Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Naan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Naan

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2011

      I had to register here at Food.com just so I could rate this recipe!! I've looked and looked for a great tasting, easy recipe to make Indian bread and I have finally found it. They came out of oven fluffy and soft. My family loved them with the vegetable curry I made and were talking about how they can be used for sandwiches as well. Will definitely be making these over and over again!! (oops! I forgot to mention that I weighed my flour using 11 oz. of white unbleached and 5 oz of whole wheat to make it healthier).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Good recipe, naan are pretty versatile, I used leftovers as crusts for my kids to make their own pizzas. They store well in a ziploc in the fridge. I used about 3 1/2 - 4 cups flour, just started with 3 and added more after a few minutes in the machine. I did brush a few with melted butter after baking and sprinkled with garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      I made this on my BBQ grill and it was great. I used the recommended ingredients but did the prep a little different. Since my bread machine has a warming cycle, I layered all the wet ingredients first then the dry ingredients with the yeast on the very top. Once it was done I made the ovals as directed and here is the twist. I put an extra heavy cookie sheet on my BBQ grill heated it up to 500 degrees and cooked the bread on the cookie sheet (with the cover closed). I flipped it over for a few seconds at the end to brown the top. It tasted exactly like the real thing. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2004

      This naan was delicious, and puffed beautifully on a pizza stone in the top of the oven. I used bread flour and added some vital wheat gluten. I also used 4 T of ghee (clarified butter) instead of the olive oil, and omitted the egg. Next time I think I'll increase the salt to 1 1/2 tsp, but otherwise no complaints on flavor. I set my oven to 500 degrees F and preheated it for about an hour with the pizza stone inside. I used just 1 tsp of sugar to feed the yeast (sugar's not currently in the ingredient list), and I added the yeast during step 1 (the instructions don't specify). Hot out of the oven, I wrapped them in a damp towel to get them nice and soft. DH loved these and so did I (would give it a 5-star rating if the ingredients and instructions had been complete).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      This recipe came out well. The dough was a little sticky so I had to use quite a bit of flour when rolling out. I will add a little more flour to the machine next time. Used a pizza stone. Recipe was to yield 6 but I got 11. I rolled them pretty thin after the 1st one. Really thin.. Family loved them. Used for chicken the first night and pulled pork last night. Will freeze some for pizzas.My total time for prep was longer, my machine's dough cycle takes 1:20. Will definitely make again. Great cost savings! WM sells 2 for about $3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      Didn't work for me, sorry:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Even without a pizza stone, this recipe yields wonderful results. We end up using a pizza pan instead and they still come out golden and fluffy. I make this along side saffron rice and chicken tikka masala and it is ALWAYS a favorite meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      The nan turned out good, but only after I had to play around with adding flour. All the ingrediens are listed as tsp. Tbsp. or cups, except for the flour which is listed as 1 pound... My bread machine always seeems to make great dough, but this dough came out very sticky and gooey. I had to turn the dough out on a board and add quite a bit more flour and knead it in. But, in the end, I got it to work. I'll try to quantify the flour into cup measurements the next time. I hand kneaded in minced garlic and cumin to the dough before placing it in oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Great recipe - turned out excellent Naans first time in my new Tandoor! The only changes I made were to use Strong White Flour, and I also added some Nigella Seeds & Sesame Seeds. Brilliant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

    • on January 20, 2010

      Easy and delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      A real keeper!!! I made this recipe as is. It was wonderful and easy. It came out perfect using my breadmaker. I used a pizza stone and the naan puffed up and browned perfectly. I did not brush the melted butter on before serving. It was so delicious that I did not need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Good, I think I will need to roll them out a little thinner as they were pretty thick when they cooked up, but I thought the flavor was good. The bread machine made it super easy, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Great Naan!! I made it exactly as suggested, but as I dont have a baking stone, used the hot plate of our BBQ to cook them. Turned out great. The kids love them and take them to school and work for a snack. We have made the naan a few times and each time is perfect. As an alternative, they taste great if you spread lightly with a thin layer of minced garlic before cooking. They freeze well too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Tasted great... not exactly like what you get at the restaurants - probably due to the lack of tandoor crisping, but a really good choice for home cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      the naan came out great- I placed all the ingredients in the order that my bread macine suggested-I let it go on dough cycle ( my machine takes rwo hours) and then in the oven-everyone loved them thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I use to have to order my naan from a Indian resturant when making indian food at home. This recipe came out PERFECT!!! It made 8 naan for me and could make more if you make them smaller. They also freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      wow I was really impressed with this recipe and the bread machine makes it very very easy.....if only I had a tandoori oven to bake it in in*sigh*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

    • on April 07, 2006

      Excellant naan. I was worried about this recipe at first because it was very different from other naan recipes I found on line, so I made this recipe and another on the same day. This one was heads above the other recipe. The texture, color, and taste was way more authentic than the other recipe. I will definitely use this recipe again next time it's Indian night for dinner!! I din't have a pizza stone, so I actually baked them on cast iron skillets turned upside down in my oven. It worked out great. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Naan

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.4
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    18%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 508.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites