Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Maker Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Maker Bagels

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 11, 2011

      These were absolutely fantastic and waaaaay easier than I had expected. I made a few changes. I used spelt flour and added an additional 1/2 cup of 12 grain cereal from bulk barn and 1/4 cup flax seeds so I needed to add an extra few tbsp of water. I also added about 1-1/2 tsp of garlic and onion powder. I didn't broil them at all, I just skipped that step and went straight to boiling. I also didn't brush them with anything cause I didn't want the outside crispy at all. I made 8, since breaking the dough into 9 evenly was a pain, but they were quite large, so next time I think I'll split it into 10 and see how small they are, but I think that will be the perfect size for lunch or a snack. I'll be making them again tomorrow. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Thank you so much! My whole family loved these! They were so nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will be making these again and again. Thank you again for sharing this with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Hi! This was my first attempt making bagels. I waited until I'd tried some other recipes before reviewing - thought maybe I could skip the broiling step, but when I tried letting it do a slow rise, or skipping a step, the texture wasn't right. (Except with whole wheat flour, which seems to do okay with a slow cold rise.) This recipe as written is still the best recipe I've found for really bagely bagels. Takes a while, but very good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I have lowered the salt to 1/4 tsp. for dietary reasons, and they are still fabulous. I let the dough rise longer than 20 minutes, or punch it down twice, for nice, chewy sandwich rolls. I boil them just like bagels. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I used 1 tsp of salt, 2 cups of ww flour and canola oil. I made some plain and some with poppy seeds. I think cutting into 8 servings would be better as I got several small ones. Hubby really liked them. I baked them on a slightly greased cookie sheet with cornmeal sprinkled. The cornmeal got a bit goey from putting the wet bagels down. It resulted in a really thick bottom crust. I think next time I'll dip the wet bagels in cornmeal for the bottom and then dip the tops too without using egg, and bake on parchment paper. I think I may skip the broil step too, I didn't really see the point, I think they'd be better with a shorter boil and longer bake too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Quite frankly, I wasn't crazy about these. I doubled the amount of salt and still thought they were very bland. I sent them home with my grandkids, tho, and got this from my son: "Best bagels I've ever had in my life!" Thus the 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      We doubled the salt as suggested in the reviews and these came out beautifully. We also read up on how to form bagels, which was very helpful and prevented them all from looking as...lovably deformed...as our first batch did. Here's a tip I found helpful: when you cut the portions, turn the edges under so that the "fresher" dough ends up as the outside of the bagel. Make a seam on the bottom and gently roll it out on a cutting board (you need a little friction to smooth it out a bit). Then poke your hole. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      perfect consistancy. exactly what we were looking for. I didn't use the poppy seeds, didn't have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      This was my first attempt at making bagels and I'm so glad I did. This recipe is super easy to follow - I made these while painting the trim in my kitchen, that's how easy these are! I did find them a little bland (that's why the 4 stars instead of 5) - I'll add more salt like another reviewer did. I like how you can make these into a ball and then punch the hole in it - much simpler than making rolling the dough and pinching it together. You can add whatever topping you like to these too - very versatile. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Oustanding ! very easy ! Olala, thank you very much ! my boyfriend loved them, it was the first time he was eating bagels, because you can't find them in France. I loved them too, thank you, i will make some more and i'll take a picture of them. Merci !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      GREAT recipe! I was impressed by how well these turned out. I made a second batch the same day, since they were already gone! A few modifications: I used kosher salt, although it didn't specify; but for my second batch I doubled the amount of salt and they tasted more like bagels. I only boiled them for 1 minute on each side instead of 7 total. I didn't use the egg white to adhere toppings because my son is allergic to eggs; instead I dipped them into a plate of toppings while they were still sticky from boiling. I used dehyrdated onions and salt as toppings instead of poppy seeds. I will definitely be making these again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This was my second attempt at bagels and this one was definitely a success. I will definitely try this again and sooner than the last time I tried making bagels. This was very easy to follow and came out the right consistency and even shape and size. Made them yesterday afternoon and they were all gone by this afternoon. Thanks for a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      OH MY GOODNESS!!!! I have never made bagels from scratch before, always bought them at the store; never again!! I am usually not too lucky when it comes to baking things but this was success to say the least. Thank you for posting such an easy to follow and yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      This was my first attempt at homemade bagels , and I was surprised how good they came out! I wouldn't want to make them ALL the time ;) but it was fun for a change! I followed the recipe up to the point of putting on the poppy seeds, as our family doesn't care for them. But they make a very nice plain bagel! I need some practice with shaping them I think ;) Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      my first attempt at homemade bagels. These were great! Nice and chewy and yeasty, Mmmmmmm.....I omited the poppy seeds as nobody here cares for them. these really were lovely ,and pretty easy considering the bread maker did most the work!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Maker Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.1
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    94%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 202.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites