15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were absolutely fantastic and waaaaay easier than I had expected. I made a few changes. I used spelt flour and added an additional 1/2 cup of 12 grain cereal from bulk barn and 1/4 cup flax seeds so I needed to add an extra few tbsp of water. I also added about 1-1/2 tsp of garlic and onion powder. I didn't broil them at all, I just skipped that step and went straight to boiling. I also didn't brush them with anything cause I didn't want the outside crispy at all. I made 8, since breaking the dough into 9 evenly was a pain, but they were quite large, so next time I think I'll split it into 10 and see how small they are, but I think that will be the perfect size for lunch or a snack. I'll be making them again tomorrow. Thanks so much for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. February 11, 2011

Thank you so much! My whole family loved these! They were so nice and crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will be making these again and again. Thank you again for sharing this with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessSenk September 27, 2009

Hi! This was my first attempt making bagels. I waited until I'd tried some other recipes before reviewing - thought maybe I could skip the broiling step, but when I tried letting it do a slow rise, or skipping a step, the texture wasn't right. (Except with whole wheat flour, which seems to do okay with a slow cold rise.) This recipe as written is still the best recipe I've found for really bagely bagels. Takes a while, but very good! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mymble February 14, 2009

Excellent recipe. I have lowered the salt to 1/4 tsp. for dietary reasons, and they are still fabulous. I let the dough rise longer than 20 minutes, or punch it down twice, for nice, chewy sandwich rolls. I boil them just like bagels. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lowsaltchef May 16, 2008

I used 1 tsp of salt, 2 cups of ww flour and canola oil. I made some plain and some with poppy seeds. I think cutting into 8 servings would be better as I got several small ones. Hubby really liked them. I baked them on a slightly greased cookie sheet with cornmeal sprinkled. The cornmeal got a bit goey from putting the wet bagels down. It resulted in a really thick bottom crust. I think next time I'll dip the wet bagels in cornmeal for the bottom and then dip the tops too without using egg, and bake on parchment paper. I think I may skip the broil step too, I didn't really see the point, I think they'd be better with a shorter boil and longer bake too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ba4Hire October 14, 2007

Quite frankly, I wasn't crazy about these. I doubled the amount of salt and still thought they were very bland. I sent them home with my grandkids, tho, and got this from my son: "Best bagels I've ever had in my life!" Thus the 4 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra September 21, 2007

We doubled the salt as suggested in the reviews and these came out beautifully. We also read up on how to form bagels, which was very helpful and prevented them all from looking as...lovably deformed...as our first batch did. Here's a tip I found helpful: when you cut the portions, turn the edges under so that the "fresher" dough ends up as the outside of the bagel. Make a seam on the bottom and gently roll it out on a cutting board (you need a little friction to smooth it out a bit). Then poke your hole. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan Courtney September 11, 2007

perfect consistancy. exactly what we were looking for. I didn't use the poppy seeds, didn't have any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Sauerbeck July 23, 2007

This was my first attempt at making bagels and I'm so glad I did. This recipe is super easy to follow - I made these while painting the trim in my kitchen, that's how easy these are! I did find them a little bland (that's why the 4 stars instead of 5) - I'll add more salt like another reviewer did. I like how you can make these into a ball and then punch the hole in it - much simpler than making rolling the dough and pinching it together. You can add whatever topping you like to these too - very versatile. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV September 27, 2006

Oustanding ! very easy ! Olala, thank you very much ! my boyfriend loved them, it was the first time he was eating bagels, because you can't find them in France. I loved them too, thank you, i will make some more and i'll take a picture of them. Merci !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elodie September 19, 2006
Bread Maker Bagels