99 Reviews

Made for dinner tonight and what a hit! I used 1 cup fresh blueberries instead of 1/2 cup raisins and they added a nice touch. Also, I didn't have any cream so I used milk. I doubled the vanilla and added 3 tsp cinnamon into the custard mixture instead of just sprinkling it on top. Everyone loved it. Even those who 'thought' they didn't like bread pudding. Didn't make any sauces... they just weren't necessary as the pudding was delicious without it. BTW, I had a bunch of leftover hotdog and hamburger rolls that were going to get stale or moldy, so most of my bread crumbs were those rolls. What a great way to use them up! Thanks for a tasty treat!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer July 27, 2010

This is a great recipe in every way. Easy, delicious, satisfying. I served this with the sugar sauce, but it is good without it too. Perkin's restaurant has a new item on their breakfast menu - bread pudding french toast - I think this could be baked in a loaf pan, refrigerated, and then sliced, dipped in the egg/milk mix and fried, and then served with the sugar sauce &/or fruit for an extra special breakfast.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate57 November 28, 2011

I have made this twice now and it is fantastic. The only changes I made was, (since i didn't have any whipping cream) i used 1 and 3/4 cups of milk total, and 1/4 cup of plain non fat yogert, the other thing i did differnt was i used about 6 cups of breat total, and baked for about 5 minutes longer. Maybe my bread wasn't as old or stale as it could have been, I don't see how it was hotdog, and burger buns from a week and a half ago. Oh and I made the brown sugar sauce, it is just wonderful, I couldn't stop "testing" it. thanks for such a wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. May 18, 2010

This bread pudding was absolutely wonderful! We made it twice in two days and again the following weekend. I had to cook it bit longer than it stated - probably 50 minutes or so. Haven't tried the sauce as it doesn't need it. Third time I added white chocolate chips and craisins which were fine, but we kind of like the original a tad better. This is the first bread pudding recipe I've tried and it may very well be the only one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisston1127 April 15, 2014

This made for a simple and delicious dessert! I made it with two cups of 1% milk, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and my husband's stale honey oatmeal bread. I chose to add the raisins, but if I do that next time, I'll reduce the (brown) sugar to 1/2 cup, as it ended up a tad too sweet. I didn't make either sauce, but instead I combined the sugar and cinnamon separately, and put most of it in the custard mixture, reserving a little for the top. Mine baked for about 35 min at 350. Thanks for sharing a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K July 02, 2011

I already had a bread pudding recipe I was using, but I had been looking for some sauces to top it with. I tried the brown sugar sauce and everyone at the restraunt loves it. It`s easy, fast, cheap, keeps well and tastes great on ANYTHING. I`d give it 50 stars if I could.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David43515 February 24, 2011

This was my first attempt ever at bread pudding and my DH is a bread pudding FANATIC so I was really nervous. Not to worry, it was DELICIOUS! And so simple. I had never had bread pudding so I was a little nervous about, well, stale bread in a pudding! I couldn't believe how good this was. I used the brown sugar sauce on top. Again, delicious, and will be making this recipe again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwlukes January 15, 2011

This is a wonderful recipe! I had made some maple pecan bread which, to be honest, wasn't great. It was getting stale as nobody was eating it so I decided to try using it in this recipe. Awesome results! I added some craisins and cut the sugar down a bit. I thought it was sweet enough so I didn't make any sauce and I actually liked it best right out of the fridge, cold. You couldn't ask for an easier recipe for such a great result. I might make that same bread again just so I can use it for bread pudding. Thank you for a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 February 01, 2010

Lemon sauce recipe was the best... Just like Mom's! Used cinnamon and nutmeg combo. Pumpkin spice would be good, too. All in all, a nice recipe that is versatile.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wannacook17 December 01, 2014

I didn't know anything about bread pudding when I tried this recipe and I wondered why people were raving about something that contained such modest ingredients so I had to try it. The flavour was as great as people claimed; it was complex, full-bodied and robust (no, I don't drink wine). Just a wonderful result from this deservedly well-reviewed recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee_99999 August 23, 2014
Bread Pudding