11 Reviews

This is an easy, tasty loaf of bread! Perfect for those of us (me included) that are afraid of bread making. I have even made it on my breadmakers quick cycle, and it is still perfect and tasty! I am going to make it for the third time right now! Thanks so much for sharing this with us!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach March 05, 2003

Thanks, princess buttercup, this is a great recipe. No fuss, no muss. I like things easy and quick. Stuck this in the machine last night and just used dough cycle. Tried to make two thin baguetts, but my yeast is just too good. Anyway we liked the flavor and texture of the bread.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KyJo November 20, 2002

I increased the water to 1 3/8C and changed 1.5C bread flour for whole wheat flour. Most excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdnerd June 07, 2010

I've made his about 5 times and the taste is outstanding,I'm not a very good breadmaker,even with the machine,even then I can't get the top to rise,but the flavor is excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
listaats January 30, 2008

This made a beautiful loaf and it was nice and crispy on the outside and soft and dense on the inside. I gave it away to our new neighbors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Surrogate Mom August 28, 2007

I don't know what went wrong. I Followed the recipe to a T. My loaf come out lumpy and not properly mixed and it didn't rise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessiica March 12, 2007

Beautiful! I did the whole thing in the bread machine and it was perfect - like another reviewer said, it didn't look much like French bread, but the texture and crust were perfect! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. January 04, 2007

I made this today, the whole thing in the bread machine. It was easy and it turned out great. Although it doesn't look like a typical french bread it tasted exactly like one. Everyone gave it 5 stars. I will make this often. thanks for sharing:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) December 27, 2006

This has great texture. I made mine on dough cycle and let it rise on a baking sheet and than baked in oven at 350' for 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing this simple recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. September 18, 2006
Bread Machine French Bread (simple, simple, simple)