Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Dog Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Dog Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2011

      I left out the yeast after the first batch went funny and would only burn not dry.
      Have now made multiple batches for a fund-raiser. Easy to make and the dogs that have tried them cannot get enough of them.

      I've substituted Hemp oil (needed to use some up), Parmesan cheese for the garlic (conflicting advice about whether dogs should or shouldn't have garlic) and rolled oats instead of Bulgar (no Bulgar on hand)and the biscuits went down fine style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2007

      This recipe is excellent and using the bread maker to mix a heavy dough is pure genius. I, like the other reviewers tinkered with the recipe a bit. I substituted rolled oats for the bulgar/7 grain flour. I also threw in a bit of parmesan cheese instead of the garlic powder as I did not have any. My biscuits took a bit longer to baked than the recipe said- that is most likely a function of how thick you roll the biscuits. Once they were baked I simply turned the oven OFF and left the entire batch in the oven overnight. They turned out nice and crispy. the pups were pleased with the result. My dogs and I recommend you try these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Great recipe! Added grated parm, and fresh cheddar. Dogs LOVED them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe! I make dog biscuits for five dogs, so they keep me busy. Often I make triple batches, and store in emptied plastic coffee containers, so when I am ready, it's quicker.

      Several options for substituting! I have used coconut oil, coconut dried powder, ground flax seeds,along with oats or 12-grain cereal, or whatever is available. When making a lot of batches, I keep an egg wash available to brush on them, and they look like fancy store bought biscuits.
      Sometimes I roll them out in shapes, or braided, and often add peanut butter, then roll and seal. One of my dogs always sits by the stove, smelling the biscuits as they bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      Great Recipe and fun to make too! I used organic 7 grain cereal in place of the bulgar and bran but otherwise follwed the recipe exactly. Turned out great! Tasted like a graham cracker with a touch of beef... (umm.. woof?) It tooks the pups a few of them to figure it out but now they can't get enough! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      ~~~Tail wagging good~~~ Made it easy using the bread machine. I subbed 8 grain cereal for the bran and bulgur and added some beef. Rolled it out on a foil-lined jelly roll pan and scored before baking to make rectangles. Kind of soft, but I don't think they'll last long enough to worry about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      Thanks so much for a wonderful fur-baby dog biscuit recipe Riff! Brandy my little poodle really enjoyed (and so did his little girlfriend too LOL!) I added about 2 Tbsp brown sugar, and some finely grated carrots to the mixture. I did roll them out very thin and I left them in the oven to dry out until they were crispy. I would never think of making dough in the bread machine for dog treats, what a wonderful idea, and I will be making these again....Brandy (and friend) thanks you so much..rolling over and Woofwoof!!, and I thank you also....Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      I went on a dog biscuit baking binge yesterday and it was a lot of fun. I subbed half of the all-purpose flour with soy flour for extra protein, and I added one medium carrot, coarsely grated. I think I rolled them out a little too thick because after they were baked they were probably 1" thick. This made them turn out pretty moist. I am letting them sit out to dry out some more. My dog and my daughter's dogs loved them. We will be making them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Dog Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (637 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1631.5
     
    Calories from Fat 551
    33%
    Total Fat 61.2 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 217.0 mg
    72%
    Sodium 930.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 229.0 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 29.9 g
    119%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 57.5 g
    115%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes