Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Pudding

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2009

      I made this for my mother's birthday. She said it was one of the best she ever had. I used hot water to soak the raisins. I used one cup of cream with two cups of milk and while I did scald it, I really don't think it was necessary. You will often see older recipes call for scalding, but that was before pasteurization. Reversing steps 7 and eight would have been helpful. I would have added the butter first, but it was too late by the time I read it. That's what I get for not reading through carefully first! Thanks for giving me a great recipe for my mom's birthday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Very good pudding! I don't like raisins so I added dried mixed berries to one side of the pudding, and chocolate chunks to the other side. I was complimented several times on this dish at the meeting that I brought it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Perfect!!! My fiance who loves his moms bread pudding but has never liked any of the ones I made loved this. So did I and I don't like bread pudding at all. I left out the raisins as he doesn't like them. I used crusts from like 5 loaves of bread that tend to just sit in the fridge because no one but me will eat the end of the loaves. So it ended up being a mixture of white and wheat bread. Added a little bit more cinnamon and nutmeg to the top right before I put it in the oven. I really liked the crispy top. This is my new recipe, and I will definitely be making it more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      My husband requested bread pudding for his birthday dessert - he'd had it a few times in restaurants and had liked it, but I had never made it. Based on the reviews I tried this recipe and was a little dubious due to not knowing what kind of bread to use or how thick the called-for slices were. It turned out really good and got rave reviews from my husband and 2 yr old. I used french bread - 9 slices about 1" thick. I also used dried cherries instead of raisins, and I used the vanilla sauce as suggested. Really good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was so good. I've been making bread pudding for years, but will be using this recipe from now on. I didn't have any brandy, however did put a couple tablespoons of Southern Comfort in the vanilla sauce. Next time I will also put it in the bread pudding. I did use splenda brown sugar (1/2 cup) instead of sugar. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This reminded me of my childhood! Thank you for sharing this recipe - it was wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Very good. I followed this to a tee and loved the consistency using french bread. I tried this one in place of my grandmother's recipe. I am going to add this to my cookbook for future use. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      No nutritional value here but WHO CARES! :) Absolutely heavenly delicious! Only changes: Filled in w/ some white sugar b/c I ran out of brown. Also skipped the raisins and poured the brandy right into the batter :) YUMMMMMM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      Yum! I don't really love bread pudding myself, but I had a ton of bread to use up, so I figured I would give this recipe a try. I omitted the raisins and served with your vanilla sauce. It was quite tasty! My favorite part is the crisp, crunchy topping, so I think next time I would separate and bake this in two pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This was just okay for us. If I shut my eyes it seemed like I was eating apple cake, not bread pudding. I think it was soaking the raisins in the brandy that produced that effect. I'm sorry Rhonda! Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

    • on May 30, 2008

      Yay! Hubby and I made bread in our new bread machine this week (chocolate chip banana) and after a few slices each, and a few days, it needed to get a second life. This recipe was perfect for that. I did not use the raisins at all (DH would complain too much). It smelled so great we didn't even wait for the sauce, so I will make that tonight! I had mine plain and loved it, DH had his with ice cream. Thanks so much- it is a keeper recipe for our old bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      Delicious recipe. I used Calvados (apple brandy) to soak the raisins, plus one more egg and a little heavy cream. I've made many bread pudding recipes, but this one will become my staple. Thanks, Rhonda O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I didn't have brandy but I did have amaretto that worked just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      My mom loves bread pudding and insists that not everyone can make it. I have redeemed myself as a baker and a daughter. This recipe is perfect. I would not change a thing. Thank you for the privilege. My family loved it and ate it all in one night. My picky 8 year old asked for seconds. AWESOME RECIPE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      This was so incredibly good! I only made a half batch, but I ate it all within 3 days...Perfect for breakfast and dessert! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This is DH favorite dessert, so I decieded to make this up for him. I have never had bread pudding before but was very impressed and wondered why I've never had it before....lol. DH and the whole family loved it. How easy yet so good. I also made your vanilla sauce andit was divine....thank you for posting....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I had a hankerin' for some bread pudding PRONTO - so I baked some bread in the machine, tore it up and whipped this delight together. I was worried it would be different because the bread wasn't stale - but it was just the opposite! Extra moist! Great comfort food recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Very good. Even my husband who normally turns up his nose at bread pudding ate it. I used day old dinner rolls instead of sliced bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I loved this! My daughters all gave it 4 stars because bread pudding is just not their favorite dessert. But in the past they haven't eaten it at *all* so for them to give it a 4 and eat all their serving is quite an accomplishment. I gave it 5 stars; delicious! I soaked the raisins in spiced rum and I used leftover buns that I had bought for a new year's eve party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    28%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 97.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 331.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 33.2 g
    133%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites