92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this recipe to make vegan hamburger buns by omitting the egg. I was worried at first that they wouldn't turn out, but they were great! I have made this recipe several times now just to make sure the first time wasn't a fluke and every time has been a success:)Thank you for this great recipe:) Oh! Because I omitted the egg, I added a 1/4 cup more water and no egg wash on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elise_the_vegan July 09, 2010

I cannot seems to ever find a hamburger bun large enough to fit my burger. So, with a quick search found this recipe. My family LOVES them. The verdict is that "I would choose this one over those from the store. The juices do not soak up in the bread the crust is tender and the bun itself is so soft." That comment came from my husband. My kids just kept saying mmmmm mmmMMMmmm. The prep was so easy I will never have to buy a bun again. I did not make as many because I wanted bigger buns.... Thank you for sharing this PERFECT recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clem July 04, 2010

Fabulous!I made 12 large buns and added 1 cup of ww flour and 3 of white. I always brush my breads with butter after they come out of the oven, and they are soooo soft. The only thing is, that I can taste the oil. I always use butter or marg. for making breads. Next time I make these I will use that instead of oil. But thankyou for this post, will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads April 19, 2010

These are so good and so easy. I love this recipe. It's probably one of the best recipes I've ever come across.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsambowen February 15, 2010

Fantastic recipe! I don't think I will ever buy buns from the bakery again. These were very easy to make and the end result was not only feather light buns with great flavour but also looked as if they came from the bakery.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannef November 25, 2009

I've made both hamburger and hotdog buns with this recipe many times they were so good I made it into a loaf of bread. Split dough in half and place in loaf tins, let rise for 45 minutes then bake at 350 F for 30 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKA_Muddee November 11, 2009

So Easy!! These are delicious and perfect. I didn't change anything in the recipe, and they turned out perfect. You can seperate into less to make bigger buns for a real restaurant burger-feel. I may never buy buns at the store again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamanthaRDH September 05, 2009

Best hamburger buns I have tried, I will never buy them again! I was trying this recipe for the first time and since I only needed one hamburger bun I also made some hot dog buns and some other shapes. Some I sprinkled with seseme seeds and on a few I brushed a bit of honey on. They tasted dangerously yummy right out of the over, with a bit of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bokstafur August 21, 2009

Oh dear. These are so flipping good I can't leave them alone! They're supposed to be for a potluck tomorrow and my husb and I each had two right out of the oven. They are so poofy and soft, and with that delicious, pretzel-like egg top. I also used 1 c of whole wheat flour, and then added a little bit of gluten and powdered milk to help them rise up properly. I trusted the truckload of great reviews and used this recipe for my first try at hamburger buns, and I'm stopping right here. This one is the winner. Thanks, Dot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. July 01, 2009

I've made this recipe about 20 times now, and it's a BIG WINNER! Yummy, lovely, and easy - what more could you ask for? It obviously depends on how big you want your buns as to how many buns you'll get out of this recipe. I like to make little slider buns for parties and I tend to get 18 out of a recipe. I haven't tried substituting ingredients because I like it as it is. The photo by Yia Yia is exactly how mine came out. Go for it! Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannaadler June 08, 2009
Bread Maker Hamburger Buns