48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I first saw this recipe, I thought it would be like one of my favorite Middle Eastern salads, Fattoosh. No way! It's better, in a totally different way. Bursting with Mediterranean flavors, this salad is addictive. I used fresh rosemary and also used a healthy splash of balsamic vinegar. The tiny bit that was left over from my BBQ was taken to work the next day, where I had to carefully guard it in the break room. Yo, Richard, this one rocks!

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj April 20, 2002

bread salad...we had never had anything like this before, the flavor was incredible. i prepared it exactly as the recipe said, didn't change a thing. this is something i could serve just for the 2 of us, or when entertaining and doing something a little more fancy, because i think it makes a wonderful impression on people (it did us..lol). i thought it was great. really easy to make too.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty June 20, 2002

As Richard's brother I can say this is one of the best things he brings to one of my cookouts. It is awsome try it.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick R May 19, 2002

After all the rave reviews, I just had to give this a try. Absolutely magnificent. Unlike any salad I have made before, but I knew we would love the tomatoes and basil. The bread really did not get soggy from the dressing. This was our supper and we certainly give it a resounding 5-stars. Thanks Richard.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower October 24, 2002

This is a wonderful recipe, Richard!! The only thing I changed was to omit the hot red pepper flakes, as my family is not a fan of "hot stuff". I also think I may have "accidentally" added an extra clove of garlic;) This is a wonderful salad that I am sure I will be making again and again!! Thank you! ~Manda

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda August 12, 2002

OK, Richard, this has been sitting in my cookbook for months waiting for the perfect oppurtunity to arise and it did this past weekend. We were invited to a weekend Bar Mitzvah and the last meal was kind of pot luck. I made this salad and it was a big hit. Since it was still the Sabbath and traditional to eat challah, I used challah as the bread in the salad. It turned out great and the bowl was scraped clean on the buffet. Thanks for a great recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale March 08, 2003

FABULOUS SALAD!! I made it exactly as stated and I wouldn't change a thing. This salad is not only very flavorful, but easy to make and something totally out of the ordinary! An unexpected treat for your guests. So glad you shared this dish. :-)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 27, 2002

This salad is a great summer dish! Try adding a can of tuna and some good greek olives for a more filling flavorfull twist!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilgrayc June 10, 2002

I am always on the look out for something different and unique. This fits that category. Very delicious salad with exciting and fresh flavors. I added some balsamic vinegar to the dressing. Wonderful recipe Richard, and appreciate your sharing it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna Naquin December 17, 2002

Richard, I've been making a similar "tomato salad" for years, but always served the bread on the side. I decided to try it with the bread mixed in and it was wonderful! I used two small round loaves of Italian bread which I "hollowed" out....tore up the bread from the middle (followed your recipe), then I put the salad into the "bread bowls" to serve. YUMMMMMMMM!!! Hubby added some diced, fresh mozzerella to his and said it was fantastic! Thanks for posting this new variation to my old favorite.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 August 29, 2002
Bread Salad