Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2006

      This recipe is sooo good, my family raved and raved how good my dressing was and I have been cooking for over 50 years. It was by far the best recipe I have ever had!!! Thank you so very much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      Great stuffing recipe! I wanted something very simple and this did the trick. The amount was more than enough our 6kg bird -- I had enough to make 6 stuffing balls for baking on their own as well as filling the turkey. By the way, 9 cups of stuffing worked out to nearly 1 loaf of bread. I think we had about 5 slices left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      My husband loves this stuffing. Its really great because you can add anything you like to change it for different occasions. It is great with mushrooms (our favorite). I make it often with chicken. Don't let the long list of ingriedients fool you, its very simple, and you will impress your friends and family with homemade stuffing! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      My husband was raised in a convenience food household, and he's very suspicious of anything that's made from scratch. "Wait...you're putting celery in there? And onions? Won't it taste weird? Why didn't you just use the boxed stuff?"

      I made a double batch for Thanksgiving, and when my husband first tasted this, he was shocked. This stuff is absolutely delicious! He even told me that it was "way better than the stuff from a box." which is high praise from him.

      I didn't have quite enough butter, so I substituted a little bit of chicken broth for an equal amount of butter. It didn't seem to affect the recipe negatively at all. The butter really makes this recipe, I think.

      Thank you for such a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I made stuffing balls with this. I made it the night before and stuck it in the freezer right before cooking. They came out wonderfully. I've never done home made stuffing and I was shocked how easy this was. I did use the 1/2 stock adaptation and took out celery (allergic) but bumped up the onions a tad. I also didn't have dried sage, so added an extra pinch of rubbed. I got tons of compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I stuffed a whole turkey breast with this stuffing and it was gone by the time the meal was over! We enjoyed it so much. I did add some boiled ground sausage in it and added some of the water from the boiled sausage along with some crackers into the stuffing. Dee-Lish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Absolutly delicious!!! Very "traditional" tasting and like I remembered it as a kid. I was never able to duplicate the taste of my Mom's stuffing and I was so happy to have found this recipe!!! I used fresh bread and wouldn't recommend using dried bread cubes. Although easier to use, the flavor is just not the same. This was very easy to make and smelled wonderful!! My family likes their stuffing on the moist side so I added a splash of organic chicken broth. The addition of the broth made it a tad salty so I would decrease the salt by 1 tsp. the next time. I didn't have dried sage so I just used more ground sage. Otherwise, don't change a thing about this recipe!! I chopped up an apple and cooked it along with the onions and celery. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!! I won't use another again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      You just can't go wrong with this recipe. It's perfect! I doubled it and it stuffed a 20 pound turkey perfectly. It's absolutely the best stuffing. Sometimes I use the full amount of butter and other times I do have chicken broth/half butter for the liquid. We like it both ways! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      This is great stuffing! I did double the recipe as my bird was 21 and a half pounds. I used half bread and half cornbread and it was enjoyed by all very much! Thanks BecR....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      AWESOME! Made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year. We had boneless turkey breast, so there was no cavity to stuff. We made the "stuffing balls" version and they were a huge hit. As per a different review, we added 1 cup chicken broth, and consistency was great for forming balls. However, this ELIMINATES the need for salt! Instead of 2 tsps, maybe use 1/2 tsp. You'll thank us! Delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Great recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Yummy. A keeper for family holidays..Thank you. WilChef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      My first time providing the stuffing for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit! I like moist stuffing and added some chicken broth to the mix, and baked in a crock pot. I'll use this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Great Recipe! I'm not a stuffing eater, but this was fantastic and my family enjoyed it. I made the "stuffing balls" and changed the serving to 4. They turned out perfect and there were no leftovers! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Great recipe! Made this into balls and served with a bowl of beef tomatoe noodle soup Noodle Soup (Tomato Beef). Can't underestimate how much flavor for how little effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Love this recipe. Always a family favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      You really couldn't go wrong with this yummy stuffing! I made a half quantity and it was well and truly enough to stuff three 1.8kg chickens. Left out the celery as I'm not a fan, but upped the onion a bit. I made the stuffing a couple of days before needing it and it kept perfectly in the fridge. Thanks for posting such an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I made this today for Thanksgiving. It was awesome! I will probably cut down on the salt a little next time though as I thought it was a little salty. Nothing that couldn't be fixed. :) I followed someone else's advise as well and added a cup of chicken stock. My family loved it! It was so easy to make. I didn't have dried sage - and the store didn't carry it. So - I used additional ground sage and it worked fine. Thank you so much for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      The flavor was sooo soo good! Since we didn't stuff this in the bird I added about a cup of broth. I am very glad I did otherwise I think it would have been pretty dry. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Well done this was great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.6
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    63%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 48.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 848.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes