27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent loaf. I used bread flour and when using bread flour, you need to reduce the yeast. My loaf over-flowith. It did get bigger than it was supposed to, but it was very good. Very easy, really does only take 5 minutes. 5 stars!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa Edlebeck September 15, 2002

Made a loaf yesterday, its an easy recipe, I substituted 2 eggs for some of the water and got a nice high loaf

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FINN March 26, 2002

Excellent bread. I added some chopped jalapeno chilis. Try it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren April 13, 2003

This is a great recipe!! Loved the addition of onion soup mix! BF thought it was great - perfect for sopping up gravy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv April 10, 2003

Finally, a basic bread machine recipe that doesn't use dry milk (or any at all, for that matter). I used bread flour and the full amount of yeast, and it came out great. This recipe should be marked vegetarian and vegan, btw (when made with vegetable shortening).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmett The Sane September 28, 2002

I tried this recipe because my husband likes soft bread. It is a winner. It makes a nice tender loaf with a crispy crust that's not too thick. I made without the onion soup.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evamyth April 15, 2003

Very good bread recipe! I didn't change a thing and we really loved this! I used the butter and I did not use the optional onion soup mix. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikimony March 30, 2003

I have to admit, when I read the ingredients list I thought "I don't know, pretty skimpy" (no egg or milk powder, only 3 tsp sugar!) but I gave it a try and I'm glad I did! This is easy, economical and tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLV May 20, 2003

This is a simple recipe that makes a really excellent loaf in my bread machine. It came out soft in the centre but wonderfully crusty on the outside. I made a loaf last night and I've just put another one on because I know the first one won't last long. On a personal note, no milk powder so very easy to make this recipe vegan by using dairy free margerine. I haven't tried the onion idea yet but I will. Thank you. I will be using this a lot I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samanthaflo February 24, 2010

Great recipe!! I used Becel margarine instead of the shortening or butter and I added in raisins and candied fruit. Not quite as good as my Grandma makes from scratch, but darn close :) Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandie-cat January 20, 2010
Bread Machine White Bread