9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, great crunchy & crispy coating without all the frying. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle_sandiego September 20, 2011

Great recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladfam September 07, 2010

This was amazing- It makes the best eggplant parm ever! Traditional frying not only causes a huge mess in the kitchen, but the eggplants soak up so much oil and end up soggy. With this recipe, the eggplant were crisp and delicious. I layered it with some leftover sauce we had in the freezer and low fat mozzarella and parm cheese. I cooked mine 10 min on the first side, an sprtized each slice with non stick spray before flipping them and cooking 10 min more. They came out nice and crispy, but not burnt. I did also slice them a little thinner than what was recommended. Making them more crisp led to the eggplant parm being more firm than when you fry. Thanks so much for the fabulous calorie saver!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison 333 August 31, 2010

This is a terrific recipe. I did alter it a little. I heated the oven to 400 instead of 425 (too hot in my oven). I used Progresso Italian breadcrumbs. I did not preheat my cookie sheets. After I put oil on the cookie sheet I dipped one side of the breaded eggplant slice into the oil and then turned it over to bake. I baked the sliced eggplant 7 minutes on one side then turned them over for 2 more minutes. They turned out nice and golden brown. I am going to use this with Ev's Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmigiana #63008 tomorrow. Can't wait to see how it turns out!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches August 21, 2009

I did not use any parmesan but melted a little goat cheese on at the end. I used a bit more oil and they turned out perfect. I took a pastry brush and brushed oil on each piece (both sides before putting it in the oven. Came out perfect and crispy!! Love this recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Dice January 06, 2008

I've made similar receipts, but this is the best. I'll be making this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brubakes October 10, 2014

I added your basic Italian herbs oregano, basil, parsley to the bread crumbs. it was fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhantomLeafEffect June 06, 2006

I wouldn`t call this low fat but it is lower in fat then the fried eggplant! As you see the oven method of frying has been my choice. As in this recipe of my Oven fried Eggplant or and Zucchini Parmesan Oven Fried Eggplant or and Zucchini Parmesan. So much easier, cleaner and healthier! In this recipe I made just 1/2 an eggplant that I had left over cut into circles then in half so to stretch the finger food farther! It did go fast! I salted the eggplant when removing from oven. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ April 07, 2006

I wanted to use home-made breadcrumbs, but didn't have any stale bread, so I toasted some and crumbled it in a blender. I used "Homemade Bread Crumbs" Homemade Bread Crumbs and they came out delicious. I topped them with chunky tomato sauce and feta cheese. I don't eat eggplant, but since this could be served at room temp., I tried it (it was for a teacher's luncheon). I got RAVE reviews. Thanks Roxygirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPHT April 07, 2006
Breaded Eggplant (Oven-Baked)