Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Whole Wheat Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Whole Wheat Rolls

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2009

      I added 4 tsp vital wheat gluten and another 1/2 Tbs of yeast, and reduced the honey and molasses somewhat. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Very yummy! like others, I used half wheat and half regular bread flower and they were just right. I also added some sunflower seeds which was a nice addition. I think you could use other seeds too - flax, sesame, or poppy for a nice crunch and texture. Definitely will make again! This was much better than the recipe that came with my bread machine. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      These were the first rolls I have ever tried making and they were so easy and the best tasting wheat rolls I have ever had. I did use 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white as I didn't want them to be too dense and they turned out perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      These rolls were tasty but a bit dense. I even substituted a cup of white bread flour for one cup of the whole wheat, I think next time I'll try for 2 of white and 2 of whole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      VERY good. Even the non-whole wheat lovers in our house liked these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I made this rolls for our thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved them, I served them with honey butter. I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 bread flour. I am not really big on all wheat flour in my breads it is to dense to me. I will be making them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      These were a big hit. My dad absolutely LOVED them (and asked that I leave the leftovers, lol) I used freshly ground wheat (ground in my VitaMix) which wasn't quite as fine as store-bought flour (I'm new at this) so I added a tbs of vital wheat gluten. The rolls seemed kind of big for our preferences (we all are carb-watching) so I made them all a bit smaller and made 18 instead of 12. The honey and molasses give them a great "home made" flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      These were very yummy, but much much more dense than I expected. I wish I had read your description more closely. "I usually cut this recipe in half but use the same amount of yeast." I would have doubled the amount of yeast I used. That's ok though, they were still great tasting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Thanks for the recipe. It was just right! I used white wheat flour which made them lighter than using red wheat flour. My family prefers a slightly sweet bread, and this was a good one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I added the wheat gluten and 1/4 c. Chia seed gel. These were well liked at the dinner to which I took them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      The first time I made these, I made them according to the posted recipe. They were nearly inedible. I decided to give them another shot by following some suggestions in the comments and added gluten and more yeast. They weren't much better. All in all, these rolls are lousy. They are so dense and difficult to chew that my children couldn't eat them without tired jaws. Teach me to try to be healthier with an all wheat roll. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      These had good flavor. They were a little heavy for my tastes, though. I think I'll play around with the flour, try adding oats, and maybe adjust the yeast amounts. Great starter recipe. I just like my rolls a little lighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      As others did I used half whole wheat and half white flour. They were one of the best rolls I have ever eaten and will be amking again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on August 19, 2005

      We enjoyed these rolls for dinner this evening. They were very easy to make and quite filling because of the wheat flour. Made a hearty, dense roll. I may try to use half whole wheat and half all purpose next time to make a little lighter roll. But they were very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Whole Wheat Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (906 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.5
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    16%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 294.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites