggs are wonderful. It eliminates cooking eggs individually or using scrambled eggs (because they fall off the sandwich). Just wanted to pass this along to all you wonderful OAM Cooks. Thanks for all the inspiration and I hope you like my little egg trick.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee September 14, 2008

I've made these a few different ways now and this is my fav variation: Whole wheat english muffins, untoasted. I have found that the texture after freezing and microwaving is the same either way so I save myself the time of toasting. I also skip the butter because anywhere I can trim calories without feeling like I'm missing something is a good thing. I use single slices of fat free cheese because its easier than shredded and less mess. No matter how much I grease up my muffin tins, I'm always left with a mess! I don't typically microwave cook but this recipe is my one exception. I spray a little Pyrex bowl with Pam and crack a whole egg in it, dust with black pepper and salt and break my yolk. 30-35 seconds in the microwave does the trick and they slide right out. I do them one at a time while I'm splitting muffins, unwrapping cheese, and cooking meat. I like to cook both sausage and bacon because I like variety. A pound of sausage pressed into 8 patties as thin as you can go plus 4 slices of bacon from my butcher counter gives me enough for a dozen. I line a jelly roll pan with foil and bake on 400 degrees F for about 17 minutes then drain on paper towels. A quick assembly line, toss 'em in the freezer and I've got breakfast on the go! I love these for days when my honey has early meetings and I'm not ready to get out of bed. He can make himself breakfast in under 2 minutes! These have been a lifesaver and are way cheaper, healthier and faster than hitting McBurger! I have also used a batch of these as bribery for my bachelor mechanic friend. :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PDXChef January 14, 2011

My family really liked these fresh (before I froze them), but they didn't like the results from the microwave after being frozen. The bagel ended up soggy and sometimes hard. I've got to figure out the correct power to reheat them. I've made this using English muffins and everyone loved them even after freezing and reheating. So I will stick with the muffins and not the bagels. I used the idea of cooking the eggs in a muffin pan. Perfect! Just the right size! Thanks for this fast breakfast idea!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids August 13, 2010

These were great! i pre fried the bacon and cut it up and put it with the eggs and then into muffin tins and into the oven as suggested by Tammi, and they turned out great! i made a double batch, wrapped them in pastic wrap threw them in the freezer and 5 days later there are 3 left! Thanks!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokahooya October 19, 2009

Made six of these this morning, 15yo son ate 3 before I could sneak the other 3 away to the freezer. I used a silicone 6 cup muffin tin with spray - eggs popped out perfect. Used some Canadian bacon slices I had and whole wheat english muffins. I put the other 3 in Reynold's wrappers (foil) and in a Reynolds vacuum bag and into the freezer. Son doesn't like things from microwave (soggy or hard) so we put in fridge overnight and then pop breakfast into the toaster oven already in foil packet while he showers and gets ready for school.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allisonrettman April 19, 2009

These are great little sandwiches. I made them for DD so I left out the bacon. I've been taking them for lunch all week myself. It's so convenient to have lunches ready to go. I did find that they're a bit wet if you don't reheat them properly so make sure you flip them when reheating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario September 06, 2008

Great recipe! You MUST flip the bagel when reheating or the top will be hard and the bottom soggy. By flipping, they come out WONDERFULLY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wvscrapqueen August 08, 2008

Great idea! My husband thought all the extra sandwiches would go to waste, but he was so wrong. We go through these so fast. When he has early morning (0300) work schedules he pops the frozen bagels into the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. If we run out and he shows up at work without him his co-workers get upset.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelebelle February 15, 2008

I made these using toasted and buttered English muffins, and hand sliced cheese. I omitted the bacon since my husband doesn't eat it. I then froze them. When it was time to eat them, I heated them up in the microwave for 30 seconds on one side, then turned them over and heated them for 30 seconds on the other side. Although I didn't try them myself (I am low-carbing), my husband said they were great and he is a picky eater! I made the scrambled eggs, six at a time, in ramekins in the microwave as directed. I had to cook them a little longer cuz there were six of 'em but they came out perfectly. I had never cooked eggs in the microwave before so I was pleasantly surprised at how well they came out. (Note: do not try to cook eggs in the microwave unscrambled, even if you break the yolk first.....I tried it got a huge explosion and a nasty cleanup job for my efforts!) Great recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz January 21, 2008

Updated to add: I still make these every month with different cheeses and toppings. I no longer make the eggs in the muffin tin. I just use Baked Ham and Cheese Omelet Roll and cut those to fit on the bagel. That way I use less eggs and the taste is soooo good. It's a lot less work for me too. Try it, you'll like it. Old review: These were very easy to make. The shredded cheese was a bit messy during prep. I think this time I will use sliced cheese instead. I also baked these in a muffin tin while also cooking the bacon in the oven and had time to do other prep work. I microwaved these (frozen straight from the freezer) for about one minute until slightly thawed. I finished them up in the toaster oven until it was hot and bubbly. Gives me that toasted taste that you can't get from foods in the microwave.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trksh22 January 02, 2008
Breakfast Bagel Sandwiches (Oamc)