32 Reviews

Have made this several times. Family loves it. Use bread machine on dough cycle and then bake in oven in loaf pan. Doesn't last long at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthiefoster55 July 18, 2012

By Anna
on June11, 2012

I give 5 stars for the Excellent flavour and texture. I used the machine to make the dough and then braid it .. Let it rise for 35-40 mins . Egg wash and bake at 350F for 25 mins

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suelan24 June 13, 2012

This is an excellent, easy recipe. I used the machine to make the dough, then formed it into a loaf, let it rise again and baked it at 350F for 25 minutes. I cut back the salt to 1 tsp. due to my sodium restrictions. The dough feels satiny and the resulting bread is very high rising, with a fine, moist texture. The flavor isn't quite challah, but that may be easy to fix by adding an egg yolk to the whole egg. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf January 02, 2012

Thia recipe is totally awesome, I use it to make Pan de Jamon, which is a venezuelan tradition for the holidays. This recipe brought back my most treasured childhood memories :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria Viso-Corbitt May 06, 2010

Simple and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodid June 11, 2009

This was good. I used a packet of yeast, which is think is a little more than 2 tea., and I took the other person's suggestion of adding a little vanilla. I also used UCO (unrefined coconut oil) instead of the margarine; still turned out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oldman437 May 15, 2009

Excellent bread! It has a slightly denser crumb with a wonderful tasting crust. I was short on butter, so I took a reviewer's advice and used canola oil. I used the rapid rise cycle on my machine, and was a little worried because it didn't rise as big as I expected. It did bake up great, though next time I will bake on the reg. cycle. Thanks Charmed, for posting this easy but delicious bread! Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado March 01, 2009

This is soooo good! yummy! This is the softest Bread I've ever made in my breadmaker. Thanks Charmed for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 22, 2008

Loved, loved, loved this. Because I used a second egg I needed to add more flour while kneading, but otherwise followed the recipe. We all thought the flavour was perfect...definitely not too eggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 17, 2008

I added the second egg and it was delish! The texture inside was so soft! Everyone ate it, DS and DD even asked for more. In my book, that means a keeper. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keth March 22, 2008
Bread Machine Challah