23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had to register here at Food.com just so I could rate this recipe!! I've looked and looked for a great tasting, easy recipe to make Indian bread and I have finally found it. They came out of oven fluffy and soft. My family loved them with the vegetable curry I made and were talking about how they can be used for sandwiches as well. Will definitely be making these over and over again!! (oops! I forgot to mention that I weighed my flour using 11 oz. of white unbleached and 5 oz of whole wheat to make it healthier).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mornstar6 September 12, 2011

Good recipe, naan are pretty versatile, I used leftovers as crusts for my kids to make their own pizzas. They store well in a ziploc in the fridge. I used about 3 1/2 - 4 cups flour, just started with 3 and added more after a few minutes in the machine. I did brush a few with melted butter after baking and sprinkled with garlic salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 February 25, 2011

I made this on my BBQ grill and it was great. I used the recommended ingredients but did the prep a little different. Since my bread machine has a warming cycle, I layered all the wet ingredients first then the dry ingredients with the yeast on the very top. Once it was done I made the ovals as directed and here is the twist. I put an extra heavy cookie sheet on my BBQ grill heated it up to 500 degrees and cooked the bread on the cookie sheet (with the cover closed). I flipped it over for a few seconds at the end to brown the top. It tasted exactly like the real thing. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H May 28, 2006

This naan was delicious, and puffed beautifully on a pizza stone in the top of the oven. I used bread flour and added some vital wheat gluten. I also used 4 T of ghee (clarified butter) instead of the olive oil, and omitted the egg. Next time I think I'll increase the salt to 1 1/2 tsp, but otherwise no complaints on flavor. I set my oven to 500 degrees F and preheated it for about an hour with the pizza stone inside. I used just 1 tsp of sugar to feed the yeast (sugar's not currently in the ingredient list), and I added the yeast during step 1 (the instructions don't specify). Hot out of the oven, I wrapped them in a damp towel to get them nice and soft. DH loved these and so did I (would give it a 5-star rating if the ingredients and instructions had been complete).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. September 18, 2004

Not everybody has a scale. Please be consistant with mesurements. 1 pound of flour is between 3.5 and 4 cups. I had the smoke detectors going off as the stones started smoking at 450 degrees! These musthavebeen morespillage on that pizza stone than I hd thought. I followed the recipe as exactly as I could as I am not good enough to mess around. After an hour and the temp stuck at 470, I put them in the oven anyway. These came out fluffy, big and burnt! That was a waste of $6. I don't use cheap ingredients or anything GMO. I will try again after the smoke clears!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nearoffutt December 08, 2014

This recipe came out well. The dough was a little sticky so I had to use quite a bit of flour when rolling out. I will add a little more flour to the machine next time. Used a pizza stone. Recipe was to yield 6 but I got 11. I rolled them pretty thin after the 1st one. Really thin.. Family loved them. Used for chicken the first night and pulled pork last night. Will freeze some for pizzas.My total time for prep was longer, my machine's dough cycle takes 1:20. Will definitely make again. Great cost savings! WM sells 2 for about $3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ter623 August 21, 2013

Didn't work for me, sorry:(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl November 09, 2012

Even without a pizza stone, this recipe yields wonderful results. We end up using a pizza pan instead and they still come out golden and fluffy. I make this along side saffron rice and chicken tikka masala and it is ALWAYS a favorite meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhiannon0320 September 23, 2012

The nan turned out good, but only after I had to play around with adding flour. All the ingrediens are listed as tsp. Tbsp. or cups, except for the flour which is listed as 1 pound... My bread machine always seeems to make great dough, but this dough came out very sticky and gooey. I had to turn the dough out on a board and add quite a bit more flour and knead it in. But, in the end, I got it to work. I'll try to quantify the flour into cup measurements the next time. I hand kneaded in minced garlic and cumin to the dough before placing it in oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Staten Island Slovak January 31, 2011

Great recipe - turned out excellent Naans first time in my new Tandoor! The only changes I made were to use Strong White Flour, and I also added some Nigella Seeds & Sesame Seeds. Brilliant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curryfan June 28, 2010
Bread Machine Naan