Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Whole grain bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Whole grain bread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2010

      very good! I use olive oil, steel cut oats for the cracked wheat and whole wheat flour. It is now a staple in our home. I also use the wheat setting and light crust. Thanks for posting. It is easy and so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Easy recipe, proportions are correct. Just the right size for a large (2-lb.) machine. I varied the recipe by adding the following: 4 teaspoons of flour gluten, and I used 2 cups of unbleached flour and 1/2 cup of rye flour to produce a delicious light rye version. This recipe is becoming a classic in my family. I've passed it on to others who are also becoming fans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is a great recipe, the bread came out really good. As I try to avoid sugar I used honey instead and substituted 1 cup of the bread flour with whole wheat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      This is by far the BEST whole grain bread machine recipe I have found. It is soft, fluffy, delicious bread and very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • With the price of groceries going up and up I pulled out the bread machine. This recipe is a keeper. Its super easy to make, looks beautiful, and tastes awsome. I love all the whole grainsin it. I will definately make this loaf again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Great bread recipe! Used olive oil as suggested and oatmeal for the cracked wheat. Great hit with soup at a party, even w/ the kids. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Wow. Even my Dad and brother loved this bread, who were the ones crinkling their noses at it while I was gathering the ingredients. I used whole oats instead of cracked wheat since I didn't feel like going out in the snowstorm. For the cereal, I used Kashi's 7-grain flakes. I used the 'wheat bread' setting, light crust, which took much longer than 2 1/4 hours but maybe that's just my machine? Tasted absolutely perfect with my homemade butternut squash soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      This bread rose beautifully and was so light and fluffy inside yet delightfully crispy on the outside. I did make a few changes as mentioned by others - I used oats instead of cracked wheat, olive oil instead of canola and added a 5 seed mix with the flax seed. I also used 1/2of the sugar stated (personal choice, I always do that.) Iused wholewheat flour instead of bread flour too. I would however next time reduce the yeast to 1&1/2 tspns instead of 2tspns as it was a little too yeasty for us. But a wonderful bread!!! Many thanks Moe Heon!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      I have made this bread several times because I love how nutritious it is. However, I always have to add a bit more flour to keep it from being too sticky and I always get a REALLY uncomfortably gritty and crunchy top crust. The other crusts are always fine. So I think it's due to the cracked wheat pieces. Next time I think I will try soaking the bulgur first. Thanx for a great recipe! =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Oh my gosh, this was amazing. It's my new favorite homemade bread. I couldn't find cracked wheat, so I used old-fashioned oats instead. I set the bread machine to the basic setting/2 lb loaf/light crust. It was perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      This bread is very good! I made a couple of changes..I used olive oil instead of canola. I also mixed in poppy seeds and sesame seeds with the flax seeds..also, I didn't have any cracked wheat, so I used steel cut oats, and the results were delicious!Thanks for posting! Hazeleyes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Whole grain bread

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.2
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    28%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 399.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seven-grain cereal

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites