12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely Delicious! I made the bread pudding using a 16 ounce loaf of Cinnamon raisin bread instead of the french bread and it was soooo good. I didn't add any extra raisins and it came out perfect. The bourbon sauce was to die for! Thanks so much for posting this recipe! 10 stars if i could! -Italianmomof2

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 September 16, 2009

Soak the raisins in bourbon! Also added almond extract to the bread pudding.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georj January 24, 2007

Absolutely fantastic even though I screwed it up. I used day old ciabatta bread instead of french bread (which I do not recommend) because it was unable to absorb enough of the milk mixture but the top that set up was delicious! The bourbon sauce was wonderful! I will definitely be making this again but I will use french bread instead of ciabatta.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 February 26, 2011

A quick to prepare desert thats worth more than the effort to make it. It is delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
In the kitchen cookin July 12, 2010

This was a really fantastic bread pudding! I made it exactly as directed, except left the raisins out of half of it. And I must admit, we doubled the amount of bourbon it called for! This is now our official bread pudding recipe and I see us making it many more times!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkcurry June 09, 2010

I was sorry to not agree with so many other reviews. This recipe is very easy to make and the bread is very moist but we found this bread pudding much, much too sweet! I did worry about the sweetness as I added the 2 cups of sugar and then followed with the sauce and an additional cup of sugar. If I try it again I will cut the sugar in the pudding to maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup sugar and then add the sauce to sweeten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EinyOpi March 08, 2015

There are restaurants in Kentucky that serve this but substitute chocolate Chios for the raisins. It is heaven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbriggs526_5247433 July 10, 2014

Loved this. Would def make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe June 26, 2014

Excellent. Easy to make and delicious! Thank you for sharing. Perhaps you'd like to try my Bread Pudding with White Chocolate Brandy Sauce #193570

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA April 29, 2007
Bread Pudding With Bourbon Sauce