25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The flavor was really nice until we got to the raw chicken but I did pour the juice of another lemon in the pan to add flavor as another rater didn't taste lemon. Seriously, pound the crap out of those breasts or thighs, whatever you use as they do not cook through in 30-35 minutes and you'll wind up with raw chicken. Sorry kittencal, usually your recipes are spot on, I'm sure the flavor would be superb if it were completely cooked. Maybe you could consider changing the cooking time in your recipe, that's why this got 4 stars from me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops January 24, 2010

Recipe was a little salty for our taste. Next time I will omit the salt and add a thin strip of mozzarella cheese before I roll up the chicken. I Can't believe nobody has tried this. It's simple and very tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Sauerbeck January 31, 2004

I was glad to find this recipe. I used thin-sliced chicken breast, so no pounding was necessary. I made the recipe as directed, opting for the paprika and baking for 28 minutes in a 375 degree oven, as I considered a 350 degree oven to be a bit cool for baking chicken. This dish came out great, and was a big hit with my kids. I served with pasta and oven roasted vegetables (Oven-Roasted Vegetables). Your recipes are always winners, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 February 14, 2014

Yes, it is a winner! I subbed the butter for 1/8 cup of Olivio and 1/8 egg whites to cut the fat and used a 1/4 cup of bottled lemon juice. I may marinate in lemon next time for more flavor, but even though it didn't taste super lemony, the citric acid is a tenderizer and the meat was moist all the way through inside. I didn't roll the chicken, but I had beaten it quite thin and later topped it with fresh, chopped basil and soft mozzarella then put it back in the oven for the last ten minutes. Served it with grilled Roma tomatoes with garlic, salt, pepper and oil (made on a George Forman grill) over a bed of romaine lettuce and a sweet potato. Dee-lish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyzgr8 August 10, 2012

This was delicious! I made this for my family last night and it was a hit. Next time I will add a bit more lemon then the recipe calls for. I also cooked the chicken for about 45 minutes to make sure that the chicken was cooked all the way through and topped it with swiss cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellaangelmom March 06, 2012

Absolutely delicious! I have a gas oven so it took a little longer but it was a great hit! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EstiDickinson January 06, 2012

These were excellent! My husband loved it! I used thin sliced chicken breasts and they cooked great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rokeedy March 22, 2011

This was delicious! We didn't have any parsley on hand so I omitted it. Also, we used 3 small lemons for the lemon juice. It was perfect! You could taste the lemon and garlic together and it was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedgirl May 22, 2009

Followed the recipe exactly. DH really liked it. But neither of us could taste the lemon - he was surprised when I said there was lemon it it! So next time I will increase the lemon juice. My advice would be to make sure you have small/thin chicken breasts because mine took a full 50 minutes to cook through and even then, one of them wasn't fully cooked. I must have had chicken breasts from mutant chickens!! LOL!! But it's worth doing again and I will maybe take other reviewers advice and try adding a slice of ham or something to jazz it up. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npreardon April 26, 2009

YUM! Loved this! I used 2 packages of thin sliced breasts. I only made minor changes like 2 tbso, fresh lemon juice, used a few cloves of fresh garlic, used only 1 tsp. season salt and it was great. I melted mozzerlla and some cheddar on top. DH thought a slice of ham would be nice inside the roll-up next time-like a chicken cordon blue. I MMMMed through dinner and my oldest son has 3 roll ups! Glad I made a lot. Thanks for the recipe Kitten! Update: Made this several times and we all love it. If I have large breasts from Costco, I slice them in half and it works well to roll up. Smells great too while cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala January 08, 2009
Breaded Lemon-Garlic Chicken Breasts