Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bread Machine Buttermilk and Honey Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bread Machine Buttermilk and Honey Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2009

      Terrific bread! Light, lovely firm texture (not full of holes), with a slightly sweet flavor. Very easy to slice. I have made this three times now. First time, I used 2 teaspoons of yeast per some of the reviews. The 2nd time I used 1 teaspoon of yeast. The 3rd time, I used 2 teaspoons of yeast and baked it in a 9 x 5 pan rather than an 8 1/2 x 4. It rises much faster with the 2 teaspoons of yeast and seems to have a nicer texture. I used King Arthur bread flour and King Arthur white whole wheat flour. I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and tented with foil the last 20 and rubbed it with butter once it was turned out of the pan. I did have to use more buttermilk all three times. Next time, I will start with 1 1/4 cups total and see how that works. I thought one reviewer was a bit unfair, saying it was a lot of work. It really isn't any trouble at all, even with baking it in the oven. Charmed, thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will be making this often!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      We have a Hitachi Home Bakery bread machine, 2 lb. loaf capacity. SO happy to have found this recipe! We get a nice sized loaf of super-flavorful bread. It makes great toast and is perfect for sandwiches. Because it's a sturdy bread, we can slice it thinner than most any other breads we make. It's just a wonderful all-around great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      Delicious! My new favourite! This bread is soft and perfect for sandwiches and slightly sweet (which I love!). It rose quite high and was perfect for my 2 lb bread pan. I, like many others, also used 2 tsp yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Thanks for posting this very nice bread. I was looking for a bread to use some leftover buttermilk and this fit the bill. I used a packet of yeast and that was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      Amazing recipe, I increase the yeast to 2tsp. Fantastic every time!!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Excellent recipe! Great texture, great flavor, and easy. I took the liberty of adding 1 1/2 teaspoons each of amaranth and chia seeds for more cracked wheat texture and nutrition. This is an easy recipe to try new things with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Mmm, delicious! We used our homemade kefir in place of the buttermilk, and it was cold when I put it into the bread machine (I didn't read ahead in time to know that it and the butter needed to be at room temperature!). The cold ingredients didn't seem to cause any problems, as the bread turned out beautifully. I made it in my bread machine, using the whole wheat cycle for a 1 1/2 pound loaf like the recipe specified. It's a good dense bread, doesn't have a lot of holes in it (there's not much more aggravating than having your jelly fall through the bread!) and makes yummy cheese toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I have baked this recipe twice and I love it. It has such a good taste and makes good toast and good sandwiches toasted. I and the grandchildren ate several slices today with butter and cinnamon sugar on it. I did use 2 t. yeast and added a little more buttermilk than it called for. This will be one of my favorite breads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I used the dough cycle in my bread machine, and baked this in the oven. Used powdered buttermilk, 2 c. bread flour, 1 c. whole wheat flour and 2 tsp. yeast. I brushed the top w/melted butter before baking. Great texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Good stuff! Just had to add a bit more buttermilk than the recipe called for, but it turned out VERY well. Also, remember to add that extra wheat gluten so it'll stay soft longer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      Good and easy to follow. Produced a nice loaf that is perfect for sandwiches, etc. We chose to use 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup Whole Wheat - I'll probably increase the WW flour even more next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      This is awesome! I usually just use my bread machine for dough, not the whole baking process...I will definitely do this again, though! I used the powdered buttermilk, according to the directions in the intro, and it worked out quite nicely :) I only wish the loaf this made was a little larger. Oh, I also used all-purpose flour rather than bread flour...because that's what I had. Yummy...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Very good bread. The texture was great and it sliced so nice. One of the best bread machine breads I've made. It's a keeper. Thanks Charmed. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Delicious bread! We all enjoyed it. Our neighbor brought his bread machine to the lake and he wanted me to show him how to work it. I had all but the bread flour so I used all purpose flour for this recipe. I made this up and showed him how to work his bread machine. He was thrilled with the results! He kept bragging the next morning on how good it was. So I came home and made a loaf for DH and I too. I did use 1c. of wheat flour and 2c. bread flour and used 2tsp. yeast. It turned out great!! Soft and fluffy and I can't wait to try toasting a slice. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      Nice loaf! I adapted for a 1 pound machine (multipled amount by .65), and got a smallish, dense loaf with a very fine crumb (no holes!) and a moist texture - almost like a tea bread. Unfortunately my machine's whole wheat setting has no "light" variation, so the crust was overdone, but the inside was lovely anyway. I changed the ratio of whole wheat to regular flour so that it was 50/50, but it didn't seem like a whole wheat loaf. Also added some rosemary, which gave it an even lovelier smell when cooking but wasn't too noticeable in the finished product. I'm going to try this one again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      The first recipe I tried with my new breadmaker..all I can say is Im hooked. This bread is lovely and light and I really enjoyed the sweetness. Very nice recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      Great bread, loved the flavour and texture. It's also great toasted! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      Thanks, Charmed. This was a great bread. It was my first use of the bread machine with a real recipe and not a mix. After having this, I won't be buying a mix again, that's for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      I really like this bread, have made it 3 times now, and has turned out beautifully each time. I have been using a little less white flour, using 2 cups bread flour and 1/2 a cup of wholemeal - that's because my fussy teenage sons prefer a bread that is not so dense. It still turns out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      Delicious! We really enjoyed this bread that was wonderful with chicken/fruit salad --perfect for a Sunday supper! By the way I was out of buttermilk so your suggestion of apple cider vinegar w/ milk was perfect (I will be using using subsitution again -- I liked it better than using lemon juice with milk). I also didn't have enough whole wheat to make 1/2 cup so used mostly white flour -- still wonderful but will try with the whole wheat next time and also with other bread flours such as rye or graham -- I think it will be fantastic experimenting with this recipe a bit further. Thanks for sharing we will be having this bread often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bread Machine Buttermilk and Honey Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (696 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1688.0
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    95%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 40.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1862.9 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 330.3 g
    110%
    Dietary Fiber 16.0 g
    64%
    Sugars 48.0 g
    192%
    Protein 50.6 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes