9 Reviews

Not only is this a very versatile recipe that makes a delicious flatbread, the basic ingredients make a very tasty pizza dough as well. I actually decided to try this recipe as a pizza dough and now I'm never looking back--it makes a great foundation for sauce and the denser toppings of a pizza as well if any of you out there would care to try it, it's worth a shot! A well-deserved 5 stars...thanks for posting, Rhonda! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid February 22, 2012

This is FANTASTIC! I could not believe how fast it disappeared at the dinner table! Thanks so much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vamy August 04, 2009

I would like to add another 5-stars to this beautiful orange colored bread! We had this for an Italian themed party and it was awesome, even though I misread the directions. This is how I made it: I put the salt in with the water first, then added the rest of the ingredients, INCLUDING 2 T. olive oil, 2 T. parmesan cheese and I used 1 T. of a pizza seasoning mix that I buy from Atlantic Spice or San Francisco Spice Co....(oops....delicious!) Then I added (more) oil for the top with fresh parsley-rosemary-thyme, chopped fine, mozzarella and garlic salt. The 2nd time I made it, my stove bit the dust when I turned it on to preheat it, so I froze the dough after it had finished the dough cycle in the bread machine. After buying a new stove, I set it in the fridge overnight, took it out next day and let it rise again, made according to the directions to finish baking..... You couldn't even tell that it had been frozen. Thanks for sharing - it's a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy April 22, 2016

This was so AWESOME!!! We ate the entire thing for supper. I added some fresh chopped basil, chives, and thyme in the dough along with some minced fresh garlic. Sprinkled some fresh herbs on top with the cheese and left out the garlic salt. Will be making this again very soon! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlhuston June 08, 2011

I dont have a bread machine, so I put the ingredients in my Kitchen Aid mixer and combined them with the dough hook It worked fine. Definately a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Lillian August 16, 2008

Even though I was out of sun-dried tomatoes, we still enjoyed this delicious bread. First, I subbed 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the white flour. I omitted the cheese, and topped the bread with salt free lemon-pepper seasoning, salt free garlic powder and fresh rosemary from the garden. This was a cinch to prepare! Very good flavor and I really like the texture of the bread. Next time I promise to test the bread with the sun-dried tomatoes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 16, 2007

I used my own dried tomatoes from last year's garden and it was wonderful. I also used half whole wheat flour and garlic powder rather than garlic salt, and added the mozzarella after it had baked for about 7 minutes. Very easy to make, and fast when you use rapid-rise yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldmuse May 23, 2007

2 "Yums" up! The sun dried tomatoes added moistness and flavor. I broke this up into two balls and baked it that way. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn February 03, 2007

This was fantastic! I made the bread exactly as the recipe said except that I didn't use the garlic salt. YUMMY!! The whole bread turned a pretty orange color. Fantastic with soup. I'll be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra April 25, 2006
Bread Machine Focaccia With Sun-Dried Tomato