Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Pizza Dough With Whole Wheat Flour Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Pizza Dough With Whole Wheat Flour

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      Our NEW FAVORITE pizza crust! DH and I grind our own wheat so I've been on the hunt for Whole Wheat recipes to incorporate in to our lives. Based on another reviewers suggestion I used 4 cups of Whole Wheat , 1/4 Cup Gluten and upped the water a tad. I did NOT add honey though as the other reviewer did. Once the dough setting on my bread maker was complete I pulled the mixture out and realized there was a LOT of dough so I divided in half. Oiled my 16" pizza pan with olive oil and dusted with corn meal. Rolled out the dough then hand stretched to fit the pan. Sauced then topped with half and half toppings according to our likes and added 8 ounces of Mozzarella and a sprinkling of good Parmesan. Baked for 14 minutes but it wasn't enough for my liking so I baked another 4 minutes. The outside crust was crispy and the inside was soft and chewy. Even though I really enjoyed it I still prefer a little crispier crust so I think next time I will pre-bake for just a few minutes before topping and baking again. By the time I got the finished pizza in the oven I noticed my remaining half of dough had developed a dry skin. I gave it a good rub with olive oil, put it in a ziplock bag and put it in the freezer. I'll update next week as to how it turns out but now I know to take care of the extra dough first. Thank you for sharing and thanks to the other chef who gave the pointers on using 100% Whole Wheat! We LOVED this!UPDATE: The frozen dough was just as good as the first time around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This was good. Here are a few options that I did. I divided the dough into small portions for small individual pizzas. Baked the dough for a few minutes in the oven, cooled, then put in the freezer. The personal pan size are great to just pull out froozen, thaw in the micro, top, and bake..Quick and simple.

      Also, I have split the dough in half, and froze the dough ball. Thawed it out to room temp, was ready to roll out and bake. Tasted fresh.

      I have also added flax seed to the dough.

      Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      great recipe - the texture is perfect. I saw a recipe once that added some italian herbs to the crust so I tried that...it was awesome. I actually used a mixture called pizza seasoning, about a teaspoon, and added a couple cloves of minced garlic. You can eat the dough by itself all day long. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Excellent! I made spinach calzones with this dough recipe and the changes I made were 4 cups whole wheat flour instead of 2/2, added 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten, 2-1/4 tsps. yeast, 1/4 cup more water and 2 tbs. honey to offset the wheat taste for different family members. I got 12 calzones out of this dough and my family grabbed every one of them as they were coming out of the oven and then asked me when was I going to be making more! Great recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Loved this recipe!! I added honey as well and a little more salt- I prebaked it for about 5 min. to give a crisper crust! I also made one for my little boy who can't have dairy- this crust works great! I just used Daiya "cheese" on the top- husband gives it 5 stars as well. Next time I will roll it out a bit thinner, it still was great though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This is one of our new favorites. I add about 1-2 TBS of Parmesan and 1-2 cloves minced garlic to make it even more savory.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I made this for my HS nutrition classes and they all loved it. Then I made it for family and friends and got raving reviews from all. If I could rate it multiple times I would. Definately a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Yum! This pizza dough was wonderful. I found that it needed a little more water (maybe a few tablespoons), and I also added two tablespoons of Italian seasoning to the dough while it was mixing in the machine. It rose up beautifully and made a wonderful pizza. I am making another batch in the machine right now that I plan on making into breadsticks. I also added five cloves of fresh chopped garlic to the mixture. Yum! Thank you and may Jesus bless you! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Awesome! For some reasons, I had to add almost 1/3 cup of water. Turned out fabulous. Simple, quick (1 hour 15 min in my machine). Need a big bread maker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      Great! Made as written plus some Italian seasoning and garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      It was good not great. Needs more salt! Honey might help? It definitely tasted like whole wheat I was surprised. I will make again it was easy 1hr and 20 min in my bread machine. I left it on and the other half of the dough in the bread machine pan closed it and forgot about it till after we ate and the dough seemed fine not dry but I still rubbed it w/olive oil before freezing it. Will try again cooked on my grill on a grill pizza pan which I love! attempting my 2nd time I did 1.5 tsp salt and added 1Tbs honey and used pizza yeast... Will update.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      This was an excellent recipe for a whole wheat pizza. I halved the recipe but found that I really had to increase the water to get the dough to a good consistency. I added some gluten as well. The dough baked up into a delicious chewy crust that I'll certainly make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Excellent! I left it in the fridge overnight and it kept rising. Delicious, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      Love it! I made the dough in my bread machine. Used this for a white sauce spinach pizza. Will make again. Turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      sorry did not like this very much. maybe wheat gluten would help but can't find it at my food store

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This worked out great - the first pizza dough I've made. I did follow the other reviewer's suggestions and used 4 c. whole wheat flour and the gluten. The only change I'll make next time is to add more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Seriously, I didn't think it was possible to find a whole wheat pizza dough I would like so thank you and it was perfect in the breadmaker! I did have to add extra water though and I also added a touch of honey to help with the rising and flavour. I like a sweeter dough. Fantastic and thank you! ~ Suzie the Foodie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      it's my standard pizza dough recipe we love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

    • on May 05, 2010

      Excellent! I used bread flour to replace the all-purpose flour, and added 1 Tb. honey. Delicious. The dough was perfect for rolling straight out of the bread machine. So easy and wholesome. My young children loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Pizza Dough With Whole Wheat Flour

    Serving Size: 1 (845 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 995.3
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    16%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 884.0 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 183.4 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 17.2 g
    69%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites