8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent beer bread. I used 2 tsp. bread machine yeast. Honey not molasses. It rose beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe! Jelly :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly May 01, 2010

This was a very easy recipe and turned out GREAT! I didn't have whole wheat flour and used all regular flour and I also upped the yeast (based on an earlier review) to an entire packet (2.25 tsp). This was really quite moist and not horribly dense (I don't like breads that turnout really dense and dryish). This will be a staple in my house now! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goofygirl30 December 09, 2013

I used my bread machine to make the dough then moved it to a loaf pan. I let it rise again and baked it at 375 degrees until it was done. Very nice wheat bread with just a touch of sweetness. Made for Recipe Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff August 18, 2008

I had a problem getting this to rise completely. Bought new yeast for the second attempt so maybe it just needs a tad more added. The flavor is great and it made a nice dense loaf that was really great toasted!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 April 15, 2009

I made as posted with room temperature beer. My loaf was moist and tastes good, but it did not rise like it should have and that is the reason I am not posting the picture I took of it. I think it needs more yeast and next time will add 1/2 teaspoon. If you add too much, I think a mushroom bubble will occur. Made for PRMR. Thanks for posting mersaydees.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal March 30, 2009

This is a wonderful bread to have with soup. It couldn't be easier to throw itno the bread machine. I used honey simply because I am not a molasses person. Thanks for a yummy bread that made the house smell great too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko December 06, 2008

Made as a *pressie* for the Dec Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap & pronounced *excellent* by my DH ~ This bread is very dense, slices easier than most airy loaves & makes ideal toast, but is a bit heavy for sandwiches IMO. I used Viking beer (brewed in Iceland), still feel like a bit of a novice w/my ABM & will prob use more beer next time to try for a lighter texture. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 06, 2008

I mean how can you go wrong with a beer bread in the bread machine?!?!? So good! I used a hefeweizen and molasses with great results. I just had a warm piece with butter. . .yummo! Made for AUS/NZ December swap as a pressie for my friend :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride December 03, 2008
Bread Machine All-American Beer Bread (1-1/2 Pound Loaf)