24 Reviews

Terrific bread! Light, lovely firm texture (not full of holes), with a slightly sweet flavor. Very easy to slice. I have made this three times now. First time, I used 2 teaspoons of yeast per some of the reviews. The 2nd time I used 1 teaspoon of yeast. The 3rd time, I used 2 teaspoons of yeast and baked it in a 9 x 5 pan rather than an 8 1/2 x 4. It rises much faster with the 2 teaspoons of yeast and seems to have a nicer texture. I used King Arthur bread flour and King Arthur white whole wheat flour. I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and tented with foil the last 20 and rubbed it with butter once it was turned out of the pan. I did have to use more buttermilk all three times. Next time, I will start with 1 1/4 cups total and see how that works. I thought one reviewer was a bit unfair, saying it was a lot of work. It really isn't any trouble at all, even with baking it in the oven. Charmed, thanks for a wonderful recipe! I will be making this often!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose January 29, 2009

We have a Hitachi Home Bakery bread machine, 2 lb. loaf capacity. SO happy to have found this recipe! We get a nice sized loaf of super-flavorful bread. It makes great toast and is perfect for sandwiches. Because it's a sturdy bread, we can slice it thinner than most any other breads we make. It's just a wonderful all-around great bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papillon Luv'r June 03, 2014

Delicious! My new favourite! This bread is soft and perfect for sandwiches and slightly sweet (which I love!). It rose quite high and was perfect for my 2 lb bread pan. I, like many others, also used 2 tsp yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 01, 2013

Thanks for posting this very nice bread. I was looking for a bread to use some leftover buttermilk and this fit the bill. I used a packet of yeast and that was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 19, 2012

Amazing recipe, I increase the yeast to 2tsp. Fantastic every time!!!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAnita August 04, 2012

Excellent recipe! Great texture, great flavor, and easy. I took the liberty of adding 1 1/2 teaspoons each of amaranth and chia seeds for more cracked wheat texture and nutrition. This is an easy recipe to try new things with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ka7sqd May 15, 2012

Mmm, delicious! We used our homemade kefir in place of the buttermilk, and it was cold when I put it into the bread machine (I didn't read ahead in time to know that it and the butter needed to be at room temperature!). The cold ingredients didn't seem to cause any problems, as the bread turned out beautifully. I made it in my bread machine, using the whole wheat cycle for a 1 1/2 pound loaf like the recipe specified. It's a good dense bread, doesn't have a lot of holes in it (there's not much more aggravating than having your jelly fall through the bread!) and makes yummy cheese toast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 October 25, 2010

I have baked this recipe twice and I love it. It has such a good taste and makes good toast and good sandwiches toasted. I and the grandchildren ate several slices today with butter and cinnamon sugar on it. I did use 2 t. yeast and added a little more buttermilk than it called for. This will be one of my favorite breads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faye in alabama July 07, 2010

I used the dough cycle in my bread machine, and baked this in the oven. Used powdered buttermilk, 2 c. bread flour, 1 c. whole wheat flour and 2 tsp. yeast. I brushed the top w/melted butter before baking. Great texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat January 14, 2008

Good stuff! Just had to add a bit more buttermilk than the recipe called for, but it turned out VERY well. Also, remember to add that extra wheat gluten so it'll stay soft longer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo January 11, 2008
Bread Machine Buttermilk and Honey Wheat Bread