93 Reviews

I've made this recipe about 20 times now, and it's a BIG WINNER! Yummy, lovely, and easy - what more could you ask for? It obviously depends on how big you want your buns as to how many buns you'll get out of this recipe. I like to make little slider buns for parties and I tend to get 18 out of a recipe. I haven't tried substituting ingredients because I like it as it is. The photo by Yia Yia is exactly how mine came out. Go for it! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannaadler June 08, 2009

I've made these 4 times since I stubled upon this receipe. They are awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacyhulak March 31, 2009

Very, very good buns. I held my breath making the dough in my machine because the only other time I tried to make dough from my bread machine manual, it turned out very sticky. THIS dough was prrrrrfect! The next time I will reduce the number of cuts to make the buns larger, but will also make the smaller ones things like homemade "egg mcmuffins" and the like. Also, I was wondering ... does anyone think this dough might make a good deep dish pizza dough? I think it just might. I'll give it a try the next time I have a chance

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Mad Slovak March 22, 2009

Great recipe! I made in my breadmaker and substituted flax seed for a tablespoon of the oil and 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour. My daughter always prefers the white bread over the wheat but she just said how delicious the sandwich was that I made for her and asked for another! I feel better knowing it's a bit healthier and they are SO soft! Will make again definitely! Made 12 rolls (small hamburger sized).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palomino5873 February 22, 2009

These are easy and tasty. Now my husband wants me to make his lunch sandwiches with these buns. He brags about them to all his co-workers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kebowen January 09, 2009

I am so glad I kept experimenting with bun recipes. I have made four different ones off of zaar and while they were good...there was just something not quite right. I found this one and decided to give it a shot. We were having hot dogs. DH said,"homemade buns again???" When we took the first bite he said,"this is it!!!Don't ever buy store bought again!" I had to agree. This recipe hits the spot. Gonna make again today for hamburgers or loose meat sandwiches. Thanks for experimenting til you got the recipe just right!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 29, 2008

Terrific recipe and very easy. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akasuzi August 20, 2008

I can't believe all the good reviews everyone posted. I made these today just like the recipe says and my dough turned out more of a batter. There are alot of good recipes for hamburger buns using your bread machine. This is not one of them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ken_judiw July 27, 2008

Very good recipe! I have had great results. I have made the recipe as written and this time used 3 cups white and 1 cup wheat flour with the same outcome. Thanks as well for a dairy free recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny July 18, 2008

I made these today and they were great! As suggested by some of the other reviewers I only made 12 buns and they were just the right size for us. I had no sesame seeds so sprinkled flax seeds on some, poppy seeds on others, and left the rest plain. This is definitely a keeper - have already written it down and put in my recipe folder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
^_^ July 17, 2008
Bread Maker Hamburger Buns