21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The bread was tasty, however the recipe was a little vague as to what sized loaf to set my machine at. Also, my machine's first kneading cycle is less than 10 min long, so adding the butter was an exercise in guessing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin Up Love September 02, 2012

Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I fell in love with being able to buy a loaf of brioche while living overseas but can't seem to do so here at home. Now I have a simple, easy and delish option for home. Like a couple of other reviewers I did wonder about how this would turn out with so little flour - but it's magic! Just use a light crust setting though, the sugar and butter content makes it darken up very quickly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouCooks July 02, 2010

ok so i posted a few hours ago that i was gonna make this easy and great looking brioche and i did. soooo easy and VERY VERY yummy. i wasnt sure about the color and size so i did medium, 1.5 loaf (the same setting i use when i make french bread). but i think next time (and by next time i mean in a few hours lol) i will do light crust and 2.0 loaf. i took some photos of the finished loaf but i am not sure how to add them to this post. thanks again marie for your great brioche recipe :~}

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah7370 October 15, 2012

AWESOME!!! Adding the butter I had to help it a little squishing and kneading as the machine needed help. Its beautiful bread, cannot wait for french toast tomorrow! Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliawannabe345 March 14, 2011

Thank you for posting this brioche recipe! An easy way to have brioche whenever you want. I did use the light setting and the 1.5 pound loaf setting on my machine and it came out beautifully golden brown with a very nice crumb. The bread didn't last long enough for french toast, so maybe next time ;-) I may even try using just the dough cycle and making sticky buns with the dough. Mmmmm....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowpeas March 04, 2011

Wow! This is a great tasting bread with little flour! A tid-bit of history: It was speculated Marie Antionette suggested the pheasants make Brioche instead of French bread as it's requires less flour. What she said was " can't they make Brioche ? " instead of the " let them eat cake" insult she was accused of. She was right brioche is a great alternative to recipes using more flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charleecrat November 22, 2010

Agreeing with 'Jo C' I had my reservations about the amount of flour, however, I gave it a go. The loaf turned out perfectly with a fantastic texture and flavour and was well worth the fiddling around putting the butter in. Excellent recipe and will be used again - thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biker Bunny August 03, 2008

Great for breakfast and for my Pampered Chef Berry Brioche Pudding! Made it using the fast bake program as suggetsed by another review - this saved having to wait for my machine to do its rest period.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kicking Kay May 19, 2007

My go to recipe! For adding butter I actually let the machine run the first kneading cycle, which is approximately 10 minutes, without any butter. Then I restart the whole cycle again while adding butter very slowly from the first kneading to the second kneading. This actually makes the final product so incredibly moist yet with almost a flaky crust. It's amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous February 26, 2015

The first time I used this recipe, the loaf completely collapsed during baking. So I added a chilled rise to firm the dough before proofing/baking. It was perfect! Details:<br/><br/>Using the dough cycle -<br/>- Add ingredients as directed. Allow the machine to go through the first knead and rise.<br/>- Restart the dough cycle, allow it to run all the way through.<br/>- After final rise, punch down dough, cover the bowl with plastic wrap, and chill 6-24 hours. (I did overnight.)<br/>- Turn dough out on a lightly floured surface for shaping. Shape however you like (I did a braided loaf) and allow to proof 2 hrs in the pan at room temperature. In the last 30 minutes, preheat the oven to 400F.<br/>- Brush with egg wash right before baking.<br/>- Bake at 400F for 10 min, then drop the temp of the oven to 350F and bake for another 20-30 min.<br/>- Remove from mold and cool on a rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer C. November 12, 2014
Bread Machine Brioche